We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Corner of Eden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenstonedale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Corner of Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent the Easter break at the Angel Barn, it's just fantastic. Debbie and Richard are perfect hosts and the barn is as stunning as ever. The weather gas been great, fantastic walks, all in all excellent again and we are already booked for next year, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Thursday the day before Good Friday. The journey was long and hideous, however it was worth every second of the bank holiday traffic. Debbie met us as we pulled up and directed us to where we were to park. Such a lovely warm welcome! We were blown away by the beautiful views from the shepherds hut. The hut itself is so cosy and everything we hoped it would be. Debbie had already lit the wood burner which was wonderful. The wood burner was fantastic in the evenings. We had bbq's and made use of the fire-pit. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, fabulous nights sleep each night. Crocs and dressing gowns were invaluable, we really enjoyed the little walk to the bathroom/kitchen...when surrounded by such beauty you cannot fail to enjoy every second of it.
Home made cake!!! Homemade jams, freshly laid eggs (the hens are brilliant and so entertaining!) damson gin all added up to make a wonderful place that little more special. The Fat Lamb is only a short walk away across a couple of fields and we has a very enjoyable evening there, very welcoming and the food was lovely. So many places to see and so many things to do.
I could go on and on but you really need to experience it to truly appreciate this 'corner of Eden'.
Debbie and Richard were brilliant hosts, very welcoming and friendly but not intrusive at all, they have it perfectly balanced in our opinion.
We've come away with our batteries fully recharged, wonderful memories, a gorgeous cake and lots and lots of jam! Cannot recommend the rhubarb jam highly enough, it's really really scrummy.
All in all we've had the best time ever and will definitely be back. Thank you Debbie and Richard!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you want a relaxing, quiet, luxurious break with beautiful surroundings then this is the place to go. It's our 4th stay and we have already booked to go back with friends this year and again next year. Beautiful little touches and spotlessly clean, comfy beds, amazing views, great places to walk. Do not hesitate and book it because availability will go in the blink of an eye. Debbie and Richard have worked so hard to create a little piece of heaven. X x p.s Debbie makes amazing cake to!

Room Tip: If your going in a group get upstairs quick and take the first room on your right, pure luxury x
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairycupcake18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We arrived on Friday 24th Jan 2014.

The drive to the barn is an interesting one, and would not like to try and attempt it in snow without a 4 wheel drive vehicle. But once you get there and can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet and the lovely views, its well worth it!

The Barn is a lovely modern conversion spotlessly clean, with just about everything you could think of provided in the kitchen.

The Living room is a great meeting place for Friends and Family and on a cold winters day the Log burner was fantastic at keeping the whole place warm.

The Barn has 3 Ensuite Bedrooms, all well appointed.

The only reason Im not able to give it 5 stars is the cold shower on the Sunday we had to endure. Dont know if this was because everyone wanted a shower at similar times, but that was the only downside.

Im sure we will return, hopefully when the sun might shine.

Room Tip: Try and get the main bedroom with ensuite Bath & Shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwallis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Angel Barn. It was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. Perfect for entertaining in the kitchen and loved the cosy lounge with the log burning stove. Comfy beds and a bath with a view! A lovely hamper and warm bread and a freshly baked cake on our arrival, what a treat! Debbie & Richard were only too happy to help us in any way. All in all a memorable weekend for all the right reasons. Already booked our next stay xx

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oliversmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

With both the husband and I working for the emergency services, having time off over Christmas to actually spend together is a rarity, however this Christmas we both managed to get Christmas off as holiday and decided we would try and get away.
After quite a bit of searching both home and abroad we decided on a trip to the farmhouse at a corner of Eden and we were not disappointed.
A week from 23rd to 30th December, we travelled up with the winds and rain which was Christmas 2013 and arrived for our1600 check in (Debbie had texted in advance to advise the place was ready early if we made it earlier!)

Our party was (eventually) 6 adults, a 3 yr old and two springy springers and everyone loved it.
The kitchen (range oven) was perfect for managing to cook all we wanted including Christmas turkey and trimmings. The dining room was brilliant as we all actually sat at it and dined, chatted, grazed on more food and played board games (of which there are numerous supplied).
The lounge was perfect for our group and with the log fire very cosy (just as well as the winds continued and by Christmas morning we had a layer of snow outside) and all decked out for Christmas which satisfied the child in the group.
The whole site is pretty much in the middle of nowhere but brilliant for those with dogs or who enjoy walking. We walked every day with our dogs and had a varied route each day with fantastic views which stretched for miles!

The best room downstairs as many say is the dairy.. Perfect for storing all our wares (mainly alcoholic) and filled with so many things to use/ buy.. Brilliant!
Upstairs was perfect, a double room for each set of adults and a big girls twin room for the 3yr old and her numerous teddies.
2 bathrooms to choose between which are beautiful and the showers fab.

Think it is all the extra touches that make this such a fab place.. Snuggley bathrobes and towels, hand soap/lotion, bath salts, bubbles etc
The welcome hamper... Yummy cake (child devoured her massive slice!) bacon,eggs, local cheeses+ biscuits and champagne.
The access to as much firewood as we were able to carry was also welcome as I in particular had a fondness of sitting in front of a roaring log fire!

The process of booking through Debbie was very simple and she promptly answered all our questions via email even trying her hardest to find us some shooting in the local area.

The child keeps asking me if we are going back to our holiday house next week... Perhaps not next week (as they are likely booked and rightly so) but we certainly will return.
Thank you Debbie and Richard

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My family rented out A Corner of Eden for a Special Birthday Treat for me! This beautifully renovated farmhouse in the middle of nowhere is truly idyllic! I loved the cosy sitting room with the real log fire and the stylish but equally cosy dining room. But my favourite room was the well stocked pantry which seemed unchanged from centuries before!! There were so many nice touches provided by the hosts Richard and Debbie, including freshly baked bread and cake and a hamper with local produce. We enjoyed flicking through the albums detailing the history of the house and the renovation project. We had an unforgettable weekend in awesome surroundings. I recommend this place wholeheartedly! Its a Corner of Heaven!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalteserEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
20.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
12.1 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
19.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.1 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Corner of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Corner of Eden

Property: A Corner of Eden
Address: Low Stennerskeugh, Ravenstonedale CA17 4LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Corner of Eden is a chic collection of 3 holiday cottages in a hidden corner of Cumbria, on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales and close to the Lake District. There's Angel Barn (sleeps 6), The Farmhouse (sleeps 8) and the stunning Shepherd's Cottage (romantic retreat for two). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Corner Of Eden Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing