We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, good facilities, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy, good facilities, good price”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Service was efficient, ambience was good. Nice restaurant and bar. Big carpark. Over road from shops. Think i paid 70 euros. Good value compared to Australia. Found it on my ipad travelling back from Tralee.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisJBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear DennisJBailey,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at the Kilmurry Lodge. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Limerick,
Warm Regards,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    136
    55
    22
    12
See reviews for
81
94
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

have being staying at this Hotel for past ten years and maybe its time I wrote report.Must honestly say my stay was top class.On arrival I was greeted by most friendly staff as were all my friends,pleasent ,smilling,courtious.The rooms were spotless,spacious,the ones in the 500 are the biggest.Breakfast is like a banquet,fantastic selection of food,top quality.Lunch is also tops and price starts at 7 .90 euro up to 11.90,varied selection all excellent,also panini chips and salad for under 7 quid.Dinner is served in the bar each night untill 9.30 ,you must try the sizziling chicken and beef dishes they are to die for.Have to say the staff all over hotel were very helpful and the reception staff printed off lots of copies of fixtures and team sheets when ever asked.I discovered this is a family run hotel and must honestly say the quality of my stay was tops in every area of my stay.I have stayed in many an hotel and this is as good as it gets,defenitly up there amongst the best.

Room Tip: rooms numbered in 500 upare bigger and more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear martin d,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments and it was very pleasing to note the wide variety of areas within the hotel that you enjoyed. I have passed on all your compliments to our team throughout the hotel. We hope to see you soon at the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel,
Warm Regards,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel in Castleroy was very pleasant and ideal for sightseeing as its not in the center of Limerick. However on the package we had we should have been given a voucher for our evening meal on arrival and had to eat this in the bar area which could put some people off.
The bar staff were very pleasant and a receptionist named Phila was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear JulieMIreland,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in the Kilmurry Lodge. It was a pleasure to read your warm words about our team in Nelligans bar & Phila at reception. I have passed on your compliments to all.
Flanagan’s Restaurant currently only caters to private dining and group bookings. We have, on a number of times in the past, ran the restaurant side by side with a bar food menu in Nelligan’s bar. However due to a number of reasons we have, as of April 2012, decided to run with an extensive a la carte bar menu only. We would hope this would not deter guests from choosing our hotel; there are numerous fine dining restaurants in the locality that provide alternate options. I hope you will visit the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel again in the not so distant future,
Warm Regards,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great welcome from a very friendly and pleasant receptionist. Room attractive-looking and clean. Breakfast excellent with another very friendly and pleasant staff member running things. Check-out was uncomplicated. The hotel itself is very attractive and the grounds/ gardens are lovely and well-maintained.

However, the heating (if you could call it that) in our room was absolutely useless and the "hot" water was usually just over lukewarm. This detracted significantly from our experience at this hotel. The sink was ridiculously small (you can't even fill the kettle in it) and had no hot water at all. They're less than generous with their allocations of tea / coffee / milk; on one occasion this stock wasn't replaced (and we were left with used cups as well).

If you stay there, make sure it's in summer or you'll freeze. Unless, of course, you don't feel the cold and don't like hot showers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear O Z,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in the Kilmurry Lodge. Firstly let me apologize for the issues encountered regarding the lack of hot water during your stay. We were having problems with our boiler but a new one has since been installed. I understand that such an inconvenience can detract from your overall experience of the hotel but I do hope you will return again and let us make amends. In relation to the tea/coffee/milk allocations, this will be reviewed by management.
On a separate note I was delighted to read that there were many aspects of your stay that were pleasing, enjoyable and to your liking. I have passed on your compliments to the relevant departments. I hope you will visit the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Basic 3 starproperty, Which offers a lovely welcome at reception and then fails to deliver beyond.
Rooms comfortable yet no lift access.Food in bar bland with steak tough,small portions of overcooked veg and pricey for what you get.Unkempt poorly groomed Bar staff had to be informed glasses were not clean! No pool or apparent leisure facilities.

Room Tip: Avoid checking in if Large sporting activity is in the area.......YOU WILL NOT SLEEP!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curaghill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear curaghill123,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge. Firstly let me apologize for the lack of sleep that you received on the night of your stay, we expect all guests should have a comfortable night’s sleep and apologize that you did not. We do on occasion have groups stay with us in the hotel, whether it is for a big game in Thomond Park, a sporting activity at the University of Limerick or a tour. When we take bookings for such groups we do our best to ensure the credentials of the group reflects our own, while also expecting that they will conduct themselves in an appropriate manner. On the rare occasion that this fails to happen it can affect another guest’s stay but it is something we as management are continuously trying to improve on and implement systems whereby it will be less likely to happen in the future.
I have also passed on your comments to the bar manager and head chef. We do not have leisure facilities in-house but all guests of the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel can avail of a 10% discount at the University of Limerick Sports Arena which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. I would like to pin-point the exact details of your stay with us in March, in order to understand further as to why and how we let you down. If you could contact me directly on 061-331133 EXT 2 or jack@kilmurrylodge.com
Warm Regards,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We were treated to a 2 night stay by our friends to coincide with the rugby match at Thomond. The receptionist was a gem, so friendly and such a contrast to the often indifferent approach in many hotels. After the match the guys arrived back in high spirits and felt like having a roast beef sandwich, absolutely no problem the chef carved off a couple of slices and the kitchen sorted us out in jig time.
The girls were well also advised on the shopping.
All in all a great job well done. Thank you.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear robauxgets,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review. It was a pleasure to read such positive feedback and I will be passing on your compliments to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you to the Kilmurry Lodge during your next visit to Limerick.
Warm Regards,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed overnight in the Kilmurry Lodge for our trip to Thomond Park. We could not have asked for better. Every member of staff was so helpful and courtesy it was a pleasure. The hotel was very comfortable and very welcoming. There were suttle buses to the match from the carpark which was so handy. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Dee P,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review. We were delighted to read your feedback on your Rugby weekend break to Limerick. It was with great pleasure to hear such great reviews about the members of our team that you encountered throughout the weekend. I have passed on all your compliments to various staff members and your personal email currently sits proudly on our notice board! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Limerick.
Warm Regards,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
2.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
810 reviews
3.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,498 reviews
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
5.4 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurry Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurry Lodge Hotel

Property: Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmurry Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kilmurry Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurry Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing