We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a two night break 14/15 June. Staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. Had dinner on Saturday and was not disappointed and breakfast was very good. Great views from the room and from the terraces at the rear of the hotel. Would recommend this hotel in this beautiful area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    313
    63
    14
    6
See reviews for
65
584
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stunning little hotel within view of the Brecon Beacons with friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food and excellent rooms . Thoroughly enjoyed my time at this picturesque and quirky little hotel, it came to an end way too soon. Would go back to this hotel at any opportunity and for any excuse. It was stunning. Well worth a visit and very reasonably priced for such a beautiful little place in the Herefordshire countryside.

Room Tip: For an extra £10 you can upgrade to a room with stunning views of the Brecon Beacons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I took my Mother for 2 nights last week, booked on B & B basis through Groupon and couldn't have wished for anything better for the money. Staff were friendly and helpful, room and bathroom were clean and plenty big enough, beds were very comfortable, food was excellent and setting was beautiful. We upgraded for £10 per night to the valley view and would definitely recommend others to do the same. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food both at dinner and breakfast was of a very good standard and very reasonably priced and the waiting staff were excellent. I would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2point4Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We enjoyed a very relaxing break at this lovely hotel. The staff were all friendly and attentive from the moment we entered the building and we were very happy with our and the great view. The meals (breakfast and dinner) were of a good quality and the presentation and service was also very good. We enjoyed exploring the local area and Hereford and this hotel allowed us to enjoy a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had been in contact for a while by email arranging the date of our stay and we always got rapid responses . That set the standard for the great hospitality we received during our stay. We received a friendly welcome at reception, escorted to our room.

The room itself was plenty large enough , comfortable and well equipped . The only very small down side was the bathroom a little dated BUT fully working and equipped .

The bar staff were also very friendly and welcoming , the restaurant was sited in the conservatory. The food was delicious , all 4 of us had different meals and puddings , and all were polished off. Not only tasty but piping hot and filling.

Breakfast and check out were similar to dinner and check in. Overall an great choice for a stay in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I are great believers in the saying 'you get what you pay for' and as we only payed £39 room only per night via 'Mighty Deals' I suppose we shouldn't have had such high expectations. Unfortunately it was absolutely pouring with rain when we arrived at the hotel and the steps to the entrance were flooded (this was due to the car park sloping down towards the hotel from the main road, not a very good start. At checkin, the receptionist was pleasant and efficient. We were allocated a double room (No 20) at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park and main road (With hindsight,we should have paid the extra £10 per night for a rear, Countryside facing room).To be quite honest the room was pretty dismal, there were cobwebs on the walls which stayed there for the duration of our stay, the WC pan had a big crack in it, the carpet wasn't vacuum cleaned and the furniture comprised cheap and nasty old fashioned (but not in keeping) stained pine dressing table with glass and cup rings all over it, a matching wardrobe and small shelves at the side of the bed instead of proper cupboards. To be fair the bed was fairly comfortable except for the dip in the middle of the mattress. Shortly after check in, we went for lunch in the bar, which was quite pricey but OK. We asked if it would be possible to have a larger TV in our room as the one we had was tiny (I didn't realise you could still buy them that small), the answer from the barman was a definite NO. The saving grace was the evening meal which we had in the conservatory overlooking the countryside at the rear of the hotel, although costly, it was very high quality and very enjoyable. The public areas of the hotel were well kept in good condition and the free WIFI was good. As stated in the review title, it was an OK stay. We feel that, if all of the bedrooms are as poor as the one we had, some cash needs spending on them to bring them up to an acceptable standard for this day and age and invest in some larger flat screen TV's. If the rooms were improved we feel that the tariff could be increased to cover the refurbishment costs and improve the experience of the guests (Just our opinion).

Room Tip: Choose a rear view room and pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel

It is quite apparent that the dismal weather on your arrival has had an adverse impact on your stay at the Hotel and whilst we accept that your comments are your opinion we disagree with the main thrust of your review. It does not, we feel, give a true reflection of the Hotel according to other feedback and reviews from guests and indeed Tripadvisor themselves, who have just awarded us our 3rd consecutive award for excellence. Future guest will, we hope take a more rounded view of their possible stay with us than this one review and come and enjoy some wonderful Herefordshire hospitality.

As a business we do not like unhappy guests, it defeats the reason for being in the hospitality area. If any guest is unhappy with their room please let us know and we will see what can be done to change it. Why stay 3 days, saying nothing bar commenting on a small TV and then complain later when there apparently so many things you were unhappy with? It doesn't seem to make sense as your stay would have been far more enjoyable!

The Hotel prides itself on it's cleanliness and our team work tirelessly to maintain high levels throughout the Hotel. We simply cannot believe that your carpet wasn't cleaned during your stay. We are in the middle of some of the best countryside in England and that comes with insects, flies and cobwebs I'm afraid, they are easily removed and we are surprised it wasn't mentioned during your stay if it was so distressing to you.

Your package price was £99 for 3 nights Room Only. I think you would be surprised and possible ashamed if you new just how little the business received from your £33 per night after huge commisions and VAT. The room is only one part of your stay, the fact you have a bar, restaurant, decking, excellent staff, stunning views, free wifi etc all form part of the costing for rooms.

As for the TV, yes it is small as befits the size of the room. We are sure that the answer to your question about changing was something like "I'm sorry we don't have spare TV's", or "all are rooms are full so we can't help". There is a world of difference between those replies and the manner in which you chose to phrase your comments on the matter.

As for he price of our food, I suppose that is a personal thing and varies on whether you are used to enjoying good quality food in stunning surroundings. We are confident that for a Hotel restaurant with freshly prepared food are prices are highly competitive.

Our rooms are constantly being upgraded and refreshed, but the cheaper rooms will be the last to benefit. So please pay that little bit extra and enjoy fabulous views from larger, better equipped rooms, its worth it.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Sited between Ross-on-Wye and Hereford the views from the back of this hotel are stunning, overlooking the hills around Symonds Yat on onwards to the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons.
The rooms are all a good size, clean and well equiped and the breakfasts served are good and hot.
The restaurant does very good food in the evening and the wine is reasonably priced.
The Pilgrim is a great base to walk the lovely Herefordshire countryside that is on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Choose the Valley side to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stepelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
450 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
312 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
246 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
200 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Property: The Pilgrim Hotel
Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing