We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay a night, you'll want two weeks”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage with its own private garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage with its own private garden.
Entrance to the cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Cottage with its own private garden.
Entrance to the cottage.
The dining area.
The kitchen, compact but everything you need with kettle, toaster, hob, oven, fridge and washer/drye
Shower room, fluffy towels provided.
The garden is a wash with snowdrops January & February, Daffodils March, April & May.
The private garden with different flowers giving interest at any time of year.
The River Lune from Devils Bridge. Just one of the nearby local attractions.
Mid Winter but hundreds of snowdrops are making an appearance. To be followed by the daffs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lupton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
marcar105
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay a night, you'll want two weeks”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Owner Sue is an absolute delight, very thoughtful and caring we knew we'd enjoy our stay well beforehand. The cottage wants for nothing, we even had a Christmas tree. Excellent walks all around, within sight of the Lake District but without what can be Lake District mayhem in summer . And on the other side of the road? A pretty darn excellent pub The Plough, with a Warhorse style, life-size metalwork horse outside just to draw attention.
Loved it all

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank you for such lovely comments Mark, it was a pleasure, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBee9
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a three night stay and can't wait to return. The cottage is an excellent base for the surrounding area. It is welcoming and homely and the enclosed garden was a bonus for our dog. The attention to detail is perfect and I loved the handmade soap. Thank you Sue and Tony

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you for such lovely comments. I also need to thank you for leaving the cottage so spotless, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Have a lovely Christmas!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CP0929
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Sue was a great host and made sure we had everything we needed and was always on hand if we had any questions.

The cottage itself was clean and tidy, and the TV and entertainment package was a great bonus! Its very well located for visiting surrounding areas and is only a short drive to Kendal and Kirkby Lonsdale (which we found was a lovely little town).

The dog loved the massive garden at the back and it was great to let her have a good run around in there when we arrived.

We would definitely stay here again and can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We'd love to have you back! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you Phillip for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you and you'd be more than welcome if you're able to return. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whitewitc...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Springfield Cottage and it is a wonderful place. The garden is brilliant and safe Bear loved it (so do we)

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely place fab owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thanks again Shaun. You are the perfect guests to have to stay and Bear is a MOST handsome dog. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Springfield Cottage”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic few days away, cottage was great and so was the weather. Well recommended wonderful time and Bear (dog) really enjoyed his walks. Lovely private garden , thank you very much.
Shaun and Tracy ( Bear to.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you Shaun & Tracy for your kind comments, And the wine!!! It was a pleasure to have you. I also need to thank you for leaving the cottage so spotless!! Its guests like yourselves that make letting such a pleasure.
Thanks again, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
387sammy1...
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“pleasant cottage with helpful owners”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed 2 nights in the cottage which has easy access to the surrounding attractions and we took some lovely walks directly from the house. The private garden is quite large and very pretty and made life easier as we have a dog. Reasonably priced stay for a cottage which has its own private garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and that we could walk on the footpaths straight from the cottage
Liked least: Kitchen very small but was advertised as compact so fair enough. It had everything one needed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing