We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunny Summer patio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue's Bayou Cafe

Blue's Bayou Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Cajun & Creole, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunny Summer patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nothing nicer than a late afternoon lunch on the patio. Great service, wonderful view, and the mango chicken wrap was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tighnamara_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    58
    26
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best find of our trip. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We had a good time and great food. I read all the reviews before we went but found every dish good. The mussels and ribs we my favorites but others had the horseradish coated fish and loved it. If you are expecting fine dining New Orleans style this is not for you. If you expect a bit funky with Cajun oriented dishes you will love it.

Staff has a little attitude just like the Cajun experiences I've had. To me that adds to the fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank altun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Tried this restaurant last evening with a Groupon. That was an awesome deal. The food was very tasty and well prepared. Service was fast and friendly. Loved all the decorations.
Would love to see them add hush puppies to the menu.
While the food may not have been as spicy as you can expect in Louisiana, I think they have done an excellent job of creating a menu that will appeal to many. If you really want to heat up your taste buds, you can add the hot sauce that is readily available.
Will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cajun? Not at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

How can this place call itself a Cajun restaurant?
I tried the jambalaya, which was just a bowl of rice with canned tomatoes and old celery. My husband had a bite and spit it back out. What a joke. He had a chicken dish that was bland and over cooked. Our appetizer was a tiny dish of artichoke dip and some broken chips. 80 dollars and we left hungry. Thanks for nothing blue bayou.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Everett22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious, but not what you might be expecting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Don't misunderstand me, (as the owner did when I tried to give constructive criticism) the food here is very delicious, of excellent quality and serving size...it just isn't what we expected. There is no "kick" like you would expect for New Orleans cuisine. If someone chooses to go for Indian, Mexican or Thai food, they know they should be prepared for some "spice", if they are bland eaters, they will obviously not frequent those restaurants. The same is true for folks looking for a Bayou Cafe. Perhaps, the menu could be marked with a few items, for the adventurous, who would like something more authentic, or a few items marked "mildly seasoned" for the more timid.

The owner suggested that they serve many customers over 50 and have to be more cautious with their seasoning. Well, we are both over 50 and my 85 year old European mother loves spicy food, so age has nothing to do with it.

I feel this little hidden gem of a restaurant could go from popular to explosively busy with a little tweaking. It is a rare menu for Victoria and deserves to be celebrated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_BCMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue's Bayou Cafe also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Blue's Bayou Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing