We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagrille

Seagrille
Price range: US$12 - US$41
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brentwood Drive
Transit: BC Transit Bus Route #75 located directly in front of Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Romantic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We enjoyed a lovely romantic dinner there. Risotto and Arctic char. Both yummy! You can't beat the view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    23
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“almost all good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

On a recent Monday evening, nine of us dined here for a special birthday dinner. Our server immediately advised that sushi was not available and we all proceeded to order other seafood. The Arctic char, ling cod and halibut were all very nicely done and served with an excellent vegetable medley. Two of us unfortunately ordered the seafood risotto and neither of us enjoyed it. The risotto was alright; albeit a very small portion, but the mussels and clams were very overcooked and the crab not in the least bit tasty. Our tab had an automatic gratuity which is understandable for a large group but it was disappointing that the server never asked about our enjoyment. This is a beautiful room with a great view; don't miss it if you want a "westcoast experience".

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bbsweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed in a place we love....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I surprised my wife with dinner at the Seagrille for her birthday... we are locals and the Seagrille is a favorite - we enjoy the pub too, but the Seagrille is perfect for special occasions. It was a very rare night away from our two year old to celebrate her and have some time together. To set the scene, the restaurant was not busy, but there did only appear to be only 1 server on the floor, it was later, the reservation was at 8PM.
For the 1st time we were very disappointed in our experience. My wife had to ask the server several times what the the soup of the evening was and each time she kept forgetting and said she had to run to the pub to ask. The server returned the 3rd time after 20 minutes and finally said what the soup was. By this time we were ready to order drinks and dinner, we ordered wine, sushi to start and then two fish main courses. Long story short, it took 30 minutes to receive our sushi, no updates from the server regarding the delay. While waiting we flagged the young lady serving water to bring us some bread. After finishing our sushi, it took another 40 minutes to receive our fish entrees - again, no updates from the server regarding the continued delay. We ate, the food was good (as was the sushi) but approaching just past the 2 hour mark for completing our dinner it was not the experience we have come to expect from the SeaGrille. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJBjornson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Slow service, bland food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The three of us went for dinner on a weekend evening...spur of the moment, no reservations. We were seated promptly and our server was pleasant and attentive all evening. Our wine arrived soon after choosing it, but we had almost finished the entire bottle before our meals arrived....very close to an hour from ordering! My seafood risotto was bland, with the seafood on top cold and slightly overcooked. The ling cod meal was cooked nicely, but like the halibut meal, needed a little extra attention for spices and flavor. The best part of the meal....the conversation and company at the table! This is our second visit to the Seagrille....not sure we will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food extremely slow service. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We are stay here and our first night trod the in house restaurant. It took 35 minutes to get our first drink and 95 minutes to get our entres. The food was tasty but the fish and mussels were definitely overcooked. Mussels had no plumpness left and halibut was cooked dry. Flavors were good.

Helpful?
Thank altun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seagrille also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Seagrille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing