We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lovely hotel, great value, friendly staff. Rooms were cleaned daily, family rooms quiet spacious, beds very comfortable. Food was excellent, plenty of choice. Good family hotel. Good location 5 minute drive from limerick city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eils2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Eils2244,

On behalf of our Team and I thank you for such a nice review, Thank you for complementing our “Lovely hotel”, our team and the excellent value for money on offer in our property.

We are delighted to read that you found our bedrooms to be comfortable, spacious and clean.

Our property as you have pointed out is a short drive from the city center whoever we are located directly opposite the University of limerick which is tripadvisor’s number one attraction for our town.

Finally we hope to see you and your family in our property in the future, for a personalized reservation please does not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor by mail on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    243
    70
    22
    19
See reviews for
267
137
22
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent a couple of nights here and found the rooms comfortable and clean ! The staff were friendly and helpful and were attentive without being intrusive. The DInner menu was varied and interesting, and the diningroom staff were efficient and very helpful . Food was well proportioned and tasty. Breakfast was served the first morning by a charming young girl who was on work exp. From a local School and she was great! The second morning it was buffet. Was very good both days ! My only gripe is the location! Car is a must, nothing within walking distance except a ghost Town!

Room Tip: Far away as possible from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sean N

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We were happy to read your kind complements with regard to your room, our team and their approach to service, and our different dining facilities.

Finally our property is located a few minutes from the city center and this is indicated on all websites however the hotel works closely with two different taxi companies to insure the fastest service possible service a bus route also passes the front door of our hotel offering a very frequent rotation of buses.

Finally I hope that you had the time to visit the University of Limerick which is Limerick number one visitor attraction, offering its center for sports excellence and various walks and bike tracks through their beautiful grounds.

We do hope that you return to our property in the future, for a personalized reservation please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our Reservations Supervisor on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Castletroy for a wedding and enjoyed it very much. Our room was very comfortable, with three beds for three adults. There are tea & coffee making facilities and room service is efficient. We had a problem with the telephones which was addressed and fixed straight away. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Family members staying in a room for 'disabled' found it basic. Management assured us this was to be addressed in their refurb! The breakfast was tasty and ample. Food in the bar was good. The price was fair and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room though friends who stayed near the lifts said it was noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: Average, nothing out of the ordinary was evident, other than towel washing efficiencies
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norflondoner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear norflondoner2011

Thank you for you review of our property, we were delighted to read that you found our family rooms to be comfortable, and that the amenities that were provided in your room were to your liking.
Please accept our apologies with regard the telephone problem that you encountered however I am happy to read that this problem was immediately rectified.
Thank you for complementing our team who are clearly focused on client service and satisfaction.
In our refurbishments there are plans to include eight accessible rooms however in accordance with health and safety these must be on the lowest floor and are therefore planned for the first floor renovations.
Thank you also for complementing your dining experience, and complementing our food as being good value for money.
Finally our property has been awarded the Ecolabel Certificate for our many green features many of which are not always evident, we have installed a CHP unit, use both LED and low wattage bulbs, we separate our refuse (clients included) so that paper, glass, metals and other refuse can either be recycled or disposed and in our offices we have taken many positive steps to reduce both energy and printing which has been reduced by almost half.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have stopped here quite a few times for a feed on the way to Thomond Park, but it had been years since I stayed.

My fiancee and I stayed here for one night while heading to the rugby in Limerick. The hotel is decorated really nicely and to quite a high standard. The reception staff were efficient and friendly and kindly sent up a new kettle when it tripped the switch! The rooms are spacious and the beds comfy. Delighted to find it equipped with an efficient air con system.

The food in the bar was nice and quite good value. My seafood linguine was a little spicier than I expected, and the fajitas are disappointing to be frank. The tortilla's were hard and chewy and I am pretty sure the chicken and my pasta were cooked in the same sauce.... The bar staff were very friendly though.
Breakfast was a bit disappointed. Some very greasy food and not very helpful when I asked for some poached eggs. Very few healthy options on the continental breakfast and virtually no fruit available.

The hotel is located outside Limerick city a bit, but it is not too far, and worth it to not end up in dodgy part of Limerick (which has happened me before! See review of Malton!!!) Plenty of free parking available too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Orla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Orla B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, We are delighted that we were your hotel of choice when visiting limerick for a rugby event.

Firstly thank you for complementing our team and their friendly and courteous disposition.
We were happy to read that you find our renovations to be tasteful and comfortable, complementing the genourous size and comfort of our bedrooms. We ate happy that you also noticed that we have installed independent air-conditioning and heating to each bedroom.

With reference to your meal in our bar and breakfast in our restaurant, would you please be so kind as to contact me by mail at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie so that I may ask a further question and rectify a potential problem.

We hope to see you again at the Castletroy Park Hotel, for a personalized reservation please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our Reservations Supervisor by mail on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

To be honest I thought the hotel could have been better.
Breakfast was fairly average. The side plate on my table had a hair on it.
The room we had was only ok. From the description of it I was expecting it to be more plusher.
The broadband in the room was not great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had to travel to Limerick on short notice in June and I found an excellent value deal for one night at the hotel. We've had lunch in the bar many times before on arriving in Limerick, but this was the first time we actually stayed at the hotel. The check-in experience was lovely, very friendly and welcoming. We had lunch in the bar, the food is always lovely. We didn't have dinner at the hotel that night but had breakfast the next morning in the restaurant, and I loved the décor and vibe. The breakfast itself was lovely, great choice and really enjoyed it, and kept thinking to myself, that I hope to have dinner there on a return visit. There is also a gorgeous conservatory area where we have had coffee and light bites a few times before and again, I love the décor, the colours and furniture are all really tasteful. I am back-tracking now to reception area, but need to mention the lobby is also decorated lovely! Great colours, and there is just such a warm welcoming vibe to it. I also got a chance to have a quick swim, and found the leisure staff to be very helpful and friendly (I was cutting it fine to fit in a swim before they closed up). Again, I look forward to returning and having more time to check out the gym etc.but from my quick walk-through everything seemed fine and the gym was a good size, as was the pool. Lastly, the bedroom was nice and welcoming, traditional décor although I understand there are still some renovations being done, so the bedrooms may get updated, but I have to say I was happy as there is something about this hotel which makes you feel at home! Exactly what I like when I visit a hotel and I personally would agree that it lives up to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Pollyhop

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, Needless to say we are very happy that having used our different dining facilities you decided when travelling to limerick to use our property.
Thank you for complementing your different dining experiences whilst staying at the Castletroy Park Hotel, both lunch in our (now newly renovated) bar and Breakfast in our Mc Laughlins restaurant.
Thank you also for complementing the renovations to our property, complementing the choice of colors and renovations as “warm” “tasteful” and “welcoming”.
We are happy that you had the time (although limited) to enjoy our leisure club however we do hope that when you return to the Castletroy Park hotel that you will have a bit more time to enjoy both our leisure club and the beauty rooms.
Finally thank you for paying us what may be one of the nicest complements, offering guests a home away from home is what hospitality is about and we are delighted to have touched you in this way.

For any future stays please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor by mail on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was at a wedding in this hotel. I booked a family room for 3 family members. The room was a little small and basic but it was fine for the small amount of time spent there. The gym/pool facilities were good and were a great addition for the morning after.
The highlight for me was the food. I know that menus depend on the happy couple, but our meal was top class. I had monk fish wrapped in Parma ham. The second choice for a main was beef. There were no complaints at our table about that either.
Anyone planning a wedding in the Limerick area should consider this hotel. Easy to find, accessible parking, pool facilities, great food, good atmosphere.

Room Tip: family room consisted of two single beds and a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachidIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear RachidIrland

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and paying many complements such as it being “easy to find, accessible parking, pool facilities, great food, good atmosphere”.
We were delighted to read that the highlight of your stay was the factastic food at the wedding event itself. The choise of the menu is indeed up to the bride and groom and they have chosen well given your detailed review.

With regard to your room reservation, our family bedrooms are all to be found on the first floor of the hotel, these rooms are to be renovated in the near future to reflect the more spacious and comfortable bedrooms already renovated on the second floor.

Finally thank you for complementing our hotel and recommending it for future weddings, we hope to see you again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact Lisa our reservations supervisor by mail on lofarrell@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
384 reviews
2.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Property: Castletroy Park Hotel
Address: Dublin Road | Limerick, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Brasserie, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing