We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in a few months back and i must say i was shocked. First of all we checked in went up to our room where we found the bed was not mad,food on the table and a key card with someone elses name on it.We went down and told reception and got a upgrade which was nice to be fair.Next we got ready to go to the bar what can i say service terrible bartenders had heads down not taking any notice of anyone outside think there was 3 plus a manager who seemed to be doing all the work.We got menus which was a bad idea i had to go to the bar to order the when food came out i ordered a chicken curry which i sent back as there was a smell off it i kept the chips as only think i could eat there.So for me ill never stay there again i will not be recommanding this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looney87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear looney87

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
As you can imagine we are disappointed that you had such a negative experience in our property which is clearly not reflected by the vast majority of guests.
Unfortunately rather than try to have one of our managers rectify what may have been an error on our behalf in the traditional manner you decided to wait a few months and post what can only be described as a disappointing and vague review.
Having searched our internal records I am unable to find a reservation that reflects the description of your review, therefore I would like to invite you to write to me personally so as that I discuss further your stay at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    229
    66
    22
    18
See reviews for
252
126
21
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a few days when visiting family, the rooms were spacious and clean. The room service breakfast was top class and the selection on the dinner menu was great too. There is a large swimming pool at the hotel however we did not use this, and also a general convenience store located nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear James L

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we were delighted to hear that during your break with us you found the volume of our bedrooms to be generous. We were delighted to read that you had time to enjoy the leisure amenities which include a 20 meter swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Steam room, Sauna and large hotel gym. Thank you also for complementing the food at both breakfast and dinner. Finally we hope to welcome you again in the future to the Castletroy Park hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me personally by mail at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie with any eventual question or reservation needs.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were involved in the Great Limerick Races being organized by John Cleary. The Castletroy Park Hotel was close enough to the start and finish of the races as well as the Expo and children's races at Limerick University. It was also just a short walk to the Catholic Church for Mass. The food was excellent as was the service. Whenever we needed any kind of help, the staff was most accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Limerick area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank patsav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear patsav1

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we cater to many north American guests and your opinion is very important. The Castletroy Park Hotel is located directly opposite the entrance to the university of limerick and UL’s sports arena that is home to many important sporting events and we are delighted to have a fantastic working relationships with events such as the great limerick run and sports associations such as Swim Ireland, The GAA and Munster rugby.
Our hotel is located half way between the M7 (motorway linking Shannon airport & Limerick to Dublin) and the city center. And guests that do not drive can either access the city center with a short taxi ride or bus journey.
By foot our guests can enjoy the well groomed grounds of the University of Limerick, The banks of the river Shannon and use the local amenities such as pharmacy, bank (with ATM) and church.
Finally thank you for complementing our kind and welcoming team who daily try to better the experience of each individual person that we like to call our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again as the great limerick run is an annual event if you wish to contact me personally please feel welcome, jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent spot. Great facilties. Nice for a short getaway.Lovely hotel located very close to the university of Limerick. Fantastic buffet breakfast and bar food value for money. Very friendly staff through out the hotel and always willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear doose10

Many thanks for your Five star review of our property. Thank you for complementing both our location and the facilities that our hotel has to offer. We are happy that you chose to stay in our property and that the our newly renovated property was to your liking. Thank you also for complementing our both the food in our bar and restaurant, affirming that our hotel offers excellent value for money with different offers in different areas of the hotel catering for different budgets.
Thank you for complementing the many members of our team who daily offer a very high standard of personalized customer care. Finally should you wish to contact me personally with regard to a future stay please do not hesitate to write to me on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

stayed 3 days at this excellent hotel near limerick city.cannot say enough to praise the management and staff during what was an extremely busy weekend at the hotel. many happy memories of my stay. thank to all. greg ryan thomandgate

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Greg R

Thank you for your five star review and complementing our team that you met during your three day stay for a convention in limerick. It was with great pleasure that we welcomed you to our hotel and were delighted to be your hotel of choice for your last trip to limerick city.
For any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact our reservations supervisor on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo,Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely hotel located very close to the university of Limerick. Fantastic buffet breakfast and bar food value for money. Very friendly staff through out the hotel and always willing to help. Family rooms fit double and 2 singles but would be tight to add a cot. Swimming pool clean and very good facilities.
The hotel is very comfortable and very warm. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard and had a little fridge which is very important when travelling with children.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castlemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Castlemum

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted to read that you found us to be a “lovely hotel”. Thank you also for complementing our “very friendly staff” one of our objectives is to be highly personable with a strong focus on customer care.
Our Family rooms (not as yet renovated) offer a Double and single bed however we do not sell this room with a cot unless requested by the guest as you are correct it is not a standard of comfort that we wish to offer.
Thank you for complementing our leisure club, this team lead by Suzanne have been very focused on hygiene and it is rewarding to see this reflected in your review.
For any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Although I didn't stay overnight at the hotel, I just wanted to write a quick review about the tea and scones I had here in the foyer with my mother this morning! It was €10 for both of us, the fruit scones were divine (one was slightly underdone, and when we pointed it out to the waitress she was very apologetic and swapped it quickly), it came with butter, little pots of jam, lots of cream and the teapot didn't drip! Very friendly staff and clean and bright - I'm looking forward to finding an excuse to go back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grainne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Grainne P

Many thanks for your review, Tripadvisor is not reserved for guests that stay in a hotel but is an open forum both for hotels and restaurants so your review is most welcome.
We are delighted to read that our staff member quickly rectified the situation with your scone, sometimes it is disappointing to see reviews posted by clients that fail to pass comment in person to later write an opinion online for something that could have been rectified immediately such as yours.
We too would be delighted to welcome you back to the Castletroy Park hotel in the future, and if you are looking for an excuse we are about to introduce Newby of London tea, a loose for tea in several amazing flavors that should see you revisit.
Should you have any further remarks or questions please do not hesitate to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
2.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Property: Castletroy Park Hotel
Address: Dublin Road | Limerick, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Brasserie, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing