We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daniels Fish & Chips

Daniels Fish & Chips
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Broadstone
Price range: US$3 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Broadstone branch includes both a restaurant and a takeaway.
Dorset
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our Friday night meal wasn't great - the chips were oily and under cooked and the fish had thin oily batter so we were rather diappointed by the meal

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DorsetJemimah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    12
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

First visit since it changed hands. Lovely. Freshly cooked chips and chunky piece of cod. Will return. Thanks Daniel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliePeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Faultless!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stopped by off chance for take away fish and chips, but used the restaurant instead. Just totally refurbished, the restaurant is spotless, without the gaudy posters and prints. Choice of meals at set prices including specials for kids and senior citizens. We chose the set cod meal, served with proper chunky chips, large flaky cod in a crisp batter, choice of mushy peas, beans etc, served with a fresh crusty roll and butter. Also included in the price a glass of wine, or beer or a choice of hot or cold beverages. Service quick, attentive and friendly. Total price £20 for two. No room for a pud I am afraid as portions are generous. We would certainly visit again, and wish the new owners the success they deserve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KAY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Decided to try this fish and chip restaurant on our way back from Bournemouth airport. It is very nicely decorated but what a disappointment the meal was. We both had the meal deal and the fish was extremely dry and chewey. The chips weren't that good either. Sadly we will not be using Daniels again but will return to Chez Fred at Westbourne where we have always found the meal to be excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pea fritter or pea flatter?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Yuk!! By time got home the thinnest batter I have ever seen had completely fallen off fritter and was just a collapsed mess. Chips were tasteless. Come back Longs, all is forgiven!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daniels Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Broadstone, Dorset
 

Been to Daniels Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing