We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but shame the restaurant was not open.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Overall I would recommend this hotel. The staff are very friendly. The facilities such as the bar, swimming pool and steam room are excellent. We stayed in the Presidential Suite and it was worth paying extra. I would have given the hotel a 5 but the restaurant was not open due to problems with the kitchen. As we booked two days in advance the hotel website should have made this clear.
Would I go back? Yes but I would recommend checking with the hotel what is open especially as the hotel is going through a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Woodford R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Thanks so much Lee, Fiona, Nicola and all the staff for a wonderful time spent at your hotel for our recent wedding celebrations. The venue was terrific. The ambience,accomodation and the food were second to none, and was complimented on by all our guests. The staff were most helpful and efficient. Overall the attention to detail was second to none. We would have no hesitation recommending the Castletroy Park as an amazing wedding venue.
Thank again, Bernard & Keara.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BJL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a most enjoyable lunch there on Saturday as I was visiting a friend in the nearby Castletroy Nursing home
The staff were helpful and courteous
The food was very good and very nicely presented and tasted as good as it looked

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JOANce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear JOANce
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience in our property. We were delighted to read that this was a positive experience and that both you and your friend had an enjoyable time together.

Thank you for complementing your meals presentation and taste, and finally our team members who were “helpful and courteous”.

We do hope to see you return to the Castletroy Park Hotel for reservations please do not hesitate to call 061335566.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Thanks for a great stay,good,value for money and fantastic breakfast buffet would recommend to all only criticism is that more staff required in bar/food area we used our base in limerick to travel out to the west coast ideal

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 387Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear 387Marco

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property and paying many complements such as “Good value”, great place to stay, and also complementing our “fantastic” breakfast buffet.

Our hotel is often used as a hub hotel to visit legs of the wild Atlantic way from as far as Cork to Mayo, we hope that this trip has not left you indifferent given the amazing views and nature available on the western coast of Ireland.

It would be with great pleasure that we welcome you back to the Castletroy Park Hotel for your next trip to the west coast of Ireland, for reservations please do not hesitate to contact “Lisa” our reservations supervisor by mail on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent one night here while vacationing with two adults and two teens. The room was comfortable with two queen sized beds and a large bathroom. The hotel has a casual pub/restaurant in which we found the food to be very good. It also has a nice indoor swimming pool which we used.
We did not find many restaurants or attractions within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is very comfortable with a nice sitting area just off the lobby. The free Wi-Fi in the room worked well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Paul C

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property we were delighted to read that you chose our property when vacationing in the area, Thank you for complementing our bedrooms which are our newly renovated “twin deluxe” bedrooms found on the second floor.

As mentioned in your review there are two dining options available in our property, the first our bar that offers tasty good value dishes for clients that may be more time sensitive, the second option is Mcloughlin’s restaurant that offers both “à la carte” and “table d’hôte” menu’s and a large wine list for clients that have more time to relax and enjoy their meal.

We are also happy to read that you had the time to enjoy our leisure club facilities which include a twenty meter pool, Jacuzzi, Steam room, Sauna and massage rooms.

We do hope that if you choose to visit our are again that you choose our property for your vacation, for a more personalized reservation please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

i recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel in the last few weeks. i have stayed here before ..... myself and a schoolfriend often meet up and we always stay here. we have stayed here in the past and always have had a very enjoyable experience from relaxing in the conservatory with a glass of wine to going for a swim in the hotels leisure centre. i could not envision the hotel could improve yet with the recent refurbishments it has brought the hotel up to date with its more modern decor. while we stayed we had the pleasure of witnessing a marriage ceremony taking place on the grounds of the hotel. i was very impressed at the professionalism of the staff dealing with this and also the ideal location for and outside ceremony in the hotels garden. keep up the good work i look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neady84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear neady84

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are delight to read that our property is your hotel of choice when meeting your school friend. We are delighted to read that you take the time the different amenities that our property has to offer from relaxing in the conservatory with a glass of wine to going for a swim in in our twenty meter indoor pool.

We are also delighted to read that the recent renovations of our property are to your liking and that you find the new décor tasteful.

Finally thank you for complementing the professionalism of our different team members who together have tried to raise the standard of customer care and client satisfaction available in our property.

We do hope to see you again at the Castletroy Park Hotel for any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact “Lisa” our reservations supervisor at lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Clearly undergoing refurbishment as the public areas were modern clean and beautiful. My bedroom however was tired and dated. The fuse in my room blew and I was left without electricity, but the minute I reported it it was fixed!

Breakfast was high quality and I liked the hot food being made to order rather than been left in buffet trays.

Perfectly fine as a business hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank loopysilvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear loopysilvette,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property, we are delighted to read that the extensive renovations are to your liking, A large percentage of our bedrooms have indeed been renovated and the images of these rooms together with the older “classic” rooms are available on our website and the third party websites that sell our property.

Although the older “classic” rooms are still available at a discounted rate the rooms marketed toward the “business” travelers are our newly renovated Executive rooms.

Finally thank you for complementing our decision to change our mid-week breakfast from buffet to service, this was motivated by reviews both in-house and on tripadvisor.

Finally we hope to see you back at the Castletroy Park Hotel, for a personalized reservation please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,017 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,197 reviews
1 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
420 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Address: Dublin Road | Limerick, Castletroy, Limerick V94 Y0AN, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range: £87 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Brasserie, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing