We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disgrace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piha Domain Motor Camp
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A disgrace”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Family camping holiday peak season. It's a cheap place, but still too expensive for the appalling filthy showers and toilets, they are a total embarrassment and disgrace to a beautiful regional area. Joined trip adviser to say it, embarressed as a kiwi that facilities that you have to actually pay for are so old rotten dirty and mouldy. The "staff" rude, leave much to be desired on terms of service, and accept no responsibility for the conditions????? Blame the council ??? They have no right to charge money, toilet/ shower blocks need demolishing,staff should be sacked or learn how to clean facilities. I would never recommend to anyone.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubyleeprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    28
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights recently. It was the cheapest site I've found in the north island at $15 per nite for a power site. Fiona is a very welcoming host, it's a lovely open green space with all the usual facilities and the beach right on your doorstep. Post office, store and cafe just over the road and plenty of bushwalks nearby. The place has a very relaxed feel to it. I didn't want to leave! OK the toilet block is in need of an update but it has everything you need eg. hot showers, running water. Kitchen and laundry facilities were fine. Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Domain campsite was one of the nicest places in NZ we´ve been to (compared to ca 20 other campsites). Only one hour driving from Auckland, just a few minutes walk from the beautiful Piha Beach (great surfing), it is a perfect place to start or finish the travelling. Peaceful, sunny, large grassed area with simple, but clean bathrooms. Kitchen equiped as usually, cookware included. No parties, just relax. You can´t get anything better for 15 NZD/ night. Small, calm village, with stunning views over the surrounding hills. Staff was very nice, they realy love their place and take care about it, will help you as much as they can. Thank you for the stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The beach was wonderful. Piha cafe across the street excellent despite expensive. Gluten free options. The Domain campsite was nicely grassed, but kitchen facilities and washrooms were poor compared to other New Zealand campsites we've been in. We purchased 24 hours of internet, but it was only usable on the grassed area across from the sign in area. The only plugins though, we on the opposite side of the campground in the kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

After being spoken to rudely about being mistakenly undercharged, we were immediately put off. Following this, we checked out the facilities, second rate to say the least, the bathrooms smelled of dirt and mould. We camped at 6 other holiday parks in the North Island and by far, this was the worst. Would recommend seeing Piha during the day and staying elsewhere at night.
Piha itself is a stunning little town, but this camp brings it down for tourists. We feel let down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegoseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

It's strange that in the midst of the city remained so large undeveloped area. But thanks this enjoy the cheap sleep in such a beautiful place. Almost hear the waves and walk to beach is a few minutes. Conditions are modest, toilets and kitchen need of updating. Staff was very nice. I would like to go there again sometime. Be careful to Auckland there is not any gas station (and lot of hills do drive).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Very interesting place, right in the center of town, very close to the beach. Staff with good distance to everything - time is passing differently here (and it's almost Auckland area). Campground place is very large. Public toilets and showers very modest, kitchen as well. The prices are very favorable. Views unforgettable. Of course I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monia-Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
5.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
17.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
14.9 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
4.1 mi away
Bethells Beach Cottages
Bethells Beach Cottages
#1 of 2 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Romantic Piha
Romantic Piha
#5 of 5 in Piha
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piha Domain Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piha Domain Motor Camp

Property: Piha Domain Motor Camp
Address: 21 Seaview Road, Piha, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Piha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Piha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing