We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lamb on the Strand
Ranked #2 of 2 Semington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation and service”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The attitude and friendliness of the staff throughout our stay was excellent. We booked the cottage and found it to be clean, spacious and comfortable, loved the rocking chair in the bedroom! Food at the pub was much better than expected, freshly cooked, delicious and superb quality, so much so we ate there every night. Only negative, it is located on a fairly busy road so some traffic noise. Didn't bother us, enjoyed sitting in the garden and watching the wildlife. Definitely recommend a visit whether to eat, drink or stay over. Excellent base for exploring surrounding area - stone henge, longleat, Caen locks, etc.

Room Tip: Apart from traffic, very quiet, all rooms look good, depends whether you want extra space with the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although they are promising more rooms, at present they only have two apartments. The one we had was on two floors with the ground floor having a bedroom with large walk-in shower en suite. Upstairs there was a good sized and comfortable lounge area at one end with a dining table & chairs and a very well equipped kitchen at the other. The other apartment I believe has the same arrangement except the bedroom and shower are on the first floor with the living and dining area on the ground floor.
The pub is a very short walk (less than 20 yards I would guess) away and serves excellent food including a very satisfying breakfast, which is cooked to order.
The staff is very friendly and welcoming with Karen in the front of house and Owain in the kitchen being particularly helpful and pleasant.
The beauty of this arrangement is that one can either self-cater completely or partially or opt to eat whatever meals one wanted in the pub itself and I recommend the food.
The surrounding countryside is very attractive and there is a great deal to do and see in the area.

Room Tip: Either of the two apartments would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyHertfordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth Herts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We wanted a short break to recover from a very tiring holiday - all we wanted to do was chill out, eat good food and relax. We found it at this venue. We stayed for three nights in Cottage 1. It was delightful, a lovely bedroom with en suite bathroom on the ground floor, plus, had we wanted to use it, exceptional self-catering facilities on the upper floor where there was a large lounge with comfortable seating and a TV, and a kitchen area with dining area. Outside were attractive and comfortable seating areas where al fresco dining was provided and at other times one could sit and enjoy the scenery with a good book!
The pub/restaurant was more a restaurant than a pub and the food was superb, cooked by Owain, their Chef. Portions were a tad on the large side for me, personally, but the food could not be faulted and was clearly based on fresh local produce. Breakfast was typically the "full English", or whatever variation one wanted, and cooked perfectly.
The staff cannot be faulted. Nothing was too much trouble for them and while being friendly and chatty they were not intrusive. We would hope to return in the not too distant future and can do no more than recommend it highly. My only criticism would be that the beds are not as wide as those to which we are accustomed and the duvets are quite heavy. We were told that it was possible to alter the aircon with the thermostat, but we hadn't noticed it until too late!

Room Tip: We liked Cottage 1, which has a bedroom and bathroom downstairs and living area upstairs, but Cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night would have loved to have stayed longer but they had no vacancies !! Really lovely cottage, beautifully restored barn. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant, really lovely food, service excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrumps_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My partner and I went to the lamb on the strand because we had booked to go to the badminton horse trials.

On arriving we were very pleased with the appearance of the place - beautiful and clean.

Our cottage was a beautiful converted barn. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was nice however I did not like mine as I found the food quite rich - my partner loved his and ate both our dinners :-)

We then returned to our room and at around 12am there was an awful drainage coming from the ensuite bathroom shower. We had to open all the windows and close the ensuite door. We then fell asleep and awoke in the morning to find the smell had gone... very strange.

Overall it was lovely and we would recommend staying here but just check the shower smell is fixed. We didnt report it as it was very late at night and didn't want to be any trouble.

Also if you are wanting to stay there because you are going to badminton horse trials, please note booking.com where we booked through is not accurate in their distances and it was over a 40min drive from badminton.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Camber2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband, myself and 4 year old daughter stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights in April.

We stayed here as we were guests at a wedding at Wellington barn (about 40 minutes drive away).

The property it's self was immaculate and very clean.

It is a great choice if you have a child and are not keen on sharing a bedroom. We were able to put our daughter to bed on the sofa bed then relax in our own room upstairs.

We didn't get a chance to have a meal at the pub the breakfasts were amazing! Best breakfast I have had when staying away. The full English is nothing short of enormous and delicious!

We would defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expectthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages at " The Lamb on the Strand" for a week over Christmas 2013, as it's close to our families and friends. The accommodation was in a barn conversion that's been renovated to a very high standard and beautifully decorated. (And we,re very fussy!) on the ground floor was a cosy lounge, and kitchen with a dining area, upstairs was a beautiful beamed bedroom and bathroom. Views out the back were amazing beautiful countryside and we even saw deer in the fields! Plenty of character and a homely feel to this cottage, we would definitely stay there again.
Brian the landlord was very welcoming, friendly and helpful, he even gave me a cafetiere and fresh coffee to use for our stay.
The pub was very warm, welcoming and friendly, we enjoyed eating there a few times and especially enjoyed the " tapas" menu, sat by the open log fire.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lamb on the Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb on the Strand

Property: The Lamb on the Strand
Address: 99 The Strand, Semington BA14 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Semington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Semington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb on the Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our converted barn has produced two stunning semi-detached cottages both offering master bedroom with en-suite, lounge diner with kitchen and sofa bed. our cottages are perfect place to stay in the beautiful countryside of West Wiltshire, ideally situated close to many places of interest such as the ancient sites of Stonehenge, Avebury and Amesbury a swell as cities of Bath and Salisbury. Each cottage has all modern amenities with built in oven hob and fridges & relaxing sofa's. The bedroom has an en-suite Shower room with power showers and hot water on demand. Enjoy the stunning views and cook or relax, and be pampered in the restaurant and let us take care of you. Breakfast available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lamb on the Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing