We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food for an average night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lone Star Albany

Lone Star Albany
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
274 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Average food for an average night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Lone Star promises an experience and kind of under-delivers on this one. We had booked in a group and the table was a little tight for us to get around. The servers therefore had some difficulty getting to those of us that were perched at the tight end of the table. This meant that when the 'shared' starter breads came out - which they'd suggested - none of us down the bottom end of the table got any of the bread. This also seemed the case with the drink orders, although at $15 a glass (of wine) - we did reign in our consumptions somewhat. My steak, ordered rare, was a medium - but in fairness did taste nice. The roast potatoes on the other hand were hard and overcooked and the coleslaw....ewww.

Probably a 'one off' experience for us.....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Albany, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi there Sarah,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always looking to improve and were sorry to hear that there were a couple of things that you were disappointed with when dining with us as our guests are very important to us.
Please accept our apologies that your party felt pressed for room.
Lone Star is well known for it's delicious coleslaw which most people love, however we are sorry that you didn't on this occasion.
We would like to thank you very much for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    28
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Came as a group, ordered 4 steaks and all we're not cooked to each individuals e.g someone asked for blue steak and got medium. And another person found a hair on their food. Someone else got over charged for their wine only to the managers disgrace it was an inconvenience to refund the over paid amount and gave nasty looks even tho I was very polite. The plates were pretty much just coleslaw and over priced for what you get! Only good thing about this place is the atmosphere and friendly staff. Will not be returning

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney_w1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Albany, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is important to us and we were very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and pass these on to the rest of your dining party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant experience ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Terrible. My fries mostly undercooked, shanks served with slaw , no veg, Partners ribs not great... prices over $30 each.... we booked but when we got there were told they didn't do bookings and it would be 20 min wait ... Then they said we would get priority as we booked, then they said it would be an hour. ... finally after 2 hours we got food !!!! Will we be back? I don't think so. Even the communication was bad! After asking if there was a table free for us after over an hour, we were told ' Oh we assumed you had been seated' - then we were given a $100 voucher as an apology. We then we were offered dessert just as we were starting to eat our main course, Someone came & told us our meal was all free, then whilst I was still eating my 'pav' we were asked if we wanted the bill! To top it all another girl then came round with feed back forms and asked us to join their birthday Club lol. .. imagine having that disaster for your birthday ! I wouldn't normally have a moan about something but this was our worst ever dining experience. Lone Star will continue with only one lone star lol....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Albany, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is important to us and we were very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and pass these on to the rest of your dining party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a confirmed booking for my husband's birthday for 6:30 pm but when we got to the new Lone Star Albany we've been told that we had to wait for about 15 min before they can sit us. That was not true though, because we ended up waiting 1 hour and 15 min, standing by the entrance with other groups of people waiting. In the end we got a small table for 2 and we sat down we've noticed that other 3 tables of 4 and one of 2 were empty - whilst they let people wait by the door! We have asked to talk to the Restaurant Manager and explained our dissatisfaction, We've asked him why are the other tables empty while there was still a queue at the door and he said that this is normal practice in hospitality, so the kitchen doesn't get to busy and not be able to cope with the orders...does this make sense? People are standing annoyed by the entrance, instead of being seated??? Anyway, he offered to give us free entrees, which we've initially turned down, until the waitress came to tell us that our mains will be at least 45 min waiting time! We could not believe that we arrived at 6:30 pm and only got to eat at 9 pm. I felt that the birthday dinner for my husband was ruined and we had a terrible night. So, we did get the complimentary entrees while we were waiting for ages for our mains, but when we went to pay, they wanted to charge us for those too. We have explained that the Manager has offered us the 2 free entrees because of the long wait and it took a bit of debate to convince the girl at the till to take them off the final bill.
All in all, we will not go there again...the thing that annoyed us most is that we haven't been told at the time of booking or at least when we got there that we'll have to wait so long for a table. Apparently, when people book, they only book their slot in the queue, not an actual seat! So deceitful, but if they keep lying to people, they will soon end up with no customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank danielan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Albany, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your feedback. Our guests are extremely important to us and we are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience, especially as it was a special birthday. Please accept our sincere apologies and pass these on to the rest of your dining party. Firstly, I must apologise if our 'preferential listing' system was not explained well enough to you on the phone. We have only been open a couple of weeks, and it is important to us to make improvements to ensure all of our guests have a fantastic evening, experiencing our great service and excellent food. Thank you for choosing to dine with us on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not worth the wait”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

i went there with my family of 5, First my wife tried to book a table but they refuse to take booking as they prefer walkin. oh well then we went there as its new in albany but there was no parking as parking lot cant fit more than 40 or 50 cars, somehow we found a spot in rear of the shopping center, unfortunatly when we asked for a table they told us that minimum waiting time is 20 mins, we decided to wait at the bar and ordered mains since there menu is very small and not much to offer in appetisers, it took exactly 30mins for them to get us a table, even after getting the table we got our mains 20mins after, my sirlion was overcooked, my wife's ordered Prawn Star but waiter served her appetizer Prawn Star, insted of mains prawn star, its actually same name of dish in both appetizers and mains menu. overall it took us over 2hrs just to have mains and that to not rewarding.

Helpful?
1 Thank Garathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestar25, Owner at Lone Star Albany, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have only been open a few weeks and it is important that all of our guests have a fabulous dining experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your evening and we will certainly take your feedback on board. We understand your frustration with the parking and there is more parking going in shortly as the complex expands. There is also parking across the road and on the side streets. We have been delighted by the amount of support we have had in the community and this does sometimes lead to wait times on our busier evenings. We apologise if these wait times were not communicated well enough to you. We will address this. Thank you for choosing to dine with us and please pass our apologies on to the rest of your dining party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Albany also viewed

Albany, Auckland Region
 
Albany, Auckland Region
Albany, Auckland Region
 

Been to Lone Star Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing