We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blakelands Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Bobbington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had Xmas afternoon tea here last week. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and the staff as nice as ever. The food was nice enough but very little of it, still hungry when we left. Saw one of the waitresses pouring unused milk from the jugs back into the milk bottle. If you must be penny pinching don't do this in view of guests, makes you wonder what happens behind the scenes.Won't book a tea again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    6
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I attended a friends wedding, and this venue was wonderful. Staff were friendly, and welcoming, as well as attentive. Venue itself was very pretty, and I particular liked the separate buildings we had access to. The log fires, and it was decorated beautifully for Christmas too. Rooms were beautifully clean, and breakfast was lovely. Good value for me as I booked with two others and we split the cost of a family room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the converted barns are lovely and spacious,neither a lovely comfy seating area outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Blakelands last night with our good friends Alan & Pauline for our usual Christmas meal and had very pleasant time. The food at Blakelands was fantastic and the staff were extremely friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and surroundings... Well done to Blakelands for such a lovely evening, we shall be back again...

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

It is not like me to write a bad review - Please check out my other reviews to see. However, Blakelands should be singled out for special treatment.

Do not be fooled by the look of the building. While it is very beautiful on the outside, the place is very dated and has been fitted out with the cheapest possible items and decor. The beds are truly awful.

But this is not my worst complaint. My main issue is with the management who all the time make you feel like they are doing you a favor to have you stay there.

There are no phones in the room so when we realized we only had one set of towel, we had to ask the bar to call reception. When they brought us new towels they made out as if we had stolen a set. They said we should look very thoroughly in the room as there is always a spare set there - There wasn't.

Check out is not very well informed as 10:30am, the earliest time I have ever seen at a hotel. We did not realize and at 10:35 we had a number of very rude staff hammering on our door insisting we leave as soon as possible. No apology, nothing. They came back 5 minutes later and did the same.

Breakfast is served only from 8:30 to 9:30. I have never heard of such a small breakfast window.

The reason I stayed was that I was attending a function where we were made to feel equally as unwelcome. The owner stood watching us all the time during the function as if he was worried that we were going to misbehave. It was like being at a teenagers party being watched by parents. Very very uncomfortable.

And all this for over £100 per night? I can get better service and beds in better locations for less than half this.

These people should not be in the hospitality business.

DO NOT BOOK YOUR WEDDING HERE.

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed here overnight following a wedding. We stayed in a beautiful old room in the original house- the cottage room. The bed linen was crisp and fresh and the room had everything we needed. A super view over surrounding countryside and a lovely free alarm call at dawn from the swifts nesting in the eaves!
Breakfast was delicious with much locally sourced produce. You must have the sausages and black pudding!
Staff were friendly and attentive and buffet items were constantly replenished.
All in all a lovely end to a lovely wedding and I would not hesitate to recommend Blakelands to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewdleyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Lovely bedroom, good quality bed linen and towels. Pleasant gardens in a countryside setting. The only downside was that in appalling weather, unfortunately, the rooms were so far from the bar and restaurant.
The breakfast was O.K but not quite as good as expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threehills464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Had a meal at Blakelands with my wife the day after Valentines day. The meal was excellent and the surroundings very relaxing. The pre-dinner drinks and after meal coffee in the lounge area is a nice touch. My wife and I are both gluten free which I had mentioned during booking. On the night they were very accommodating and provided gluten free bread with the meal. The salmon and monk fish starter was very good and the fillet steak very succulent. The signature sauce with the steak was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pembrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bobbington
5.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
723 reviews
3.8 mi away
Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
204 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
441 reviews
5.2 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelands Country House

Property: Blakelands Country House
Address: Halfpenny Green, Bobbington DY7 5DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Bobbington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bobbington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blakelands House originally dates from 1722, the impressive Queen Anne house with its distinctive architectural features makes an impressive mark on the surroundings. But it is in the surrounding buildings where the main changes have been made, resulting in such facilities as The Maltings, a 120 seat Banquet Hall and the Lodge Restaurant, fine dining at its most relaxed, serving traditional English meals, freshly prepared and locally sourced. Management is in the capable hands of Paul and Heather Morgan who share duties between the Restaurant and Banqueting Facility, and since its opening in 1992, Blakelands has proved a real favourite with couples and families looking for somewhere special to celebrate, whether that is an intimate meal for two, a family celebration or their wedding. Overnight guests are equally well cared for, with two suites, one of which is The Corbett Suite, a sumptuous set of rooms which serves as the Bridal Suite.Elsewhere in the complex are a further twelve en suite rooms, five of them in Blakelands Lodge all with their own characters and décor, all beautifully fitted out, and with locally inspired names that reflect the strong ties of Blakelands with the neighbourhood.Blakelands Lodge menu’s are all embracing with a strong flavour of superior brasserie if a name had to be put, and dutifully seasonal. Local sourcing is practiced but not at the expense of quality, two menus run alongside each other, the Main Menu, runs all year with quarterly tweaks and features dishes that have established Blakelands as a firm favourite with many diners. Dishes such as Steak & Ale Pie with the gravy made with local Enville Ale, which is also available in the bar, and Fillet or Sirloin Steaks sourced from Martin Thomas Butchers in Pattingham regularly receive comments about them being the best guests have ever had.Alongside the main menus runs the Seasonal A la Carte menu, as the name suggests, changed every 4 months with the season, the current Summer version offering such delights as hand beer battered cod fillet, again featuring Enville ale in the Batter, served with another Blakelands staple – hand cut, twice cooked chips. The Chef team, led by Head Chef Richard Kenny, constantly work to maintain a high standard resulting in a menu that caters to the tastes of the whole family, making it very popular for special occasions, birthdays and the like. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing