We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castletroy Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Savoy Hotel(Limerick)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Absolute Hotel(Limerick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pery's Hotel(Limerick)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
535
264
80
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
264
80
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tealovely hotelbar foodtop classwedding receptionleisure centrereception areawould highly recommend this hotelstaff were so friendlyfrom start to finishbar stafffunction roomfood was lovelybreakfast was excellentfamily roomcar parklimerick city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a mid week break this week, it was staffed by lovely people they were very kind and accommodating on all levels, special mention to Brian in bar and Milan in beauty salon a great wrap and discount of 20% for residents a free good sized swimming pool. smoking rooms and outside areas also food is great and room service.

It is an old hotel but is slowly being renovated and it suited our needs very well; excellent bathroom lots of hot water and good shower with, large fluffy white towels and Products. The bedroom was great good size with a window that opened all the way in lots of lovely air and two big beds with clean sheets and lots of good pillows. Large tv in room and tea and coffee also iron and board, trouser press too.

Smoking rooms and areas too thanks

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank annieboban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Annieboban
Firstly thank you for taking the time to review the Castletroy Park Hotel, We were yet again delighted to receive such a positive review complementing both members of our team and the range of leisure facilities on offer within the hotel.
We were delighted to learn that you were that you found the quality of the food on offer to be “Great”! and that you complemented our room service facility.
The Castletroy park hotel has been in existence for the past twenty years offering high levels of service to all our guests, and even though you enjoyed the comfort of your room we are excited to announce that our hotel is turning a page with an extensive renovation which is now almost complete on ground floor, however our new executive rooms that shall be available from the 1st of September of this year so we do hope to see you again at the Castletroy park hotel, for further information of reservations please fell free to contact me personally at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Pat Mc Donagh has already brought his mark to this hotel in both quality and excellence. We recently had a family meal in the Mclauglin restaurant and it was excellent from beginning to end. We had the end section of the dining room which in itself gave us great privacy away from everybody else. The meal was superb nothing was left to chance. They were generous with the root vegetables which tasted delicious. Their house red was very easy on the palate and resonably priced; the staff very both gracious, efficient and thorough. There was absolutely no hurry on us. They also left a nice spell of time between courses. So if you are solo or in a group this is a very nice place; reasonably priced and excellent quality all round

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Frank 2510

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal in our McLaughlin’s Restaurant. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the service in our restaurant. The area in towards the end of the restaurant best know as the “the bay” it may be reserved with advanced bookings and truly gives you “great privacy” be it for a family event or a business meal.

We are also delighted that you mentioned the wine which “was easy on the palate”, as we have only recently changed our wine list introducing a range of new age and old world wines and several wines sold by the glass.

Thank you also for mentioning our staff many of whom have been with the Castletroy Park since its opening and are truly do their best for every client.

Finally it is true that Pat Mc Donagh has brought his mark to the Castletroy Park Hotel, the hotel has just seen an extensive renovation both to the ground floor, the garden room and ballroom our aim is to now continue the renovation of other floors and also to improve on an already excellent standard of service at offer in our hotel.

We once again hope to see you here again soon at the Castletroy Park hotel and thank you for your review.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

When we arrived at the Hotel in our car the first sign we saw indicated hotel car park to right of the entrance so we drove around to this car park. With lots of luggage in hand we spied a sign indicating RECEPTION up stone steps and on through garden up other steps. We finally reached Reception puffed and irritated only to discover that had we driven past that sign we would have found a fine set down area and other car parks nearer front door. Stayed in this hotel for four nights in June. Rooms lovely,but no air conditioning which normally would not matter in this country but we were there during the glorious week in June and could have done with it. Reception area and ground floor areas are really comfortable. Food served all day in lounge and there is a lovely resturant. Food was superb and good value. Hotel is in a good location with Llimerick University across the road, with lovely grounds for walking and with a very good concert hall. While there we enjoyed an excellent performance of the" Three Sopranos". Overall we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend this hotel to our friends..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kats1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Ms Catherine12333,

Firstly thank you for reviewing the Castletroy Park hotel, we were delighted that you found our hotel to your liking.

Firstly we are happy that you found our hotel to be “really comfortable” and our rooms to be “lovely” despite the fact that there was no air-conditioning in your room which I am happy to inform you is currently being installed as a part of our extensive renovation.

It was also fantastic to hear that you also liked the ground floor of the hotel which has been newly renovated.

The Castletroy Park also prides itself by the quality of our menus whether in our award winning “Mcloughlin’s Restaurant”, the newly refurbished “Garden Room” our in our “Merry Pedlar” bar our guests and other clients can dine at their ease non-stop from 7am to 9:45pm.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed “The Three Sopranos” in the University Hall of Limerick which received fantastic reviews both locally and nationally.

Finally we would like to thank you for choosing the Castletroy Park hotel and we do hope to have you stay with us in the future, for availability or a reservation please do feel free to contact us at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie.



Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Myself, my wife and four young children decided to have a staycation this year, travelling from Galway heading north first and then down the east coast, down to cork and and Kerry, before hitting limerick as our last leg of the journey.
It was here in limerick on the 15th of June that we experienced our finest one and half hours of our holiday. After reading some descent reviews for the Castletroy Park hotel on trip advisor we decided to have a spot of lunch here.
The kids can be quite picky when it comes to food and jack our oldest boy has some food allergies but our waitress Michelle was so knowledgeable about the Manu and she catered to all the the kids needs, Michelle was also so good with the kids and made them laugh so much that they are still talking about her now that we're home. My wife and I also both loved our food, and Michelle's waitressing skills are just as good when it comes to serving adults too.
We've been lucky enough to eat in some fabulous restaurants around the world, but if you are looking for five star service and very good food, check out this little gem, and hopefully Michelle will still be working there and won't have been headhunter by the Ritz.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Paul O

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Castletroy Park hotel, we are delighted that you chose to stop off at our hotel for your lunch. We pride ourselves not only by the quality of our food but also by the professionalism and standards of service offered by the members of our staff. We were delighted to find in your review that it was here in the Castletroy park that you experienced your “finest one and a half hours” of your vacation largely contributed by Michelle, who took the time to explain the menu with respect to your sons allergies and also personalized your experience by making it enjoyable and memorable experience. It is also great to hear that having travelled extensively you enjoyed the food and service and are happy to recommend us. Finally we hope to see you when you next travel to Limerick and hope that you, your wife, Jack and other kids enjoy your next visit with us as much as the first.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is close to the University of Limerick and probably used by visitors to the University more than anyone.

Nice hotel with a great swimming pool much to my surprise.

Room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were average but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Canstantf,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are proud to be the only the only four star hotel in Castletroy that welcomes both leisure and business guests from the University of limerick and the surrounding areas.

We were delighted to hear of your surprise as to the many amenities we offer our guests such as our 20M swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym.

We are happy to hear that you found our bedrooms to be “large and comfortable”.

Finally we were surprised and disappointed to hear that you did not find our breakfast to be “exceptional” as we often receive many complements on our buffet banquette, our full Irish breakfast and our “A la carte menu” in our Mcloughlin’s Restaurant

We do hope to see you again on our hotel in the future for any further assistance or reservations please feel free to contact us at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie



Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews