We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Three night stay”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK Three night stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I are great believers in the saying 'you get what you pay for' and as we only payed £39 room only per night via 'Mighty Deals' I suppose we shouldn't have had such high expectations. Unfortunately it was absolutely pouring with rain when we arrived at the hotel and the steps to the entrance were flooded (this was due to the car park sloping down towards the hotel from the main road, not a very good start. At checkin, the receptionist was pleasant and efficient. We were allocated a double room (No 20) at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park and main road (With hindsight,we should have paid the extra £10 per night for a rear, Countryside facing room).To be quite honest the room was pretty dismal, there were cobwebs on the walls which stayed there for the duration of our stay, the WC pan had a big crack in it, the carpet wasn't vacuum cleaned and the furniture comprised cheap and nasty old fashioned (but not in keeping) stained pine dressing table with glass and cup rings all over it, a matching wardrobe and small shelves at the side of the bed instead of proper cupboards. To be fair the bed was fairly comfortable except for the dip in the middle of the mattress. Shortly after check in, we went for lunch in the bar, which was quite pricey but OK. We asked if it would be possible to have a larger TV in our room as the one we had was tiny (I didn't realise you could still buy them that small), the answer from the barman was a definite NO. The saving grace was the evening meal which we had in the conservatory overlooking the countryside at the rear of the hotel, although costly, it was very high quality and very enjoyable. The public areas of the hotel were well kept in good condition and the free WIFI was good. As stated in the review title, it was an OK stay. We feel that, if all of the bedrooms are as poor as the one we had, some cash needs spending on them to bring them up to an acceptable standard for this day and age and invest in some larger flat screen TV's. If the rooms were improved we feel that the tariff could be increased to cover the refurbishment costs and improve the experience of the guests (Just our opinion).

Room Tip: Choose a rear view room and pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel

It is quite apparent that the dismal weather on your arrival has had an adverse impact on your stay at the Hotel and whilst we accept that your comments are your opinion we disagree with the main thrust of your review. It does not, we feel, give a true reflection of the Hotel according to other feedback and reviews from guests and indeed Tripadvisor themselves, who have just awarded us our 3rd consecutive award for excellence. Future guest will, we hope take a more rounded view of their possible stay with us than this one review and come and enjoy some wonderful Herefordshire hospitality.

As a business we do not like unhappy guests, it defeats the reason for being in the hospitality area. If any guest is unhappy with their room please let us know and we will see what can be done to change it. Why stay 3 days, saying nothing bar commenting on a small TV and then complain later when there apparently so many things you were unhappy with? It doesn't seem to make sense as your stay would have been far more enjoyable!

The Hotel prides itself on it's cleanliness and our team work tirelessly to maintain high levels throughout the Hotel. We simply cannot believe that your carpet wasn't cleaned during your stay. We are in the middle of some of the best countryside in England and that comes with insects, flies and cobwebs I'm afraid, they are easily removed and we are surprised it wasn't mentioned during your stay if it was so distressing to you.

Your package price was £99 for 3 nights Room Only. I think you would be surprised and possible ashamed if you new just how little the business received from your £33 per night after huge commisions and VAT. The room is only one part of your stay, the fact you have a bar, restaurant, decking, excellent staff, stunning views, free wifi etc all form part of the costing for rooms.

As for the TV, yes it is small as befits the size of the room. We are sure that the answer to your question about changing was something like "I'm sorry we don't have spare TV's", or "all are rooms are full so we can't help". There is a world of difference between those replies and the manner in which you chose to phrase your comments on the matter.

As for he price of our food, I suppose that is a personal thing and varies on whether you are used to enjoying good quality food in stunning surroundings. We are confident that for a Hotel restaurant with freshly prepared food are prices are highly competitive.

Our rooms are constantly being upgraded and refreshed, but the cheaper rooms will be the last to benefit. So please pay that little bit extra and enjoy fabulous views from larger, better equipped rooms, its worth it.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    307
    63
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
577
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Sited between Ross-on-Wye and Hereford the views from the back of this hotel are stunning, overlooking the hills around Symonds Yat on onwards to the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons.
The rooms are all a good size, clean and well equiped and the breakfasts served are good and hot.
The restaurant does very good food in the evening and the wine is reasonably priced.
The Pilgrim is a great base to walk the lovely Herefordshire countryside that is on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Choose the Valley side to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stepelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanberis, Cymru
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at this excellent hotel last weekend. Our children had chosen this hotel for us as a Christmas present and it was an excellent choice. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were really looked after by the very friendly staff.The room (no. 6) was fantastic ,it even had a small, private corridor to the bathroom!The room was really clean and had all the fascilities that you want e.g. tv, coffee,tea,hair-dryer etc. etc.The views from the room were fantastic.We ate in the restaurant on both evenings. The food was faultless and extremely tasty and especially the mixed grill I had on the first evening-compliments to the chef!!Breakfasts were also the same -plentiful with an excellent choice. The surrounding area is really beautiful. We visited Ross on Wye, Monmouth and Abergavenny-three lovely towns.This hotel was an excellent base for the weekend. Thank you Pilgrim for the welcome and such a lovely weekend.The children certainly chose a great place for us.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gweriniaethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We only stayed one night but wished we had booked for longer.
As form the minute we arrived, the 'check in' was very friendly, the service at the bar then the restaurant was extremely good. The food was well presented and could not find any fault in the quality, perhaps it was a little expensive but if you don't want to leave the comfort of the hotel on a raining night then it's the price you pay.
Perhaps, if there was one thing missing we would have liked a television in one of the visitors lounges.
Also, as the manager suggests in one of the other reviews, we will ring the hotel next time to see if we can do a 'deal'.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a room looking over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAKARDI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Last stayed here a couple of years ago and, although most boxes were ticked as last time, we noticed a few negatives with no more positives.
We ate on the first night in the hotel and both had the salmon. It was definitely nothing special, but nonetheless was described on the menu as being 'Catch of The Day'. It was exactly like the farmed salmon that we get for about 2 for £4.50 at Morrisons. Worse...my wife's hadn't been cooked through and we had to send it back. Full marks to the Manager for the professional way in which he dealt with the complaint, but by then the damage had been done. I can't remember the exact price, but I do remember it wasn't cheap. Probably around £15.
It's still a very nice place to stay, with comfortable rooms, free wifi, a nice dining room and bar and is set in it's own grounds in a lovely setting. However, I did get the feeling they were trying to save a few pennies here and there and, I suppose that may be understandable in these difficult times. Of note to me was that the breakfasts were not quite so generous as last time and this observation was magnified on the morning the regular waitress had a day off and it was left for the manager to stand in. The smaller portions were this time halved!
In general, though, it was still good value, particularly as it was purchased with a KGB voucher.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Many thanks to "floggit" for taking the time to reply and for "Tripadvisor" for allowing us the opportunity to do so. Thanks also for coming back to the Pilgrim for a return visit, you are among 30% of our guests who come back year after year. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, albeit with a few reservations and hope to welcome you back soon.

You have raised some very accurate and interesting points and I will address them as best I can. Firstly, I apologise for the cooking of the salmon, these dishes should be tested with a commercial thermometer before serving and I am sorry that you had cause to complain. I am heartened however, that your issue was dealt with quickly and professionally. We do cook our fish in a variety of ways to enhance flavour and again I am sorry that you were disappointed. I will speak to the chef team and see how we presented that evening.

As for breakfasts, you are spot on, our standard breakfast has shrunk, as much to combat wastage as save "pennies". There is nothing more disheartening for a chef to see half full plates of perfectly good breakfast being sent to a landfill. For that reason, we have the offer of a larger breakfast, with double portions on the menu and I am sorry that wasn't pointed out to you. I will chat with the restaurant team and clarify our offering.

Turning to breakfast waitresses, we have a flexible team at the Pilgrim and you will see staff popping up in all guises. It is not unusual to see managers washing plates, serving food and helping to strip beds, we all pull together to keep costs down.

Finally, "Voucher Deals", the scourge of a profitable Hotel industry. When they were introduced these deals were a perfect way for Hotels to fill spare rooms during quiet times and the business embraced them. They proved so popular that they have now taken over and many millions of guests will only book through these "Daily Deal" sites. The power of these providers is immense and it is very difficult for small independent Hotels like ours to survive with or without them.

From the headline price of a typical deal of say £99, after their huge commission and VAT a Hotel such as ours is left with as little as £26.75 per night with which to accommodate 2 guests and give them breakfast. Just over £13 per person per night....... Since we started offering these deals 3 years ago, we have been refused to raise these price points even though our costs have risen dramatically.

Please cut out the middle man, go straight to the Hotel and get the same deal, but this time giving the Hotel some profit to invest in Herefordshire bred staff & refurbishments, especially if you want specific dates as most guests do, we may even give them a free Cream Tea!!

I hope that covers the points raised, they were excellent and insightfully made and are a fair reflection of the climate we are forced to operate in. The Hotel continues to flourish, has a fabulous team working for it and will welcome guests to the stunning Wye valley for years to come.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Pilgrim Hotel. What a fantasic place. From the time we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. We had a lovely room on the ground floor with fantastic views. As we arrived later than planned we had our evening meal 'in house'. Each of us made a different choice. Each meal was not only excellent value for money but delicious an well presented. Will be booking again - YES

Room Tip: Request back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTG150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed five nights at this hotel , and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We had room five on the first floor, and had a lovely view. The room was warm, and tea and coffee was provided plus shortcake biscuits each day.
Hereford was a short drive away, and plenty to see in the area. The fields of rape seed were particularly beautiful.
All the Staff were very pleasant, and we would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
440 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
241 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
195 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Property: The Pilgrim Hotel
Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing