We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day of our lives:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day of our lives:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had our wedding here on 31 at of August 2013 I really cannot put into words how happy we both were with the hotel the staff the room the food the service was outstanding. From the get go everything ran so smooth the staff were so friendly any queries I had they were happy to meet up or if we were unavailable to meet up all I had to do was pick up the phone or pop a quick email and they were on it and nothing was a problem. The week coming up to the wedding was quiet busy and the hotel are great to take the pressure off. I would highly recommend this hotel for any couples out there looking for a reception for there special day :) You will not be disappointed . The day of the wedding was magical the newly refurbished hotel is modern clean and cosy for all your guests. As for the staff on the day if I thought of something they had it done before I asked very efficient . Fiona and Mark were the managers on the day and our guests commented on how nice and friendly they were they even enjoyed the day themselves. I recently went back to the hotel to collect a few bits and was greeted with a smile from all the staff still wishing us well and congratulating us which was very nice. I would like to thank each and every one of the castletroy park hotel for making our day magical and everything we hoped for and more. Thank ye all so so much :)

Kind regards
Ruth & Dave

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Ruthie_h1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Mqnqger at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Ruth and Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to review your wedding that you had in the Castletroy Park last August. Many thanks for taking the time to complement both our sales team who help brides daily in the run up to their big event, and also our banqueting team who are there with you on the day who pride themselves with customer care and high standards of service that they offer. As you noted the Castletroy Park Hotel has recently been renovated and we are delighted to have the newest ballroom in Limerick for a beautiful event such as your wedding.
Let us once again take this opportunity to wish you both a wonderful future together, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    229
    66
    22
    18
See reviews for
252
126
21
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We took a group of 50 German visitors to Ireland and chose this hotel as our base. I have to say that as we approached it I was a little disappointed. I had thought it would be set in parkland, (as per name of hotel), and to see it set in something like a small shopping mall serving the University and local residents gave me a slight shiver of anxiety.
However, you enter a very spacious and grand reception area, which has an older style and feel to it, and you are impressed. The bar area is off to one side and again, is spacious, has lots of nooks and crannies to enable you to feel cosy, and has a style which made me think of grand 20th Century hotels.
The upstairs corridors are in the process of being redecorated, so in contrast to the reception area and downstairs corridors, they look a little tired.
The bedrooms were well furnished, the beds firm and comfortable. Views not great on account of the hotel's situation.
As with most hotels which have a pool and fitness suites, this one was open to membership for non guests, so you share the facilities, but nevertheless, everything was clean and the pool was big enough to get a decent swim. They have a sauna and a jacuzzi too.
The food was very good. Good choice considering the size of our group, and well presented and cooked.
No complaints about the wifi - I've met this system before and you just pick up the new password from reception when you pass by. Hardly a problem.
The thing that really made the hotel stand out though was the absolute friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. All the staff. They were absolute stars. They were friendly and helpful without being simpering or over the top with it, incredibly cooperative and accommodating of my requests at a time when they were dealing with a big conference as well as us. They sorted out client problems straightforwardly and simply. We all mattered to all of them.

If you want to go into the city from the hotel and don't have transport, then for an evening, you'd be best to take the bus or a cab. It's about 3km or so. There is a lovely riverside then canalside walk which you can access through the university campus, but it will take about an hour to do.

Room Tip: Sorry - there aren't any really good views or "best sides" on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Frankribs

Many thanks firstly for choosing our hotel in Castletroy for your group booking, It was an absolute pleasure to have both you and your group stay in our hotel. We are delighted to read such a positive review and be acknowledged as a cosy and comfortable hotel. Thank you firstly for complementing our Staff it is true that we pride ourselves by the customer service that we have to offer and do our best to please our clients. Also thank you for complementing the bedrooms, as you are aware the hotel has recently undergone an extensive renovation and before Christmas 60 bedrooms shall be newly decorated. Finaly we are delighted that you found the time to relax in our leisure club where a 20 meter pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna await all our guests.
We do hope to see you and your next group again over the coming months and look very much forward to meeting with you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very briefly stayed here the weekend of the 21st - found the hotel excellent in particular the reception staff and the girls were very good with an issue I had with wi-fi, didn't have dinner there due to a family event in town , found the pool great next morning and the breakfast was excellent all the food was fresh and hot ( not tired like some buffets I've expire dead in most hotels lately) couldn't really fault the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Sean L

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel , We are very pleased that you like the recent renovations to our hotel. We were also delighted to read that you enjoyed our leisure facilities which include a twenty five meter pool, Jacuzzi, Steam room, Sauna and aerobic and weights gym. With regard to the Wi-Fi problems that you have encountered please not that this service is now under review and we hope to propose a new more user friendly log in procedure in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for reservations or any other necessary information.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very quaint hotel, friendly staff, a little far from the city center. Rooms were clean, great size tub, loved the access to pool and sauna. Only complaint is you have to have a separate passcode for wifi for each device. Also the passcodes expire after 24 hours. So for a 5 day stay for phone and laptop you're looking at 10 passcodes, all of which require you call the front desk for three passwords, as well as setting up separate accounts with separate emails for each device. As a business traveler, this is a real pain in the butt. Other than that, great little spot.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HereOnBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear HereOnBiz

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and also taking the time to complement both our “quaint hotel, friendly staff “. We are delighted that you remarked the cleanliness of our hotel which for us is of upmost importance when proposing four star service to both leisure and corporate guests. Other guests have also commented on the WIFI, you hall be glad to hear that this service is currently under review therefore we hope to propose a more user friendly log-on procedure in the very near future. We do hope to see you soon in the near future at the castle troy park for any information or reservation with regard to a future stay please do not hesitate to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for b&b and an evening dinner . Where do I start . The pool is beautiful , very clean and not too noisy . We found the hotel equally clean and all the staff were the friendliest I have met . Dinner was superb and again service was truly brilliant . ( A but more beetroot on the warm goats cheese would be great ) Breakfast was amongst theHave to hit the sack early tonight ...Trish got a new nighty ....or maybe she can ware that track suit I got her best I have tried with everything very fresh unlike a previous review . Overall this is a fantastic hotel with great customer service and it is worthy of its 4 stars

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markdo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of house Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Markdo1
Thank for your excellent review, We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the many positive aspects of our hotel, The beautiful leisure club, The quality of the food, the friendliness of our team members. We are also delighted to read our breakfast was amongst the best you ave ever tried and that globally you found our hotel to be an enjoyable and comfortable experience
We would love to have you return to the Castletroy Park hotel for future reservations please do not hesitate to write to me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a nice hotel, the employees were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were large and comfortable. We were traveling with a group and dependent on buses for our transportation. This hotel is not within walking distance of any bars or restaurants, so we found it necessary to have our bus driver drop us off at a bar or restaurant and then call a taxi when we were ready to go home. Fortunately, there is renovation in the works, as the hall carpets were worn and there was peeling wallpaper. Hopefully, once the renovations are done, this place will be restored to its beauty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFool05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of house Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear TravelingFood05

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is always with great pleasure that we welcome international guests. Our hotel is about 2.5 miles from the city center that guests can easily access by either the public bus that passes directly in front of the hotel or by taxi. I am also happy to confim that the renovations have concluded and our new executive bedrooms are available for hire online and both by calling our hotel. We do hope to see you again at the Castletroy Park Hotel why not next year when limerick shall be city of culture 2014, for further information or reservations please do not hesitate to write to me on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay here because it was a four star and it suited me to stay this side of the city. Initially, the hallways up to the rooms (140s) were quite old and musky but once I got into the room it was all nice and modern. There was a wedding in that night and because we were directly above it, it was very noisy. I would advise staying on the 2nd floor. Breakfast the following morning was disgusting. Nothing was fresh, everything was overdone and the service was horrible. The waitress never acknowledged us even though we wished her good morning. The only positive thing here was that the room service we ordered was lovely and the waiter was extremely pleasant. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Brian T
Thank you for taking the time to review the Castletroy Park Hotel, I am happy to read that you found your room to be “all nice and modern” although disappointed by the corridor please rest assured that these have now been renovated and are now decorated with modern prints. As noise has been an issue in the pas the newly renovated ballroom has now been soundproofed so as that guest may enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep. In relation to your comment on service please note that this is not the standard in our hotel please do feel free to comment further my mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
2.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Property: Castletroy Park Hotel
Address: Dublin Road | Limerick, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Brasserie, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing