We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit To Italy while still in Poole.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franco's Restaurant

Franco's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Broadstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Franco's Bar & Restaurant - Serving Fine Italian Wines with Traditional Italian & Sicilian Food, from Pizza/ Pasta to an extensive A la Carte menu, not forgetting Franco's Specials Board - just like Mamma used to make !! The perfect location for a Special Mediterranean Night, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A visit To Italy while still in Poole.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have eaten In Franco's twice in three weeks. If you like genuine Italian thin crust pizza this is the place to go. (I hate us style deep pan - far too much bread.) Franco's deliver the real thing with generous fresh toppings, delicious side salads and a good range of wines. All the staff I met were Italian ex-pats, friendly and generous with their time- especially when it came to talking about World Cup football (they had a telly showing the Italy v. Costa Rice match when I visited). Great ambience inside plus outside tables to dine while the sun sets. Definitely, my kind of place and a great asset to Broadstone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
833 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Looking a bit jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went here for a business lunch, didn't book but that wasn't a problem. There seemed to be just one man there and the lights weren't even switched on, but to be fair he was friendly.

Inside the place is looking a bit jaded and could do with a new carpet and decorating.

We chose spinach and ricotta canelloni and meatballs. Both dishes tasted fine although I think the canelloni had been microwaved as it was blisteringly hot.

It probably looks better of an evening with low lights and I would imagine there would be more atmosphere too.

Overall for around £30 for food, drinks and coffee it was OK but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“anniversary meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to Franco's to celebrate our anniversary, it was our first visit to this restaurant, a busy Saturday evening. First impressions were that if it was busy it may be that all I had heard was true but in truth it was a little overcrowded and lacked the intimacy we would have liked. Starters I had soup which was supposed to be minestrone but was nothing like it. For mains I had a ham and mushroom pizza, my wife had salmon pasta which looked nice and my wife couldn't finish it as it was so rich. For sweet we had the orange sorbet which was the highlight of the night zesty and sweet served in the orange skin the perfect way to finish a meal.
Overall the food was good but not outstanding service was very good with courses being brought out as soon as you had finished the previous course made you feel a bit hurried. I would go back but perhaps not for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allh0ckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Blues Brothers tribute night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was a return visit to Franco's as we had been before and we decided to try the tribute night. The food was a little disappointing ,the starter was o.k, but the calzone was mediocre and cold,it lacked true Italian flavours and seasoning.
We had a bottle of red and white wine with our meal , it was o.k but not full bodied as you would expect from good Italian wine.
The Blues brothers were good and sang lots of soul songs and were good at inviting the guests to join in.
The highlight was at the end when Terry Nash switched to Meatloaf and sang several songs as an encore, he was superb!!
Overall £170.00 for four, very expensive and not good value for money!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hillyPoole_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Italian meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Took the family lovely place inside small but nice. The kids starters looked good & they say it was ok only problem we had was 2 starters came out then we had a wait for a couple of mins while he then served another table there drinks then he decided to bring the other 2 starters out that also happened with our mains as well. Kids both had pizza they found it a bit hard to cut but they say it tasted fine. I had chicken with spinach & cheese was not to my liking that much & the sauce was like the chef had poured a whole jug over my chicken way to much sauce. But my chicken was lovely, but my husband had chicken but a different dish and said his chicken was very tough. We had veg way over cooked . Yes its ok but not brilliant we have had better so I have to say we will not be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gpfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franco's Restaurant also viewed

Broadstone, Dorset
Broadstone, Dorset
 

Been to Franco's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing