We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage in lovely village”
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Welcome to White Sheep....come on in and have a look The lovely West and South facing terrace surrounded by lavender roses and wisteria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Welcome to White Sheep....come on in and have a look
The lovely West and South facing terrace surrounded by lavender roses and wisteria
The sitting room seen from the garden
The sunny terrace
Sitting room opens on to the terrace
Gorgeous eat-in kitchen with inglenook fireplace, walk-in larder and all conceivable appliances
The dining room...low ceilinged, intimate, perfect for a special lunch or dinner
The comfy and sunny sitting room
.....with French windows to the terrace
An amazing curved oak wall between the hall and the kitchen
The West bedroom
The cute and cosy cabin-like twin....children adore it....but its comfy for adults too!
Chocolate-y highlights in the bright East bedroom
Even the bath and shower rooms have fabulous beams
Ground floor family bathroom with double-ended tub
The natural pond, a haven for wildlife
The charming old barn
Relax by the pond....
The Pictorial Meadow, a riot of colour May to November
The wildflower meadow
Apple blossom time....there are cherries, figs and all kinds of herbs too....help yourself!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Peasenhall, Saxmundham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dianebenn
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Once again a wonderful holiday in Peasenhall Suffolk. White sheep cottage is immaculately presented and had everything we needed, and more, to enable us to enjoy our weeks holiday and to leave feeling refreshed and relaxed. The garden was an absolute delight and we enjoyed some lovely early Autumn walks around the area.
The cottage is very well equipped, cooking in the kitchen a pleasure with everything you could need provided. The sofas/ beds are most comfortable.
Will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Thanks so much for your support - hope you'll come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola_pe...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We chose White Sheep Cottage for a weekend away from it all. We found it beautifully presented, comfortable, and ideally situated in the heart of Suffolk. We loved the garden, went for long walks, and returned to chill out on comfy sofas; and slept so well in the beautifully appointed bedrooms. So much nicer than staying in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thank you for choosing White Sheep; so glad you enjoyed your break. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark U
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not as good as our last stay. The cottage needs some tender love and care.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at White Sheep in August 2012 and had a great time. However the owner had let standards slip and I'm afraid we can no longer recommend this cottage.

When we politely pointed out our concerns to the owner in writing we received a less than satisfactory reply. Simply a series of excused rather than any sort of apology. This is not good form.

In short the issues we encountered were as follows relating largely to cleanliness and tidiness:

1. We found the cottage much less clean than last time we stayed.

This included the following specific issues:

• glasses and crockery was not clean upon arrival.
• the cushions and rugs are looking very dirty.
• the floor in the kitchen and under the sofa were dirty and very dusty.
• the coffee table was overwhelmed with books and needs to be thinned out.
• the toilets and sinks and surrounding area were not particularly clean.
• the oven and stove had not been thoroughly cleaned.
• the BBQ was left unclean.

2. Notwithstanding us replenishing both the rinse aid and the salt, the dishwasher never seems to get things clean so much so that we didn't use it in the end.

3. The freezer was chock full of stuff. All drawers.

4. The kitchen drawers are chock full of stuff too and need to be thinned out. In general there are too many utensils.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
I had last been at White Sheep Cottage up to 9 August, 2 weeks/2 other sets of guests before Mr U's party came to stay. When I left the cottage was in its usual immaculate state. I returned immediately after this party and found complete chaos. I had two hours of tidying and moving furniture, objects and kitchen equipment/utensils/books/toys etc back to their correct places before housekeeping could get in to clean and change bed linen.

I replied carefully to the complaints, pointing out:

a) that I had been there etc as stated above;

b)that the guests immediately before this party wrote the review on Trip Advisor immediately preceding this one, and had furthermore written to me on the 29 August to say, inter alia, "I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful our holiday at White Sheep was.......The cottage is delightful and you have made it so warm and welcoming, thank you so very much and we hope to return"......meanwhile writing in the Guest Book "A house can transform a holiday into a magical experience - our stay at White Sheep has been a delight";

c) that the cushion covers/rugs etc had all been laundered on 8/9 August, the cutlery and crockery drawers sorted and tidied, all furniture and objects at that point where they should be, magazines and books sorted, the garden immaculate. I also pointed out that the amount of crockery etc is exactly that recommended by a top-end Suffolk agency through whom I also let my cottage.

d) the freezer and dishwasher were simply not as described. The dishwasher was not cleaning because it was entirely devoid of both salt (I put in 3kg!) and Rinse Aid, of which it took three-quarters of a bottle....thereafter it worked perfectly. As to the freezer, someone had left it on fast freeze! Audibly so. the top drawer was therefore slightly iced up, though by no means full - just ice cube trays and ice blocks for the picnic box. The bottom drawer is labelled as mine and was indeed full, which I think is reasonable. The middle drawer was both empty and accessible......

e) I gently pointed out that this is a self-catering cottage, not a fully-staffed hotel. As is normal at the top end of the industry I ask guests to return everything to its original position and make sure that cutlery, crockery, pans, glasses etc are clean and put away. It is not the job of housekeeping to do these jobs, they simply don't have time.

f) I asked the complainants to give me time to respond fully as I thought it fair to ask Housekeeping for their response to the accusations that the cottage was dirty. This was not accepted - I received a demand that ALL the complaints, true/untrue, substantiated/unsubstantiated were accepted and apologized for. Trip Advisor was threatened if such apology was not immediately received. Quite honestly, I do not see why I should do that, and it makes me very cross when Trip Advisor is abused.

I do not know what Mr U's motive was in complaining so, although I can guess. I would like to promise guests that, as many many guests past, including Mrs R immediately before Mr U and four delightful Oxfordshire ladies since have found, White Sheep Cottage is indeed a magical place to have a holiday, and no more caring and committed an owner than myself can be imagined.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayr20132...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning property, beautiful gardens, heavenly holiday home.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Had a wonderful family holiday at White Sheep Cottage this Summer. The grounds were glorious, meadow planting meant we spent hours watching rare butterflies, bees and dragonflies. It added an unexpected and joyful dimension to our holiday as we all wanted to be outdoors. There is plenty of space and lots of chairs to relax on.
Inside the cottage has a warm and welcoming air, rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. In particular the kitchen was practical and had lots of oils, spices and condiments, making it a home from home rather than an entirely bare space that you often get with rentals. Lots of sofas and chairs to sprawl out on, wonderful reading material on the local area, all very practical for children.
The local village Peasenhall was charming and had a good deli, Suffolk Coffee company, and butchers. It is well situated for the coast, easy to get to Southwold, but also had lots of interesting villages nearby like Earl Soham and Westerton where we stumbled across their fun filled Summer fete. Wonderful pubs nearby and well placed for a magnificent stay. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching butterflies and bees in th beautifully planted lavender and meadow gardens.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Thank you, it is so lovely knowing how much pleasure my house gives!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage for two families”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

White Sheep is a stunning cottage, and has managed to blend old (some parts dated 1560!) with new - plenty of modern comforts including two stunning ensuite bathrooms off the double bedrooms. A great cottage for two families to stay with travel cots provided too. Peasenhall is a great location within 20mins drive of Southwold and Aldeburgh and loads of other fabulous places to visit in Suffolk. Lovely places to sit outside and inside and very well equipped kitchen and lots for children too including a lovely pile of books for all ages and soft toys! Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely social kitchen
Liked least: Lots of steps
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
So glad you enjoyed your holiday - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FayPitten...
Pittenweem
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful rural retreat amid lovely countryside with a wealth of things to do”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

An extremely well- equipped and comfortable cottage set in very pretty garden and perfect for al-fresco eating. Wonderful food in local pub and throughout the area. Superb butcher cum greengrocer and delicatessen in village. Fresh fish galore from beach in Aldeburgh perfect for the BBQ. Ideally situated to visit a wealth of interesting towns and villages.
A little difficult to spot as set behind high hedge immediately opposite very idiosyncratic village hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Dining room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Glad you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDTravell...
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Spacious Suffolk Cottage”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We recently travelled to Suffolk from the US for a wedding. We stayed in White Sheep cottage, which has already been well-described in other reviews. We often rent apartments (and occasionally houses) when travelling in Europe. White Sheep Cottage stands out because it is nicely updated, well-maintained, and spacious while still keeping the charm of an old English cottage. The surrounding countryside is spectacular, and their are very interesting villages and towns nearby. We would highly recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms and well-equipped kitchen
Liked least: The sloping floor in one of the bedrooms
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Very glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing