We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile detour from the C2C”
Review of The Old Vicarage

The Old Vicarage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenstonedale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had planned to stay in Kirkby Lonsdale but are very glad we didn't and found the Old Vicarage instead. We stayed 2 nights. The welcome was very warm and friendly and it was the only B&B we have every visited with a grand piano. Very peaceful location with red squirrels in the garden. Bill and Ann were very hospitable and the home made cake was excellent. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We arrived on Good Friday morning, for a two night stay and were met with the warmest of welcomes by Bill and Ann. The bedroom was extremely spacious and with a large en-suite bathroom, it was perfect for a long soak, after walking the fells.
A superb breakfast was taken, whilst two red squirrels displayed their acrobatic skills in the trees in the front garden.
Ann ensured that we were well prepared for our walks, by provision of a flask and some excellent homemade cakes!
The walking in the area offers endless possibilities and our walk from nearby Hartley to a snow capped Nine Standard Riggs, will live long in the memory.
The Kings Head in Ravenstonedale was our choice for evening meals, with some delicious fayre and attentive service.
In conclusion, Bill and Ann were excellent hosts, with nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay here, a bit impromptu as we dropped in at very short notice due to horrible weather putting us off our camping plans. Thank goodness for the rain! Ann and Bill were immediately very welcoming and we were treated to some lovely homemade cake and tea in the living room. The room was lovely, very clean and spacious. We had a delicious meal in the Black Swan, which was a very comfortable short walk away. Breakfast was great and Bill entertained us with some interesting stories! Ann and Bill are brilliant hosts and made our stay truly delightful. We will hopefully be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisonfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Ann was a wonderful host and the accommodation was excellent with large room and a great bathroom with a bath that soothed the aches on our Coast2Coast walk. Very warm welcome with homemade cakes and tea, excellent breakfast with choice and great value packed-lunch. Good advice on the evening meal at the near by pub. We would return and is highly recommended. Just to add that we used a taxi from Kirkby Stephen and that was great service as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshirePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

the other reviewers summed up the old vicarage, and bill and Ann to a tee. Very welcoming, lovely tea and cakes on arrival, and the room .... ?
And then there was the breakfast and Bill's tales.
I almost don't want to recommend this so that there'll be places next time I go up to Ravenstonedale.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Four of us were the first guests for the 2012 season and can echo all the positive comments left by the other three reviewers. Can't say anything that hasn't been said about Bill and Ann but just to add that now there are two good pubs serving food in the village - the Black Swan and the newly-reopened Kings Head. If anything the Kings Head is slightly more adventurous with its dishes but it would be a close-run contest.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This was the second stay at the Old Vicarage. I thought our first stay was great, but since then it has got even better. Ann & Bill are wonderful, genuine hosts. Your welcomed with home-made cakes and a lovely pot of tea served in bone china cups.The king size room was very luxurious, but tastefully decorated. The skies are so dark, the only sound is from the wildlife and the bed so comfortable that you enjoy a wonderful night's sleep. Breakfast is made to order with an array of food. Ann now offers some relaxation and massage for her guests, unfortunately I didn't have time to experience that, but next time... The village is a wonderful retreat and reminds me of a village back in time, which was really why we visited as the village is where my ancestors lived. The village archives housed by Ravenstonedale Historical Society has extensive information about families from the village with many wonderful photographs and documents. Well worth a visit to this wonderful village. Thanks so much Ann & Bill for such a lovely welcome. Hope to see you again some day. Deb & Martin Thomas

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CardiffMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenstonedale hotels
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Greenside Farmhouse B & B
High Greenside Farmhouse B & B
#4 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Ravenstonedale CA17 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range: £24 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing