We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect mini break in sweet little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lupton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carras198...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect mini break in sweet little cottage”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just returned from a very enjoyable short break to Holly Cottage in Lupton. The cottage was exactly as described and was extremely cosy and welcoming. Lupton is tiny (you can't even call it a village) but ideally situated about 4 miles from Kirkby Lonsdale and a half an hour drive from Windermere. Unfortunately the weather was pretty dire for our trip but we really enjoyed cosy evenings in the cottage with a glass of red wine in the open plan living room/ kitchen area. As others have commented, the kitchen was really well stocked with everything you could need-only thing we couldn't locate was a tea-towel.
We ate at The Plough one evening and really enjoyed the food and experience. It does seem further than a mile (we drove there) but I would definitely recommend a trip. Another evening we ate at The Italian Garden in Kirkby Lonsdale and had a very good, inexpensive meal there.
On our final day we sent the owner (Amy) a message asking if we could possibly check out later and she responded immediately saying we could, for which we were very grateful. We'd love to return to Holly Cottage next year when we hope to have better weather to do some exploring. A really enjoyable long weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G
1 review
“perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for three days for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a lovely stay. Lovely cottage. Beautiful place to stay. Would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Happy wedding anniversary :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette231...
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, peaceful little cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Holly Cottage in July, it was our first trip to the Lake District. It was just perfect, the cottage itself had everything we needed, it was very clean, very quiet and well equipped.
Its location was perfect too for all the attractions of the Lake District. We would love to return to this cottage and back to the Lakes.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We would love to welcome you back! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmuir2015
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed at this small but well equipped cottage for 3 nights. Enjoyed walks along the canal and trips to nearby towns. Beautiful part of the country and found the location of the cottage to be ideal for exploring the Lake District and North Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatieMac
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful position, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for three nights, in mid June. This cottage is in a lovely position, close to the motorway making access convenient, but still very peaceful. The cottage is next to the Lancaster canal, and it was delightful to be able to walk along the canal in the evening, with waterbirds and wildflowers for company. It is only a short drive to all the wonderful sights of the Lake District, and we spent a wonderful day chasing the remains of Roman forts!
The kitchen is extremely well equipped, and we cooked on one evening (picking up supplies from Booths in Kirkby Lonsdale). The other two evenings we ate at The Plough Inn, which was a great place for an informal meal...delicious food, friendly staff, and excellent wines by the glass. Would recommend both The Plough and Holly Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Bathroom was very 'tight' and as others have said, water from the shower does splash across the floor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westhillg...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday, cottage as described”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife, dog and I very much enjoyed or stay at Holly Cottage. The facilities were exactly as described and the nearby canal was handy for walking the dog. The previous comments from people staying were also helpful and correct. Ideal cottage for dog lovers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself was clean, well equiped and comfortable.
Liked least: The shower is above the bath and does not have a shower curtain leading to a wet floor in the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holly Cottage. The cottage was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. We brought our dog along with us and went for several walks down the side of the canal. Kirkby Lonsdale is ten minutes away and has a supermarket and Chinese takeaway which was really useful. We had a trip out to lake Windermere which took about 25minutes to get there in the car. Would recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall look and feel of the cottage
Liked least: We cooked the first night but the oven took ages to cook our food.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments!:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;