We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal and very friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Thornhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and very friendly welcome”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we have always had lovely meals here and return often, this time we took our 2 grandchildren who ate everything they had (which doesn't happen often) and they said they really enjoyed it when were we going back! the staff as usual were very welcoming and friendly even though they were busy the children loved the open fire definitely will return - a little gem of a find for us

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 784didi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    31
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
51
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stopped here for llunch on a day out. The food was excellent, well priced, and the portions re very generous. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The atmosphere was really good and relaxing. I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone. You certainly won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stopped in for a meal on our way home from a couple of days break. It was around 5ish on a tuesday and was quite busy. A great roaring fire greeted us. I had lasagne which was definately homemade and really good. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellulahlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A real Gem of a Hotel, a warm welcome from the owner and her employees awaits you at the Lion and the Unicorn. The room we stayed in was really cosy, we had a meal on the evening we arrived which was excellent, can't wait to return, thank you for a lovely experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1966-Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband treated my mother and myself ( and himself!) to lunch here yesterday. First impressions v.g. Welcoming staff, very warm with real fires and cosy little snugs in which to dine. The menu was surprisingly varied as we had been expecting only pub food. I had mussels in a Thai sauce which were to die for, my mother had the tasty home-made soup and my husband had haggis fritters. The mains were equally as good especially the vegetarian crumble. We had no room for desserts but the coffee was excellent, as were the accompanying mints. A lovely visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDaysx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A wonderful, friendly place with excellent food! Worth a visit! We had a lovley meal there - Best was the desert "Knickabocker Glory",,,! A place full of history and in an interesting location. Thank you for the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is the second time we have had a family meal at the 'Lion & Unicorn'. The food was fairly good, tasty and enjoyable. The main thing that made the meal was the relaxed atmosphere with a log fire and no pressure from the staff to finish. They were friendly and professional. Prices were slightly on the high side but it would not put us off returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
0.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.0 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
961 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel

Property: Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Thornhill, Stirling FK8 3PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thornhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family owned country house hotel, pub & restaurant tucked away near Thornhill just outside Stirling, serving the finest food & ale since 1635. For the homely touch, we have 3 log burning fires, including a huge open fireplace in one of the dining rooms. The accommodation upstairs is of an excellent standard and the views from the windows capture the essence of being in the heart of Scotland with the magnificent scenery on its doorstep. The Lion and Unicorn is the perfect place to spend a few days soaking up the true Scottish hospitality that we all want to discover. Full of friendly locals, it is one of the few Free Houses left in Scotland, with reasonable prices on beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel Thornhill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing