We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of School House B & B

School House B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnerside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School House B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Gunnerside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at the School House while doing the coast to coast walk. We were looked after very well, comfortable room, good service. The only concern was bringing wet & muddy walking clothing and boots into such an immaculate house!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walker-paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent a night at School House in early October while on a Dales walk. It was our favourite B&B of the trip. We were made very welcome and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful. The views from our room were beautiful, the guest lounge very comfortable and the fresh fruit for breakfast really delicious


Joy Redfern and Michael Hawkins

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures. Almost on the route just on the edge of Reeth. A warm welcome and farewell. Drink and cake offered on arrival. A beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean house which might overawe some walkers. Evening meal not provided but a very good breakfast. Comfortable bedroom and a comfortable separate lounge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This was our second visit having stayed during the Coast-to-Coast in 2010. We loved it then so relished the thought of returning on our Yorkshire Dales Inn Way walk. We were not disappointed. Peter and Jan are warm, welcoming, helpful hosts, intent on making your stay as comfortable as possible. A beautiful house and rooms, spotlessly clean with a delightful garden. Nice touches include hot-water bottles in the room and a bath as well as a shower in our spacious bathroom. An excellent breakfast with homemade bread, muesli and fruit interestingly served. It's good that rooms now have tea and coffee. We felt very much at home there and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The twin room has a spacious bathroom with bath as well as shower and lovely views of the back garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriamandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is an immaculate house, beautifuly decorated... if anything as a coast to coast walker you almost feel nervous to be in it.
As other reviews have described we went through the boot removal process before a welcome pot of tea and a slice- a welcome which was "clinical hospitality" rather than "genuine warmth" to my perception. There is now tea and coffee making facilities available in the rooms.
Breakfast here was very good- a most excellent fruit selection- summer fruits, and an additional bowl containing mango, kiwi and passion fruit. Cereal was served to you rather than help yourself- which seemed a little strange. I had an excellent sausage sandwich.
Our en suite bathroom had no frosted glass in the external window, so rather a Roman blind permanently down, and 2 patterned glass panels in the entry door from the room- so not particualrly private.
Lovely stay- recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

checked out reviews here before we booked School House. It was the only place available and we were bit apprehensive with reviews about cream carpets especially as we had been walking all day and were wet and muddy. No problems though, hallway was tiled, not carpeted and plenty of room to remove boots. Wet clothes taken by owner and dried overnight for us. Breakfast was excellent including home made bread. House spotless. Views from bedroom window stunning. Owners very welcoming and would choose to stay here if in Reeth again.
J & J

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank skipton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was the best B&B I stayed at during a weeks walking holiday. Welcomed with a huge pot of tea and a great slice of cake. Breakfast was excellent. There are now tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Room had fantastic views and was very comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonnyr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to School House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House B & B

Address: 5 School Road, Gunnerside, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Gunnerside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gunnerside
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
School House B & B Gunnerside, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing