We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90th birthday celebration!”
Review of Axe & Cleaver

Axe & Cleaver
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“90th birthday celebration!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went to the Axe and Cleaver for an evening meal to celebrate my father-in-law's 90th birthday whilst holidaying in Hereford with 15 other members of the family. The meal and the service was excellent. The menu was very varied and all meals chosen were enjoyed. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GillColley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    58
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really nice evening meal, and ambience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Popped in for evening meal whilst on holiday. This place was like stepping back in time...a nice local pub, with a chatty welcoming landlord and a nice ambience. Very much a traditional pub, a pub with real soul.
We both really enjoyed the tomato and apple soup starter, and the main courses...plus the welcoming chap at the bar. We also received super service from a young and smiling waitress.

We will return again when we point our car in the direction of Herefordshire! Hopefully we will have the opportunity to drink lots of apple juice and meet more of the locals!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank princekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stop in for lunch with friends.

Good food, good beer and good service at reasonable prices...what more would you wish for?

Worth a stop

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local pub with exceptional food and service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Five of us visited for dinner. We are all experienced travelers and dare I say, quite demanding when eating out. From the welcome as we entered the bar to the 'banter' and laughter as we departed, the service was consistently superb, extremely friendly and hyper-efficient. As to the food, all 3 courses were well presented, beautifully cooked and the steak were done to 'my satisfaction' to quote one of my senior friends (he doesn't enthuse that much!). All of us rate this pub highly and certainly we will return. Personally, don't miss the warm Chocolate fudge cake with ice cream - heaven. Thanks to all the staff for a great night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gjthwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place. ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Heard about this place from friends so we had to try it....and I'm so pleased we did. A traditional pub serving traditional food. The owners were welcoming, and the food was beautifully cooked and fresh. I would recommend the steak and ale pie! Worth the 40 minute journey to get the, and yes, we will be going back!

Helpful?
1 Thank cathmcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Axe & Cleaver also viewed

Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Hoarwithy, Hereford
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Axe & Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing