We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Purbecks”

Worth Matravers Tea and Supper Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The perfect place in Purbeck for lunch, vintage afternoon teas and lovely suppers too!!! Come dine with us in vintage splendour. Sip tea in our pretty garden. Our food is always fresh and lovely. This is an experience that will make you smile.
Poole Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem in the Purbecks”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This a very charming old world tea rooms, very quant and quirky . A gorgeous cream tea, home made scones to die for and home made jam, with thick clotted cream, very very good, all this was served on mis-matched china and cutlery, but hey who cares this is the charm of it. Diners sit at stone tables and chairs outside, in a very tranquil setting, then waited on by a very charming young lady, sorry we do not know your name. we will be back you can count on it. All this for £ 6.50 for 2 great value. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rookiesPooleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    75
    19
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came because I had heard about the Chocolate Cream tea, chose to have this with Tea rather than Hot Chocolate as it was a very warm day, the service was excellent, the setting beautiful and the Cream tea very nice, different and rather small portion of clotted cream compared to other cream teas we sampled this holiday, also the most expensive at over £7. Would not come again for tea due to the price and also was hoping to make it an afternoon tea with some egg or ham sandwiches but the menu was not of this type. Worth a try once for the unusualness though. Maybe we would return to sample lunch or an evening meal just not afternoon tea!.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RootsZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is easy.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Atmosphere - quirky (in a nice way).

Service - outstanding.

Cooking - superb.

That's it folk........

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Displaced-tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We made a special trip here on the basis of the trip advisor reviews and were really glad we did. This place is just amazing and the garden area is lovely - the seating and planting make it a wonderfully pretty spot to enjoy a spot of lunch. The menu - while not extensive - is fresh local produce and beautifully presented. We had the mackerel which we really enjoyed and followed it with some delicious ice cream. Even the dog enjoyed it! Service was friendly and attentive. Shame we don't live nearer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delightfully different!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Forget your boutique restaurant with designer furniture, crockery and glassware, and enjoy tasty fresh locally produced food on china crockery enjoying a second, even third or fifth life! Located in a lovely village in the heart of wonderful Dorset countryside, this is a lovely place to stop at during a walk or at the end of the day. For evening meals, recommended that you book. Also openeing days/times need to be checked out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank true2formal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Worth Matravers Tea and Supper Room also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Worth Matravers Tea and Supper Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing