We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phila The Perfect Receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pretty basic hotel .My husband and I stayed in Kilmurry Lodge as we were attending a ceremony in Limerick University next morning the end of June .The hotel was very busy as the Special Olympics were on at the same time .The receptionist Phila was fantastic very efficient and friendly even though she was very busy.Kilmurry is very lucky to have such a pleasant and hardworking receptionist.Hotel is close to Limerick University.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Special Olympics Ireland Games were held in Limerick in June so my daughter & I decided to stay for the 3 nights. Phila at Reception was excellent, fast & efficient check in on arrival,( I think we got there just before the rush). Breakfast was ready early every morning which was great as we had an early start each day as we were Volunteers for the Games. The hotel is walking distance from the University of Limerick (known locally as UL) where we were based.

Room Tip: Had no problems but would have preferred a harder mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pretty basic hotel but good location for Limerick Uni. Beds are quite small and reception didn't seem bothered when this was mentioned to them. Breakfast was good but served in bar area and staff were indifferent. Hotel seemed old but was comfortable none the less. No leisure facilities but had plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: 1st floor room was good but nice walk from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had been travelling Scotland and Ireland for 2 weeks on a bus tour, staying in first-class hotels. When we arrived at Kilmurry Lodge, our first impression was that it was a bit run down. We were so glad that we didn't let our first impression guide us. The hotel is like a grand lady, Older, but a class act.
Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was super clean and recently renovated. The layout of the hotel is such that it is sprawling which creates opportunity for some open grounds.
The patio bar is more a smoking area, so we avoided it. But the bar is spacious and typically classic Irish, and the breakfast room is delightful in decor.
The location for our daily tours of southern Ireland was ideal. Away from downtown, we were a quick jaunt to the motorway (M7) and access to all points south, east and west.
But the best part of Kilmurry Lodge were the staff. Everyone did whatever they could to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. A very special Thank You to Phila, who helped us with various alternate arrangements to be made when our Mom passed away and we needed to alter our travel plans. Phila, you were amazing in your efforts and your kindness.
If we have the chance to return to Limerick, we look forward to our next stay.
God bless.
By the way, the room price couldn't be beat!

Room Tip: They have rooms on the subground floor (half way out of the ground), on the upper main, and on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is roughly 20+ mins' walk from the university of Limerick at a decent pace. It is fabulous value for money, good power showers in a spotlessly clean bathroom, creaky bed, the grounds are quite extensive and beautifully landscaped which makes it a peaceful location with places to sit out to have a drink, coffee at breakfast was fab - as was the breakfast in general. Breakfast staff lovely, Free newspapers at breakfast. Plenty of car parking space surrounded by shrubs. Nearby within walking distance there's the Odeon cinema, Mc Donald's, Domino's pizza, an Indian and Chinese takeaway. The armchairs in the sitting area on the ground floor to the right of reception could do with being smartened up. Colours in the bedroom are a bit drab/depressing. Old TVs in bedroom, Free wifi easy to connect to. Overall a great 3 star place to stay when visiting the university.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here for the duration of the Special Olympic National Games. I returned here after a very pleasant stay on previous occasions. It is in a super location, however avoid staying on the ground floor, the noise is quite bad. There was a wedding in the hotel on both nights and the noise on both nights was horrendous, so much so that when we opened our door during the night to see what it was, there was someone else further up the corridor doing the same thing!

The room itself was spacious, but there was a very stale smell in the room, as if it was a smoking room. It warranted us opening windows on returning to the room.

The food was ok, there was however a 25 minute wait on porridge and cooked breakfast if you were down at 7 for breakfast, which we were on the 3 mornings.

We did take our complaints about the noise to reception the first night, but after making a couple of calls to reception, we actually gave up - it was falling on deaf ears so to speak. The second night after being told by reception that we could be in for another night of noise, we did speak with the general manager. It unfortunately didn't stop the children from the wedding running up and down our corridor with a football that night, we didn't complain after that, it was getting us nowhere.

We had a simple query whilst checking out today, the receptionist apologised as she was unable to help us........

I could go on. Very very disappointed as I had recommended the hotel to all of our families who had athletes competing in the games. I also booked all of the volunteers into the hotel. It was very embarrassing. None of us will be returning. One volunteer had to miss her shift today because she simply got no sleep for the previous 2 nights.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a very tasty carvery lunch in the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel today. The food was very good and we were served by a very chatty / friendly staff member. The bar area is nice and offered good value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wfi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.0 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
863 reviews
2.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,987 reviews
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Limerick Castletroy
3.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurry Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurry Lodge Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range: £68 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmurry Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilmurry Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurry Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing