We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stopped for a bar meal, staff were helpful, typical bar atmosphere, food was fantastic. I had a steak and ale pie, this was stuffed with steak, highly recommend. We also had scampi, which came overflowing the plate, 12 pcs, hope to go back before or holiday ends. Highly recommended for food

Room Tip: Don't start serving evening meals to 6pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    169
    51
    23
    13
See reviews for
61
310
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for 2 night, just home. Very pleasant, attentive staff and a brilliant choice of desserts. Dogs ok in the bar and rooms. Good spot on the A683 Sedbergh road. Would stay again. Also has a wildlife reserve nearby with lots of wild fowl .

Room Tip: Also check out the nearby village
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned after a two-night stay at the end of a frantically busy few months. The warm welcome, delightful room and very good food - to say nothing of fabulous surroundings - all combined to restore our energies and to remind us just how beautiful this area is. After first finding this pub 30 years ago, it has taken us this long to return - and we'll be back again soon. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 recommended, ticked all the boxes for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St0neleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle U.K.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely couple of days at This quaint country pub in the Yorkshire Dales. We stayed in room 1 which although was quite small it was spotlessly clean with a lovely soft bed and curtains which looked brand new! Our room overlooked the lovely gardens and while there we visited the nature reserve, the access does need some attention as it was badly overgrown which is a pity because it's well worth visiting. We also did the two walks from the pub which were very easy to follow and suitable for grannies and children! The food at the pub was superb for such an isolated pub there was an extensive menu with specials and the staff were so helpful that even if lunchtime food was finished they would still make you a sandwich. Thanks we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twocannygeordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely big clean room just very dated. Plenty of secure parking. Food very average and expensive but there was a very good wine list, something for everyone's taste. Good location with friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipplesqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccles Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the weekend at the Fat Lamb Inn - Fantastic - peaceful and most welcoming - the food was excellent so compliments to the chef and the staff. I had pork/blackpudding - melted in my mouth. The other half had a fat rump steak which was cooked to perfection. Will defo call again if we are in the area. Well done Fat Lamb and thanks

Else & Mick Kinnear

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for two nights on an Amazon Local deal. Had stayed previously some 15 years ago. Truly lovely experience on both occasions. Friendly staff
My reviews would normally explain what the local amenities are like, proximity to ATM, shops and the like. This one is different and so easy. It's not near anything. No shops, cinemas, ATM's or fast food outlets. Yep, no McD's within miles. Plenty of sheep and other animals and loads of fresh air on the doorstep. Fabulous.
Handy for all the popular lakes locations. A car is a must.
Room, though somewhat small was adequate and the bed really comfy. Small tv on the wall and hair dryer in the room.
Breakfast was great with no plastic sausages. Evening meals were superb. Plenty of choice including locally sourced fare.
That said, you can still get a phone signal and the wifi does work. All in all a very relaxing stay that completely lived up to expectations. Would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to wind down.

Room Tip: Front or back. Don't worry about traffic noise. There is none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
11.7 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
10.9 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: Crossbank, Ravenstonedale CA17 4LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Ravenstonedale
Country Inn Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen Country Inn
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing