We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very helpful staff!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here in late July because our daughter was playing in the Emerald Cup soccer tournament at the University. Flat out - this was a very nice hotel. The staff was extremely friendly - they were very eager to assist in any and every way possible; calling cabs, recommending things to do, etc. and a special shout-out to Lisa O'Farrell who arranged our Shannon-hotel taxi and answered LOTS of questions before we arrived. The restaurants were nice and the food very good. The room was just fine, always made up, fresh towels, etc., only minor complaint was some noise during the day for renovations (better than at night!). Perfect location for the University and cab ride was only 10 minutes into city center. My son used the fitness center and liked it, so that is another plus. Not sure when I will get back to Limerick, but I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazkazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear yazkazoo

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we were delighted to read such a fantastic review. We at the Castletroy Park take a certain pride in our team, many of whom have been with the hotel since it first opened and the quality of service on offer in our hotel. We were also delighted to read that you found our food to be “very good” and that you enjoyed location and surrounding amenities. We are delighted to inform you that a large number of the rooms at the Castletroy park have now been renovated and shall be available from the end of this month.
Finally we do hope that your daughter performed well at the emerald cup and we hope to see you again soon in limerick, for any future reservations please de feel free to contact Lisa or I (jgriffin@castletroypark.ie) as we would be delighted to see again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    232
    67
    22
    19
See reviews for
261
127
22
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Recently stayed 5 days at this hotel as they hosted my son's wedding reception and we had a wonderful time, we were fortunate to have a suite as parents of the groom, but other family members had other types of room and the standard was equally high across the accommodation. The staff are extremely friendly and very professional and the food, whether in the dining room or the bar and conservatory lounge, was top class, and the breakfast buffet was fantastic!
Needless to add, the wedding reception was absolutely perfect, at 51 years of age, it's the finest wedding I have ever been to.
Thank you to Fiona and all her team.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valandpete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear valandpete1

Thank you for taking the time to review the Castletroy Park hotel, we were delighted host your son’s wedding and are happy that you found it to be “the finest wedding “ that you had ever been to. We were also happy to learn that you found the food to be “top class” whether in the dining room, bar or conservatory.
Finally we happy to hear that both you and the wedding party were happy with your staying our hotel and found the different types of accommodation comfortable.
We do hope to see you again in the future at the Castletroy park hotel, for any further information or for a future reservation please do not hesitate to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

spent 3 nights here in this hotel.
good points: staff everywhere are friendly and helpful from reception to leisure centre staff; breakfast is great, plenty of choices - I'd recommend getting down early ~ 9am is the best time; leisure centre is fine, good pool, steam room/sauna/jacuzzi; location is great, 5 mins away from city centre and is the place to stay if visiting UL which is across the road; spar shop directly beside hotel is great for getting snacks; mini fridge is a great addition; brilliant shower with loads of hot water

bad points: hotel is grubby and lacking due care - it is more 3 star than 4, although it is due to be renovated so I'm sure this will be changed; attention to detail re finishings are dated and don't work ~ green carpet is patched and unprofessional looking; no music in bar so it is quiet at night with little to do

overall, this hotel is fine for a base and I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_K94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear N_K94

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted that you found so many positive to say about our hotel, Firstly we are delighted to receive so many positive remarks about our team and we are happy that customer care is one of our best attributes.
We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and you and your family enjoyed the different leisure facilities available at the hotel.
The Castletroy park hotel is proud to be directly opposite the entrance to the university of limerick and, as you rightly pointed out in your review we are “the place to stay” for people visiting UL. It is also good to know that thanks to the university, the grounds are accessible to all which is fantastic for leisure guests as they have many different trails for walking and cycling.
Also I am delighted to inform you that the Castletroy park hotel is currently undergoing an extensive renovation, The ground floor has undergone a transformation and that colors and furnishings now reflect a modern chic image and over the next few weeks 30 new rooms including a presidential suite shall be available, these rooms have undergone a massive transformation and will be more modern and comfortable for our guests.

We do hope to see you and your family return to the Castletroy park hotel in the future please to feel free to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We (2 adults & 3 kids aged 7,5 &1) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay overall. We met up with friends & they enjoyed their stay too. The hotel is clean. The staff are friendly. Some of the staff are quite young and seem to do their job "by the book", as in they wouldn't know how to add that homely or personal touch. One example, my friend wanted to change the filling in a sandwich but was told no. Silly really. Nice swimming pool. Kids were able to borrow goggles which was great. The rooms are very dated and I was worried about 5 of us in the one room but it was actually fine. I think they're redecorating the rooms at the moment. Kids went to kids club and really enjoyed it. The food was fine, nothing special but nothing awful. My main gripe was that the food was quite pricey, especially for the kids. Kids meal €7.00 with no dessert or drink or anything. Then for the evening tea we got them 2 ham sandwiches which cost €12.00 which I think is truly extortionate and reminds me of why I rather holiday abroad. Rip off Ireland at its finest. I was very disappointed at a family run hotel charging these prices. We did enjoy our weekend but left feeling a little robbed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TALKGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear TALKGalway,
Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience here at the Castletroy Park hotel, and that the amenities on offer here at the hotel were enjoyed by your family and that the leisure club team were able to lend you goggles needed to better enjoy this experience.
We were also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be “Friendly” and the hotel to be clean. We welcome your comment on the “Personal” touch and we have adapted our lunch menu to include a “Create your own sandwich” which is currently available on our menu.
The Castletroy Park is delighted to announce that we are currently renovating one third of our bedrooms and they shall be available from the end of this month, We do hope to see you return to the our hotel, please do feel free to contact me personally to help organize your reservation by mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Arrived at hotel and were made very very welcome by receptionist,Rooms were very very clean ,tea/coffee making facilities available in the bedrooms,also hairdryer,iron and ironing board,trouser press also available.Welcome pack from the hotel clearly displayed on table with lots of information on hotel facilities which include bar and restaurant,swimming pool,whirlpool,jacuzzi,steam room,sauna and also a beauty salon.very good prices on beauty packages which must be booked in advanced.

We had our evening meal in McLaughlin"s Restaurant,within the hotel and were greeted by a very friendly waitress called Louise who looked after us exceptionally well.The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the A La Carte menu was five star and very very good value just 30 euros for three courses.


The Merry Pedlar Bar was always very busy and the staff are all very friendly.Also very very clean place to dine.

The hotel offers free parking to all guests.I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends .We had a fantastic time and will definetely go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishStarUpTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front Of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear IrishStarUpTyrone

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted to hear that your front office team took the time to make you feel at home, and that you found the many utilities in the room such as the hair dryer, Iron and trouser press a benefit to your stay. We were also delighted to hear that your experience in Mclaughlin’s resturaunt to be just as enjoyable, and that Louise our resturaunt manager looked after you “Extremely well” and that you found our menu to be be not only great value for money but also 5 star!
We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our different amenities such as the bar and restaurant and the leisure facilities which include the resturaunt, swimming pool, Whirlpool Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.
Again many thanks for your wonderful comments, We do hope to see you return to the our hotel, please do feel free to contact me personally to help organize your reservation by mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed in the Castletroy Hotel for three nights on a Supervalu break, 2 adults and 2 children aged 11 & 12.
On our arrival the receptionist was welcoming. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and everything required is supplied. Only complaint was the heat in the room - really hot. We believe that aircon will be installed at some stage soon? One great thing, the walls in this hotel appear to be well soundproofed, it was really quiet, in some hotels you can hear the people in the next room switching on the lights!!
Breakfast was excellent, porridge served with cream and honey really nice. The cooked breakfast was fab also. No shortage of juice, croissants, bread etc....
The leisure centre is basic but clean and not too stuffy, like others we have been too. Really friendly helpful staff in the pool reception area.
The bar food is excellent value, give it a try before venturing further afield...we ate in Chungs Chinese across from the hotel the first night, much more expensive than the hotel bar food. Good bar staff but some could be a little warmer towards the customers.
On our third night, the waitress made a mistake with our order which led to my husbands dinner being served later than the rest of us. She apologised and discounted our bill....great customer service. We noted another family complaining that their childs meal was too spicy and the waiter handled it really well and brought her something else instead. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family. Thank you Castletroy Park for an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear AnnieBOD

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your three night stay in our hotel. We were happy to hear that the room and the different utilities made available were to your liking and that you noticed that our rooms have been soundproofed to a fantastic level, we are also happy to inform you that air-conditioning shall be available within days in our newly renovated rooms.
We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, that the little details in some dished such as the porridge did not go unnoticed, also that you enjoyed your cooked breakfast and that the buffet and its presentation were all to your liking. Also we were happy that you enjoyed the food available on our bar menu and that you found it good value for money.
Finally we would like to once again apologize for the error made in relation to your husband’s order on the third night however we are happy that it was dealt with in the appropriate manner.
Again thank you for your wonderful comments, I would welcome further information concerning the “bar staff that could be a little warmer towards the customers” however we do hope to see you return to the our hotel, please do feel free to contact me personally to develop your comments or organize your next reservation by mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossmaglen, co armagh
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

From our first day of arrival reception staff were so helpful with all our needs. We took our two girls swimming everyday and facilities including complimentary use of jacuzzi, steam, sauna rooms and gym were second to none.
Breakfast and meals in restaurant were of a 5 star nature. We availed of the in house kids club and the girls thoroughly enjoyed this and we got a chance to relish our meal in the Mclaughlins
Restaurant.
Rooms were meticulously maintained and we will certainly be back to this hotel and highly recommend this to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Michelle F

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted to receive such fantastic feedback in relation to our team and how they made you feel welcome at the hotel and also that the different amenities were enjoyed by you and your family.
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience in our Mc loughlins restaurant and that you found it to be of 5 star standards.
We at the Castletroy Park hotel pride ourselves by the levels of comfort and the cleanliness of our rooms and the public areas of the hotel and are delighted that you noticed.
We do hope to see you again at the Castletroy Park hotel please feel free to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
2.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Property: Castletroy Park Hotel
Address: Dublin Road | Limerick, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Brasserie, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing