We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Bash”

Franco's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Broadstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Franco's Bar & Restaurant - Serving Fine Italian Wines with Traditional Italian & Sicilian Food, from Pizza/ Pasta to an extensive A la Carte menu, not forgetting Franco's Specials Board - just like Mamma used to make !! The perfect location for a Special Mediterranean Night, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Bash”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

What a great night, booked Franco's restuarant for a birthday meal with 28 people! Franco couldnt have been more helpful with the organizing. The food was lovely, hot and arrived promptly with not too long to wait between courses. the waiters were friendly and jolly. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the night, and we werent rushed to finish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yamahaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had booked a table for two and when arrived no one really knew where we were sitting, only for us then to be shown to a table sat right in the middle of the aisle. We felt very conspicuous and had the waiters passing by on either side of us constantly. we were given menus and then were left a full 20 minutes before anyone came near us. would of been nice for someone to offer us a drink but the bar lady instead stood right next to our table chatting away to a couple that she knew. We were just about to get up and leave when a waiter finally asked for our order. We were shown no drinks menu and he was unhelpful and completely unattentive. The food thankfully was lovely so not a complete waste but it seems that only their regular customers were taken care of as they spent time chatting to them while again our glasses were empty and its not like you couldnt see us there sat right in the path!! To sum up food lovely but service the worst i have had in an italian restaurant and what italian restaurant doesn't have breadsticks on the tables?????? Maybe if we had these to munch on we wouldnt have noticed how long it took to offer us a drink. Such a shame as the chef is obviously great, but la lupas and da vincis beat them hands down .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank india1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Francos been going for Ten years +”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Can't fault Francos he is a family friend and I love the restaurant and food! Great atmosphere great food and reasonable prices what more could you ask for!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing evening”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband ordered antipasto misto as a starter -  a popular Italian dish you would think? They didn't have any left! So instead we both ordered one of the starter specials, a scallop dish. Cost £8, 3 small scallops each and absolutely no scallop taste. We both ordered pizzas for main course. Both arrived undercooked - soggy bottoms!! 
We waited over 30 minutes for our starter. We did ask why we were waiting so long and were told it was because the scallops had to be cleaned and freshly cooked so it was a disappointment that they didn't taste of much other than the garlic butter they were served in. Pizzas needed to be cooked for longer but think that they were served to us too soon as we had been waiting a while between courses (although to be fair you are warned this may be the case on the menu). Waiters were very friendly and polite and there was a nice atmosphere in the restaurant but the chef and cooking staff appeared to be having problems keeping up with the orders even though the restaurant was not full.
Also, the table next to us ordered a pizza with chicken on it. Waiter came back 5 minutes later to advise they had no chicken!! There would seem to be an issue with stock control given that basics such as this and the ingredients for antipasto misto were not available.
Overall a bit of a disappointing evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bythesandandthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the place...”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I've been to Franco's a few times; the last being last evening. As always the food was excellent and the service attentive but not invasive. Such a relaxed atmosphere in the place and so much to choose from on the menu it takes forever to decide :) Love the place...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franco's Restaurant also viewed

Broadstone, Dorset
Broadstone, Dorset
 

Been to Franco's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing