We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pilgrim Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Hereford Grafton(Grafton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House(Hereford)
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hereford(Hereford)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Merton Hotel(Hereford)
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
446
335
68
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
446
335
68
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsross on wyeboth nightsnight breakhomemade biscuitsfabulous viewsmixed grillcurrybrecon beaconslovely hotelpruneslovely foodmurder mysteryvaried menubeautiful countrysideshort breakexcellent value for moneyrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Having booked this hotel through GroupOn, despite it looking lovely and having great reviews, my boyfriend and I obviously still had reservations about what to expect. However, after an easy 2 and a half hour drive from Surrey, we were very pleasantly surprised with what we found.

The local area was absolutely gorgeous and the scenery was purely stunning. You really felt like you were completely away from it all.

Our room was a gorgeous ground floor bay window room that looked out onto the gardens. The bed was comfy and the room had a tv and inbuilt dvd player which was a great as well as a bathroom. It was lovely having the tea and coffee making facilities in the room and especially loved the shortbread that they put in your room each day-yummy yummy.

There are loads of things to do around the area and would be perfect for winter or summer. The Forest of Dean and Ross on Wye were both great with loads of different walks for keen walkers and beginners. You can also rent bikes and there are cute tea rooms and shops dotted all over. If you love the outdoors then you will love the area. Symond Yat was also great which is by a gorgeous river and I can imagine it being great fun in the Summer with the option to rent canoes and boats etc.

Food: The restaurant was really fantastic and the food was far better than I ever would have imagined. Really good and homecooked food with different dishes on the menu that you aren't used to seeing and a really lovely ambience too.

All in all, a fantastic place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of everything.

Room Tip: Downstairs with a view out to the garden.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank london_traveller6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed at the pilgrim Hotel last weekend November 25th-26th. My Boyfriend booked the break through Groupon, where we got an excellent deal. From the moment we arrived at the hotel , we knew that we had made the right choice. We arrived late due to getting stuck in traffic ( unforseen circumstances) and we still were able to go through to Dinner. Food was to die for ! The room was so clean and had a nice touch with homemade biscuits(which were lovely :)) On the second night my boyfrined of 16 years proposed and having spoken to the bar man with his suprise plan beforehand, we were treated to an excellent complimentory sparkling bottle of rose wine....nice touch! For dutch courage my boyfriend ordered cocktails, he mentioned these were very strong, however this is unusual for him to order cocktails lol therefore he cannot really judge (I thought they were fine :) ) The only constructive criiticism we left was that there was no plug sockets by the vanity table and an extra touch would be bottled water in the room. However , this was th best weekend of my life :) and I am glad that i shared this at the pilgrim Hotel. We would definately recomend and if it wasnt so far away for us (5 hours) we would definately return. Thank you xxxxx

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great place to stay, easy to get to, clean and tidy and the staff couldnt have been more helpful. Food was fablous so we ate there both nights we were staying and drank in the bar afterwards.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the Brecon Beacons
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is very dated and needs a facelift without which it is a budget affair. If you are lucky enough to have a garden room you have the best deal.
I feel bad about writing a poor review because walkers and dog owners would probably be happy with somewhere to put there head down and somewhere that welcomes pets. Couples on romantic breaks would be terribly dissapointed. That said the restaurant is somewhere I would go to for an evening out. Great food.
Also, staff were exceptional and made us all feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room and/or four poster. Not sure if they have any rooms with decent showers but worth asking. Ones we stayed in were awful.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Knight5188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Pilgrim for a three day break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is delightfully situated and the accomodation was very good. The food was great. Overall we would thoroughly recommend the Pilgrim.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kentgourmet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews