We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good pre christmas dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Somerset Arms

The Somerset Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Somerset Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Semington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melksham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very good pre christmas dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just returned from the somerset arms for a pre Christmas dinner. my wife & I prefer quiet so we booked for 6:15.We arrived early and had a drink,& we were shown to a lovely table by the fire.I had pate& my wife had salmon.Very nice not to big or to small. next course was turkey with all the trimmings , all served nice & hot. we didn t have pud as we were full. Beer was good, as was service. heartly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    12
    9
    0
See reviews for
19
28
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

As a group of 6 ladies, dining as a pre Christmas get together and to celebrate one of the ladies forth coming wedding- we were disappointed by the food and service received.
When we ordered (main courses only) we were informed the food would take 20 minutes but it took twice as long as that.
The restaurant was not busy (just 2 other tables) and we had booked in advance.
I ordered the ham hock dish which came with mashed potatoes, whole grain mustard sauce and veg. I was repulsed when the dish came out. There was a massive whole ham hock on my plate, with the knucke bone still in place,covered in white unrendered fat with very little sauce.
I managed to eat a tiny amount of the meat and covered the rest with my napkin to stop me looking at the jellied fat and bone. A very unladylike dish.
The other meals were also excessively big with lots left on
each plate.
Not somewhere any of us would rush back to!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LizElm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset Arms S, Owner at The Somerset Arms, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
yes some of our portions are large which for most people is a bonus.A ham hock is what is says it is...a large piece of meat on a large bone with fat. obviously this will take time to cook due to its size hence longer than expected waiting times.They are one of our best sellers but i suppose as the saying goes "you cant please them all"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
270 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We visited this pub while boating on the nearby canal. We arrived just after 6 pm on a Friday evening just before the crowd arrived. We had no trouble getting a table. The menu was not massive but there were choices for all four of us. The service was good but as we were early there was no pressure on the waitresses. The food was good and there were no negative comments at all. When we left at about eight o'clock the bar was extremely full indicating that this was a very popular place for the locals. We would certainly eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Somerset Arms last night for a very rare night away together and I have to say it was disappointing, even though I didn't pay for it.

It says all the right things in its description on various websites, but the reality is very different - it has pretensions of being a 4* but isn't anything more than a 3* at the very outside. Well intentioned but poor delivery!

It might have been nice 3 years ago when it was taken over and the 3 rooms upstairs were first decorated. It certainly isn't a 4* anything (as the owner/landlord has listed it on Late Rooms!).
Opposite is a car dealership with rows of cars - so if you have a room at the front you will overlook that (room 1) and if you want to sit outside there isn't anywhere nice to sit. If you sit in the front beer area, you sit and look at the cars on display opposite, can hear the noise from the Sky TV showing football very loudly and look at the dumped beer kegs (about 30) in the front area.

The room (room 3) looked nice when we first went in, although it was small (nowhere apart from bed to sit on), washbasin in the room as en-suite shower room too small to fit it in. Room 3 is at the back of the property overlooking the car park and awful rear "garden" area. One very small window in the room opens onto this car park area. No air con, just a fan. It was unbearably hot last night although it was only about 18 degrees. The room is also above the kitchen so you can hear the whir of some ventilation in the kitchen.

And the walls are absolutely paper thin. I have never been so intimately acquainted, or apparently so close to other people having sex on the other side of the wall.

The menu was a piece of printed paper, not even laminated. The selection wasn't great - no salmon, no chicken (apart from chicken & grape salad). The wine was watered down and an absolute rip-off at £4.50 for a small glass of Pinot Grigio.The waitresses has no clue - they didn't bring us cutlery with our main courses which they were completely surprised by, when we asked for cutlery to eat our dinner with. Useless.

Two positive things to say about the place - the bed was comfortable and the lady who made us breakfast was a star. The scrambled eggs were lovely and the tables were set nicely for breakfast.

If you want to stay somewhere in the area, go 1/4 of a mile down the road and stay at the B & B just on the canal as Semington. That's just £54 per night including breakfast and has a lovely garden to sit in, as well as it being a beautiful old Georgian house.

I wouldn't recommend anyone stay there and we certainly won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Go to a different B & B or hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset Arms S, Manager at The Somerset Arms, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Our rooms are officially rated 4 star by the AA. you should take issue with them.Wwe believe thay our accomodation is excellent value for money in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Slept (ish) in room 1. Room was lovely and clean, small but had everything we needed. En suite small but clean and fine. Kept awake most of both evenings by extractor fan of some sort. Mentioned it to the female chef who didn't give any comment at all. Breakfast was lovely and cooked well. We ate and drank the first night at the pub. Food was lovely. Couldn't fault it. Drinks pricey though. I didn't read previous reviews as last minute and can see that others had same experience with noisy fans. They are quite loud and go for about an hour then turn off for a while then start up again, this is when they wake you up. Come on guys, we spent the best part of £300 over 2 nights and expected a decent kip. I think our room was the furthest one too so if its a quiet night you are after think again. Have to empasise that everything else including staff (apart from female chef who obviously knew about the fans noise) we all really nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henryruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Friendly welcome and pleasant, accommodating staff. Spacous bar even served our favourite perry cider.

Our room was dominated by an excessively big wardrobe at the expense of chairs, etc.and had the washbasin in the room (not enough room in the ensuite). Rooms were clean and reasonably well equipped though the 'boutique style' decor and design seemed to focus more on form than function.

Good night's sleep in a comfortable bed though it had initially collapsed when my partner (trim and light) sat (gently) on it ...clearly previous occupants had broken a number of the slats and fixings, and the amateur repair had simply given way. The manager instantly apologised, thanked us for not making a fuss and was able to find and fit some replacement parts very quickly. Dinner was of a good standard, and served promptly and hot.

Breakfast, however, was the poorest experienced on our walking tour and we can only assume that there was no supervising chef on duty. Three of us selected the 'scrambled egg and smoked salmon' but this proved to be two small pieces of smoked salmon perched on top of a tasteless yellow blancmange-like substance ...how is it possible to ruin scrambled eggs is beyond us (egg powder?, blended within an inch of its life and then done to death in the microwave perhaps???? ).

Breakfast apart, this was a comfortable stay though, as one of the more expensive places we had stayed at during our trip, value for money could only be rated as average. However, with a little more consistent attention to detail, we would have been able to rate it as good overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aelred_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

the hotel location is good but room was very small and it is not possible to stay more than 1 night , bathroom is just 2 m2 and you can not move. room was not clean. the breakfast eas not ready until 08 am which is too late to have. the bar area was too dirthy to seat and eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HALUK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semington
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Tollgate Inn
The Tollgate Inn
#1 of 3 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lamb on the Strand
The Lamb on the Strand
#2 of 2 in Semington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
16.6 mi away
Circles Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset Arms

Property: The Somerset Arms
Address: High Street, Semington BA14 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Semington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Semington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Somerset Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village freehouse pub with comfortable clean accomodation.Lovely homemade menu and selection of real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Somerset Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing