We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, very reasonable prices, super service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie Inn Neighbourhood Pub

Prairie Inn Neighbourhood Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very reasonable prices, super service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very neighhood pub feel to the place. One of our unique jewels on Lower Vancouver Island. Very near local police station so have one person who does not drink alcohol.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    21
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good Pub food, service, and atmosphere. Specials are cheap, food not bad, regular menu is really good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patrjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very sad..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Very sad to say that tonight, this place lost 2 customers.They sure dont care about 2 people but i still want my experience to be shared. Very dissapointing. We waited 15 mins to be asked what we wanted to drink..and then had to wait another 40mins to get our appies. We finished those and asked for our mains to be packed up right away. The food is GREAT though. The waitresses seem to be too overwhelmed and therefore somewhat rude and grumpy. BIG mistake that they've made recently is to allow kids in this pub!! C'mon, let kids in a place where people go to have food and get drunk! We were sitting next to a dad with his son and he had 4 beers. I mean thats just bad parenting...but at least the pub should not serve alcohol to people accompanied with children. Another table had toddlers and they were letting one wander around the section we were in and the servers didnt say anything. Im sad because I love their food but theyre are limits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jshaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Re: Stay Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

You mean your drinking and driving buddy? He got a DUI? That would probably mean that he got arrested for impaired driving because he was drunk and should never ever have got behind the wheel of a vehicle. The Pub did exactly what they should do and that's report anyone who drinks and drives. My guess is that he was obviously drunk, the staff knew it, probably called for a cab but you both refused and drove off. Tough darts pal, welcome to BC. The only ones who should stay away are you and your idiot friend before you kill a local resident who knows that the PI is a great place to hang out. I only hope that your DUI stops you from coming back. Sour grapes or just plain immaturity to post your review.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ImSorryWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

If you've just hiked the trails in John Dean Provincial Park, this is a pleasant stop for a brew and or some lunch. There's plenty of beer to choose from and a reasonable variety of cross cultural menu items. We had burritos, one beff with curly fries, one chicken with mex fries. The burritos were well spiced, packed with yummies, and ginormous. We both left the fries. If you going to consume calories, they had better be good. These were not: very ho hum. Staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is very much neighbourhood pub. We'll certainly ATP in again but will like split/share a mains order for lunch. We had Sleeman's Honey Brown Ale and a Rickert's Red. While they advertise Victoria' s Phillips beer, they only had Blue Buck. They really need to get some Twisted Oak Scoth Ale, Red, or Bock on the list!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prairie Inn Neighbourhood Pub also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Prairie Inn Neighbourhood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing