We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
301
105
39
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
301
105
39
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath huge bathroom fish and chips gastro pub bar area for sunday lunch pudding comfy sofas main course varied menu specials board ate here lovely pub torsin room lamb south lakes stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We have stayed before and after the refurbishment and what a difference the work has made. Our room was fabulous and we had a truly relaxed nights sleep .
The restaurant was good and the staff very helpful.
Will definitely be back

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosalyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Arrived here late afternoon for a drink to break a journey from Leeds to the lakes. Very cosy country atmosphere here with cheerful staff _ we have eaten here often _good country fare value for money _ if l have a criticism furnishings are becoming a bit shabby _ grubby cushions etc _ l used the disabled ♿ loo the paint work needs re _ doing _ the plughole and round the taps need a good dose of bleach _ thankyou.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 32margarety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Decided to give it a try as we live locally and booked a table for 5 people at lunchtime.
The initial impression was positive, however that quickly went downhill after a delay of 1.5 hours
waiting for 3 of the 5 main courses. The restaurant was not busy so we saw no reasoning for this and made a complaint. We were told they would be with us in five minutes as they wanted to ensure the squid (crispy, nothing complicated) was cooked properly (in itself a worry). The reasoning made little sense and did not shed any light on why the gammon, derived from an unrelated beast, also failed to make a show. Of the two dishes that were partly consumed, the roast pork sat on a bed of cold and mostly raw parsnips and the vegetable curry, which we asked for extra chilli, came with a separate bowl of curry powder. I hate to come across as being a cynic but that is a rather heavy hint that perhaps not all was fresh! After another 20 minute wait we decided to call and end to the debacle and leave. Whilst we weren't charged the whole episode was a disaster and I would not under any circumstances recommend this to anyone, with the exception of enemies.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank npkeltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I regularly eat here, the atmosphere is great, food is delicious, service good. What more could you ask for!
We have taken our three children a few times too (although it is usually our child free night out treat!) the children always eat everything and really enjoy it too.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KatyWadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

fabulous service as usual. We booked late after a poor service elsewhere and when we arrived found our drinks ready at our table. Katy has the most sunny disposition and was so helpful squeezing us in with such short notice. The food was sublime as usual and I can't rate this establishment highly enough

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sperky71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews