We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dorset Dreamer”
Review of Chiltern Lodge

Chiltern Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worth Matravers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chiltern Lodge
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dorset Dreamer”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent a very comfortable night at Chiltern Lodge at the start of a week's holiday in the Isle of Purbeck. Ann made us very welcome. The twin room was well appointed, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Delicious breakfast. David's beautiful photography adorned the walls. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
24
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uffing, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed last August the third time there we loved Chiltern Lodge even more then the two times before. It is such a comfy B & B - we always stayed in the twin room and we have booked it again for our Easter holidays in 2014! - with really lovely, helpful hosts: Ann and David gave us many tips where to do walks, go for a meal or shopping. And the breakfast Ann prepares is just delicious. The area is great and there is so much to see and explore - picturesque villages, lovely and lively towns and - above all - the beautiful Jurassic coast with the coast path. As we have never managed to do all the things before our stay there for one week we have to decided to spend a fortnight there the next time, i.e. on Easter. And we are really looking forward to it!!!

Room Tip: We always prefer the twin room with its view and the sun in the afternoon and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had been very hopeful, knowing and loving the area, and reading other reviews. First signs were good. The owner was welcoming, the place was neat and clean, the art on the walls was fascinating and the array of guide books and literature could have taken me a week to read. The house and garden are in a convenient location too, not far from the wonderful pub in the village, and near paths leading down to the coast path, perfect for walkers. But the amount of signage spelling out the rules of the house was less welcoming, especially as we were requested to conserve water, when it was impossible to do otherwise since the hand held shower head had an inadequate flow. The sagging mattress in the twin bedded room left me with a sore back, and the breakfast window of 745 to 830, with scrambled eggs cooked almost before I was down, made me feel rushed. And rush away I did.
A few adjustments, including a couple of new mattresses, and I would be able thoroughly to recommend the place.

Room Tip: Choose the small double room for the firmer mattress....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelhopefulSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here for one night at very short notice. The owners were both more than welcoming and very helpful. We were asked to remove our shoes at the door and offered slippers in return (which is understandable as they would get alot of walkers come to stay and I personal wouldnt want muddy shoes round the house).
Our room was as described on the internet, a nice small double bed room. On arrival we were offered the larger twin room beacuse there were no other guest staying that eveing. As a couple we stayed in the double, it was very clean and nicely decorated. We had a good full english breakfast to set us up for the day; all of it was locally sourced and good quality. We were offered more tea and toast but had plenty to begin with.
The B+B was in a perfect location for coastal walks and within less than a five minute walk from The Square and Compass.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in the twin room which is light and of a good size and standard. There is no ensuite but this was not a problem as there are only two bedrooms sharing the guest bathroom. The whole property is well maintained and spotlessly clean. The full English breakfast is excellent and made using good quality, no doubt locally sourced, ingredients.
David and Ann are clearly passionate about the area and do their utmost to ensure their guests get the most out of their stay by sharing their vast local knowledge and experience making them excellent hosts. They are never too busy to have a chat about what you have planned for the day which is very helpful. We would have no hesitation in recommending Chiltern Lodge and hope to return when next in the area.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms-a double and a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHarris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 3 friends after a long days walking on the coastal path, when we arrived we noticed the outside of the property was very well looked after with stunning gardens and we where greeted by the 2 very friendly owners. The whole place was very clean and very beautifully decorated and very homely and we where made to feel at home. Our rooms where clean beds where comfy and there is everything you need in the rooms tea coffee even a chocolate biscuit, there is no ensuite however don't let that put you off the bathroom may as well be ensuite it 2 steps away from your room. We had a very nice meal (cottage pie and fruit crumble and ice cream) cooked homemade by the owners. There is also a great pub 5 mins up the road. Breakfast was fantastic full English nice coffee cereals yogurts toast all you can ask for. Thanks again you made our stay a memorable one. Andrew, Mark, John and Paul.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nostris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our small party of 3 took both of the letting rooms here when staying so that we could visit the wonderful "Square and Compass" pub. As this is the only B and B in the village I booked with a little trepidation - particularly as the rooms are not en-suite - but need not have worried. Our stay was very pleasant.
I think some of the other reviewers were looking for "five-star" facilities whereas this is officially two-star - probably because the rooms have no bathrooms nor television and there is no proper shower in the bathroom (just one of those tap-attachment jobs). It also has to be said that the rooms are slightly on the small side (but perfectly adequate for a one-nighter) and there is something of a plethora of "advisory" signs and notices. All this was outweighed, however, by the helpfulness of David and Anne who made us very welcome.
Our hosts were on holiday when I tried to book but were most helpful - even when I had to change the date of the booking. On arrival we were offered (and accepted) tea and had a pleasant chat with them rather than just being herded to our rooms. David and Anne have created a "tourist information office" with tons of leaflets and magazines etc about the attractions in the area and are happy to advise on places to visit. Torches are offered for those walking to the pub. There are loads of books to read and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Finally, there was a good breakfast (with more tea/toast/butter etc on offer).
David is a very fine photographer and some of his work is shown to good decorative effect and is also available to buy (I bought one of his cards of the local pub and another beautiful one of camels in Rajasthan!)
If you are in the area or walking the coastal path this is a very good option.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herr-Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worth Matravers
2.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
939 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
931 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kingston Country Courtyard
3.5 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Lodge

Property: Chiltern Lodge
Address: 8 Newfoundland Close, Worth Matravers, Swanage BH19 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Worth Matravers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Worth Matravers
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiltern Lodge is situated in Worth Matravers, a village close to the town of Swanage. The area is ideal for those wanting fresh air, peace and quiet plus a chance to explore the Jurrasic Coast. Local walks range from short strolls to stages of the South West Coast Peninsular Path. Whether you laze in the garden or explore on foot we offer you the chance to re-capture life in the slow lane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chiltern Hotel Worth Matravers
Chiltern Lodge Worth Matravers, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing