We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid May for my partners birthday. We stayed in room 15 the four poster. The bed was so comfy and the bathroom amazing!! Roll top bath and walk in shower. The breakfast was lovely plenty each morning. We love our real ales and they had a great selection. The only down point was we ate in the Restaurant on the second night. It was very busy. We ordered wine and when the waiter brought it, he said we are very busy and left it un opened on the table!! Not what you expect of a good Restaurant even if they are busy!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank whoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    102
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
94
293
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
burnley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this fabulous hotel.We booked last minute after deciding to go to Appleby Horse Fair which is about 10 miles away from the hotel .we found the hotel on one of the internet booking sites but actually phoned the hotel and booked direct with them for the same price . The young man we dealt with over the phone was very efficient, friendly and very helpful.We booked room 10 which is a deluxe room but as we were only staying for one night we decided to spoil ourselves so emailed them and asked if we could upgrade and we're placed in room 3 which is a junior suite with 2 windows overlooking the lovely garden. The room was spotlessly clean and decorated and furnished to a very high standard and the enormous super king sized bed was very comfortable. We had drinks in the bar and ate in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to please . The food was excellent and very well presented as was the full English breakfast the following morning. There really is nothing to fault about this hotel and we shall definitely be returning soon and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Room 3 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janvic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here during the run up to Christmas and it was perfect. We received a warm welcome from the staff and locals. The hotel itself is situated in lovely surroundings and the food served was delicious in a lovely atmosphere. The room was even better and the bed was absolutely huge! The hotel and rooms were well maintained and it really was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A group of 7 of us chose to stay at the Black Swan on our cycle trip of the Coast to Coast. After a truly awful day of torrential weather and hail we were greeted at the door and shown to our lovely rooms. We enjoyed drinks in the bar and a lovely 3 course dinner. The was nothing to fault, everything was of a very high standard. There was a good choice of cold and hot breakfast options.
This was the second time we had stayed and no doubt we will be looking for an excuse to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were lovely. No fitness centre or pool but unable to exclude these options in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puggle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Highly recommend turning right of the M6 at Kendal( if travelling from the south )and book to stay and eat at the Black swan. Just returned from two nights there and as well as enjoying the countryside around the hotel the hospitality and food was worth the biggest of detours. A lovely place to stay with warm and welcoming staff,outstanding food and very comfortable rooms. Definite must return soon kind of place.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stopped over one very windy rainy evening on our way to Keswick. The Black Swan had a fire on and a warm welcome. The food was very good and it was very busy but everyone could not do enough to give good service. Our room was a bit different - you had to go outside and it was like a little annex. I would like to stay in the main house next time. We stopped here again on a sunny afternoon and the beer garden is fab!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Did not stay at the hotel, but had a meal in the pub and it was stunning! The beer on tap was full of flavour with a nice selection of ales and a very knowledgeable and helpful barman made the choice easy. Our meal was one of the best I have ever had in the UK, with a well stocked and unbelievably affordable wine cellar! A totally unexpected level of brilliance seeing as we only popped in while wondering down the road with the dog...oh yeah, they are dog friendly too! Great staff who could not do enough to make us comfortable! Cannot recommend this great place highly enough! QUALITY!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdarkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
10.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
19.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
20.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
955 reviews
20.1 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: Ravenstonedale CA17 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous, Award Winning, 16 bedroom, family owned, country Inn. Conservation Village, beautiful gardens, dog and disabled friendly. Luxury, stylish rooms, great food served in relaxed lounge/bars or formal restaurant. Exclusive use available. AA Pub of the Year for England 2013/14, Good a Hotel Guide, Sawdays Special Places, Good Pub Guide, Michelin Guide, CAMRA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Ravenstonedale
The Black Swan Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing