We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for young kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castletroy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
649 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Good hotel for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Located well outside centre so suits people with cars
Quick check in
Nice looking hotel
Great warm pool but a bit shallow
Comfy beds
Nice bar
Good free wifi
Good breakfast
Quick checkout
Many TV channels
Good value too but check rates in a few places including ringing hotel

Limerick itself is not a great place
While it's reputation as Ireland's murder capital has waned greatly.
it's police (Garda) are aggressive and target motorists continuously on the approach motorways for speeding fine revenue and anything else they can get away with.
Another example of their attitude was last year they dressed up female police as street prostitutes who approached random men offering sex for money in the city centre streets.
If the men accepted they were arrested and brought to court
A combination of a Middle Ages type extreme catholic city council, and judge resulted in the court naming and publishing all these 30 men's names in the local rag paper as well as fines!!!
No I was not one!
Anyway enjoy limerick but don't speed or stay long,or be lured by police honey traps!
Go to cork,Dublin,Galway,or even Kerry instead.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    225
    65
    21
    18
See reviews for
241
126
21
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Castletroy Park Hotel in June, while attending the Special Olympics. The welcome was very friendly and directions to the venue were offered straight away.
The room was fresh and specious, with housekeeping every day for the 3 days we stayed. Plenty of fresh towels and toiletries replenished as needed.
The bar in the hotel was busy every evening as many parents, family members and volunteers stayed in the hotel for the duration of the games. The friendly atmosphere was very enjoyable.
We had breakfast in the hotel every morning which was very pleasant and plentiful.
We used the pool area every evening, which was spotless, although the lockers need to be repaired or replaced. Towels were provided.
Overall our stay was very enjoyable, in comfortable surroundings and the staff and facilities were top rated. We would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunnyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. The room was fine, unfortunately we didn't get a done up room and thus the room we got was not of 4 star standard. I'm very aware of the refurbishments going on it was just disappointing to see.

The lobby area and conservatory were beautiful, as was the beauty rooms and the pool area.

The one thing that let this trip down tremendously was the food and the wait staff. The first night we got there we had dinner which was unseasoned and very disappointing. We got lunch one of the days, the waiter ignored us and we even moved seats to catch his attention but to no avail. Eventually after 20 minutes, and the waiter having gone on lunch, a lovely lady came over to take our order. It wasn't her fault at all as she only came in to take over his break, but he was a disgrace. The final morning we went in to have breakfast and we ordered the eggs benedict, to which the muffin underneath the eggs was mouldy. I then told the wait staff and they did nothing for us, instead he came back and just acted really immature telling us a joke. Not only was the first meal bad but I had ordered the pancakes and they were completely shop bought, not at all what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

The trip was nice with a comfortable room, but the food and some of the staff were not. Management would seriously want to make a few adjustments in the kitchen area, especially for breakfast time!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Castleroy Park Hotel for a business trip, and was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and hotel staff. My room looked like it had been recently renovated, and was tastefully decorated with a minimalist, modern decor. The room was also air-conditioned, which was wonderful given the high temperatures during my visit. The staff at the front desk were also very helpful and more than happy to assist with various requests, and the free wifi was also nice. The food at breakfast was good, and included a nice selection of fresh fruits and breads. I did not use the spa, gym, or pool, so cannot comment on them. The only minor complaint I would note is that the waiters in the Merry Pedlar restaurant were a bit slow at times. Otherwise I have no complaints and would definitely recommend the hotel for anyone staying in Limerick (particularly those visiting the university campus, which was within walking distance).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilius77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

stayed for two nights, on arrival only parking was in lower carpark..had to bring my case up two sets of steps to what appeared to be a back boor into the hotel!!.. there was no disabled parking marked anywhere around the hotel..I thought in this day and age it was a legal requirement? room was shabby, old furniture painted a dull gray to match the walls, when you showered floor was drenched (seal on shower screen?)..bathroom door stop located where you step out of the shower, hurt my foot on this !..water would not stay in sink basin..washer on plug worn! as I am disabled found the parking thing annoying, each morning loads of non disabled cares were parked almost up to the front door..yet I was told to park to the side of the hotel! the day I was leaving had to bring my case out through the rain to where I was parked, the hotel `Concierge` watched me struggle with it but ignored me and hid under his umbrella! I would not consider this to be a 4 star hotel..and would not recommend it nor stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

A year makes, twelve months since our last visit here, and now apparently under new ownership, this hotel is showing the kind of improvements needed to regain its former stature.

The top floor rooms have been re-furbished to a very nice standard with, best of all, individually controlled air conditioning, fittings and furnishings have been renewed and look very well.

Yes there are areas still in need of attention but given time no doubt those will be seen to.

The food in both the restaurant and bar was very good and for someone like me who detests breakfast food being warmed in those horrible hot bins you can have your breakfast served to your table by just asking the waiting staff.

A mention of Joe, Matt and Andrew in the bar, Donna on reception and Fiona on management for their terrific service with a smile and all round ability.

No hesitation in giving this hotel and its staff a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Neilevan,

Many thanks for your glowing review, needless to say it was a pleasure to read. Our hotel is indeed under new ownership and management and we have brought the hotel in a new direction, thanks to an important investment from the proprietor the hotel has seen over half its bedrooms renovated but also the ballroom, reception and the garden rooms have all enjoyed an extensive rejuvenation.
As you correctly pointed out in your review this project is not finished, there are future plans to renovate our bar (10 to the 20th of August), Restaurant (to include a new breakfast room), Leisure club and remaining bedrooms. However Rome was not built in a day and renovations have been carefully scheduled to cause as little disruption to our clients as possible. And on the up side clients that wish to reserve one of our classic (non-renovated) rooms they currently enjoy a discounted rate.
Thank you for also complementing many members of our team who will be delighted as we are to read this review, also for pointing out that in our hotel we are more than happy to offer a personalized service to cater for each customers requirements.
Finally thank you for complementing this project we are delighted that you appreciate the both the higher standards of comfort and service.
We hope to welcome you back to the Castletroy Park hotel in the future please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor by mail lofarrell@castletroypark.ie for a personalized reservation.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I only stayed over for a night in this lovely find as I had some business in the area. The hotel was splendid staff couldn't be helpful enough and a nice early breakfast to the room was fabulous. The room service food was also enjoyable.

I had an amazing stay before arrival I had requested a quiet room and this is exactly why I was presented with.

Would return when I have a bit more leisure time and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Globetrotter201026

Many thanks for such a delightful review, we were happy to hear that we were your hotel of choice when staying in this region. Thank you aslo for complementing both our team and dining facilities found in our property.
We are happy also that your request for a quiet room was taken into consideration and that this helped make your stay more enjoyable.
We also hope to see you return to the castletroypark hotel in the future please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor by mail on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie who will be happy to help you with any future reservations.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
2.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Property: Castletroy Park Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Merry Pedlar Bar, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated 2nd floor of bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing