We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Greystones Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I spent one night here on January 21st 2014 with my daughter and her partner on the eve of her graduation from the university of Limerick. The comments are limited to the room facilities and interactions with staff as we arrived too late to eat and we had booked room only so did not take breakfast.
The staff were pleasant, welcoming and efficient.
Parking is available and free.
The rooms were clean and well appointed, though chilly on arrival. The beds were made with traditional sheets and blankets with a bedspread rather than duvets and were reasonably comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room - standard tea and instant coffee. The bathroom had a bath and in bath shower. The shower had good pressure and a good range of temperatures. The shower gel provided was of good quality (Gilchrist and Soames). During the night the room was quiet, no disturbance by external noises. The only issue we had with the room was with the number and location of electrical sockets.Most of the sockets in the room were unusable as they were the wrong size. Unplugging a light on one side of the room freed up two useable sockets some distance from the bed - rather awkward if you use your phone as an alarm and like to keep it by the bed. Internet was another issue. It is provided free of charge, but via vouchers obtained from hotel reception. The wifi is provided by bitbuzz, so going online means logging into the service and entering the voucher code which is good for 24 hours. The internet speed was good, but the drawback with this service is that only one device can be used, so laptop users wanting to use the laptop and also a smartphone or tablet will be disadvantaged. I am aware this is a "first world" problem, but it could be an issue for some people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm10greystones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    236
    69
    22
    19
See reviews for
261
131
22
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cahir, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stopped off at the Castletroy Park Hotel this afternoon looking for some lunch! It was busy but the staff were friendly, efficient and most helpful......we had a noisy boisterous 2 year old with us...... There was great choice on the menu and the food was extremely tasty.....and it was excellent value for money!!! My 2 year old was certainly very happy with her dinner and she can be very fussy!!! We'll certainly be visiting Castletroy Park again.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear TFK2014

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel, we are delighted that you decided to take the time to have lunch at our hotel and that you found our staff to be “Friendly, efficient and most helpful”.
We are delighted that you brought along your two children along with you, our hotel is very family friendly and welcome not just parents but also children with open arms, we look forward to welcoming you back.
For future reservations in our restaurant please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant manager personally on lcasey@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed by the hotel. The staff seem a step above any other hotel in Ireland, except a 5 star hotel I stayed in years ago. The bar staff, to restaurant to reception - young to old across the board they were exceptional. The room was lovely only problem I didn't get to stay in it long enough. I didn't get use the pool but I believe well worth a visit. The only fault I did have was the breakfast. It was extremely salty and a very strong pork taste. I was surprised as I'd eaten lunch and dinner the day before and both were excellent. Again, the standard of hospitality and service was exceptional. I've already booked to stay again as it's so convenient to the college.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abmGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear abmGalway

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you complemented our team saying that they are “a step above any other hotel” in Ireland, we must admit that we are very proud of our team who strive daily to insure customer satisfaction and the highest standards that we are building towards are insured. We are also delighted to read that you liked your room and hope that next time you will have more time to enjoy both it and the hotel.
Finally thank you also for complementing our food both at lunch and dinner. With regard to breakfast should you wish either sausage or rashers “well done” please do not hesitate to request this from your table and we shall be happy to make your dish to your liking in the kitchen.
We look forward to seeing you again at the Castletroy Park Hotel should you require further information or wish to reserve directly please do not hesitate to contact me personally at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I celebrated my sons christening here in Dec 2013. The service we received from the day I contaced the hotel about organising the event to the day of the event was fantastic. Frances was very prompt in replying to all my queries via email (as I lived abroad). On the day our group of 17 could not praise the hotel and staff highly enough. The staff were so friendly, efficient and obliging and nothing seemed to be a bother to them. The food we had was mouth watering from starter to dessert and again no complaints.
I would highly recommend the castletroy park hotel as they made a potentially stressful event (as we had just flown in from australia the day before) a very pleasant, relaxed and enjoyable one. Thank you !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank noelleoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Noelleoreilly,

Firstly many thanks for your five star review, We are delighted that Frances from our sales team was there to assist you in helping to organize your christening from a distance. We are delighted that this event was a great success not only for you but your family and guests.
Thank you also for kindly complementing our team, who daily strive for client satisfaction and attention to detail.
Thank you also for complementing the quality of food on offer described as “mouthwatering”, Our Head Chef, Who joined the Castletroy Park hotel several months ago has changed much including our menus for the positive.
Finally we do hope to see you and your family again at the Castletroy Park hotel, Please feel free to contact either Frances or I (jgriffin@castletroypark.ie) for any enquires or future reservations.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Called in today to get food at aprox 2pm with my husband and daughter we sat at a table and were given menu and high chair for the child we then spent the next 10 minutes trying to get the attention of the 4-5 staff to order it was not particularly busy at the time in there after waiting 15 minutes and no one coming to take our order we decided to leave and eat elsewhere Staff just ignored us

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cwalsh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Cwalsh01,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review. As I am sure you can appreciate Christmas is an extremely busy time of year and our hotel having been recently renovated attracted even more interest. We are disappointed to read your dissatisfaction with regard to the time that you spent waiting for service and would like to welcome you back to our hotel so that you appreciate our hotel and the standard of service that our clients are used to.
Please feel free to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

At a Christmas party night on the 17th December, I was most impressed by the beautiful room assigned to us, it was magical. The Staff were so friendly and helpful, all young Irish people, full of enthusiasm. The Manager checked with us several times to see if everything was to our satisfaction. The food was absolutely superb (most people went for the traditional turkey and ham) I never had such a nice piece of turkey,lovely and moist and hot and the gravy was so tasty. Since the hotel was bought during the year, refurbishment has started and it is going from strength to strength. Members of my family who visited us during the Summer stayed there and they only had good things to say, they had a lovely new room and they said their breakfast was most enjoyable. Well done to the new Owners and very best wishes with your new venture.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Totso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Totso,

Many thanks for your excellent review, We are delighted to read that you were very impressed by “the beautiful room assigned” also describing it as magical. Thank you also for complementing our staff whom are, as you remarked all “full of enthusiasm”.
We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed your Christmas dinner and that you ”never had such a nice piece of turkey”.
Also we are delighted to note that when your family visit this region they have in the past chosen our hotel and we truly hope that they continue to reserve our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future reservations or should you have any specific requests by mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A group of friends & I attended a Christmas party night at the hotel recently and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We had a lovely relaxing drink in the lobby beforehand and it's done up beautifully as was the function room. The meal was gorgeous and the band, 'Traffic' were really brilliant. The Staff were all lovely too. When the refurbishments are fully complete it will make it a very stylish & comfortable hotel. I will go back for afternoon tea next!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Emma H

Thank you for your excellent review, We are delighted that your Christmas party was such a success and that you enjoyed the newly renovated Castletroy park Hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to have mentioned your team who are dedicated to customer care and client satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends for afternoon tea, for future reservations please feel free to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,910 reviews
2.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,455 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
378 reviews
2.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Property: Castletroy Park Hotel
Address: Dublin Road | Limerick, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Brasserie, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing