We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Chiltern Lodge

Chiltern Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worth Matravers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chiltern Lodge
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Thank you David & Ann for providing an excellent warm and friendly atmosphere.Your knowledge in giving an insight to the locality and the projects that are close to your heart.A lovely two nights with excellent home cooking make this well worth a return for more leisurely stay rather than at the end of a tough 310 miles from Falmouth.
Keith

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith_burton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here a while ago, and had no hesitation in booking again as I needed to visit the area again. Was it as good as before - yes it was!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just had a very pleasant stay at Chiltern Lodge. Great hosts, comfortable, clean room with tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was well cooked and a good size. Lots of good advice on the area was on offer and generally we thought it was a great deal. The one thing that prevented us giving it a 5 star rating was the shower which worked but not that well. If we could have done 4.5 stars we would have!

Would certainly return again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackharrybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I found staying with Dave and Ann a very enjoyable experience. The room was spotlessly clean, and a good size, with the usual tea/coffee facilities in the room, although en suite facilities are not available. For dinner, there is a good range of local pubs, or Ann will produce something of excellent quality and quantity, with something in the fish line being her speciality.
Many of their clients are walking the South West Coastal path, so Dave and Ann insist that you leave your shoes in the porch and use the slippers provided. Although I was not a walker, I think this is very reasonable, as Chiltern Lodge is their permanent home as well as your temporary residence.
I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

See my (Langley Train Buff's) earlier comments from an August 2010 visit. I am pleased to say of my recent visit in September 2011 that the high standards previously enjoyed were not a fluke and have been maintained. The guest rooms are not large and are not en-suite; a bathroom - bath with shower attachment and a toilet is shared between two guest bedrooms, and the rooms do not include a TV, but if that doesn't bother you, the welcome & helpfullness of your hosts David and Ann and excellent breakfast will ensure you enjoy your stay. The place is spotlessly clean, has a high standard of decoration and is stocked full of information and books about the area and lots of examples of the propriotor's photograpic work for you to enjoy or buy ! You will need a car or good feet / wheels to make the most of this location , but its a lovely base for touring around Purbeck and the surounding area with beautifull hills, coasts , monuments, interesting local towns such as Swanage, Corfe and other delightful villages and the many local facilities like the near-by Swanage Steam Railway which just has to be experienced ( Ok I am a train buff!). During high season a lot of the accomodation in the main centres prefer to take weekly bookings only, whereas Chiltern Lodge will still take odd nights. Its still very popular so its best to book ahead as far as you can. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and intend coming back! - Langley Train Buff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LangleyTrainBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Our 6th stay with Ann & David for the Swanage Jazz festival weekend had even more home comforts than last time. Internet is now available, and the flask of coffee for the Jazz were much appreciated. Thanks for a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastjetpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here while walking the Southwest Coast path. David and Ann were kind enough to allow us to stay for one night which we found to not be the norm of B and B owners based near the path.

The accomodation was clean, quiet and good value. We had an evening meal at Chiltern Lodge along with the usual morning breakfast, both of which were great. David and Ann were friendly, attentive and helpful without being obtrusive in anyway. As walkers themselves they were particularly helpful in providing useful advice regarding the Southwest Coast path. I would definitely recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worth Matravers
2.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
965 reviews
4.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
254 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
955 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kingston Country Courtyard
2.8 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Lodge

Address: 8 Newfoundland Close, Worth Matravers, Swanage BH19 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Worth Matravers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Worth Matravers
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiltern Lodge is situated in Worth Matravers, a village close to the town of Swanage. The area is ideal for those wanting fresh air, peace and quiet plus a chance to explore the Jurrasic Coast. Local walks range from short strolls to stages of the South West Coast Peninsular Path. Whether you laze in the garden or explore on foot we offer you the chance to re-capture life in the slow lane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chiltern Hotel Worth Matravers
Chiltern Lodge Worth Matravers, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing