We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banning House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just stayed one night at the Banning House Lodge this August. I was scuba-diving for two days in Two Harbors. The Lodge is charming and very nicely decorated. It has a wonderful view from the hill top and it is an easy little hike to and from the pier, restaurant and grocery store in Two Harbors.
A few reviewers mentioned that they didn't like the service, but I found the service to be great. I accidentally fell off the boat before we departed from MDR and they were willing to let me wash and dry my clothes on the evening I arrived because everything was soaked. They don't serve breakfast until 8AM, but there was a very nice gentleman in the kitchen/dining room by 7AM and he made us coffee and also gave me a little to-go carton of ham/cheese and bread since I had to leave by 7:30AM.
The building is very old (part of it's charm), so you can totally hear your neighbors walking around on the wooden floors in their rooms. There's also no insulation under the door connecting your room to your neighbors either, so you have to hope for quiet neighbors. But Two Harbors is pretty rustic, campground type of environment, so everyone seems to shut down for the night fairly early.
I would definitely stay here again, a perfect place to for a night or two if you want to unwind and be peaceful, or you are for diving, boating or fishing.

Room Tip: There's one room that is upstairs and has a balcony overlooking the harbor. Probably costs more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

I run a non-profit group and take a group of teens each year on a trip. This year we went to Two Harbors. We stayed in one of the beautiful homes of Banning Lodge. The house had 4 large beautiful rooms and was decorated in a gorgeous beachy motif. The kitchen had all the essential items that allowed me to cook for our group of 10. We had a beautiful deck with BBQ and a large out door table too. The home was just a few minutes walk to the water front and the little store and restaurant of Two Harbors. It was just a perfect home for our group. All the staff of Banning Lodge were incredibly helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrink711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just returned from Two Harbors, Catalina Island, and the wonderful Banning House Lodge.

Banning House was built in 1910 and it has that long ago feel. With Two Harbors being lightly developed, it really does seem like one steps off the boat into another time. Our room was lovely with wooden floors and arm chairs next to a window with an incredible view of Catalina Harbor and roaming buffalo! When we stepped out the door of our room, we entered a patio with a view of Isthmus Harbor and places to sit and enjoy the scenery.

Our bed was extremely comfortable with a down comforter. The morning breakfast was a generous continental in a pretty breakfast room filled with sunlight. The hotel sits on top of a hill. Though you can take a van up and down the hill, the stone stepped walkway with benches for enjoying the view was great. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, as well.

We plan to come back in the winter months--Banning House includes a pretty lounge with more great views all around. It would make an excellent writer's retreat.

The only thing to look out for are the thin walls between rooms. Most people keep their voices down, though, and there are room options that are quieter.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flummywister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough good about the Banning House and it's staff. We went for our honeymoon and stayed in Room 8. The panoramic view of Isthmus Bay is simply amazing. We sat watching the clouds roll in over the mountains. We wanted a place to get away and found it. The staff were incredibly Friendly and helpful. Room was incredibly clean as were common areas.

It's important to know a couple of things. This is not a Hilton/Marriott/Hyatt cookie cutter place. There are no tv's, work out centers or business center. That's not what this place is for. The house overlooks the town of two harbors which has a population of 150. There is one general store, one snack bar and one restaurant. There are plenty of activities, diving, boating etc in town. To get to the more commercial town of Avalon, you have to take the safari van which is expensive and you need to plan ahead.

This is a place to sit and watch in awe of nature. The views are simply astounding. If you need to be entertained and plugged in keep looking. But if you want to meet some great people, view nature and just be overwhelmed with scenic beauty this is the place.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I loved the Banning House Lodge! It is cozy and has a wonderful sense of history about it. The views from both sides are amazing (you can see both the harbors of Two Harbors!). There are a few common rooms for eating/reading/playing Scrabble etc, and the rooms are clean and nice. It is a short (moderately steep) walk down to the water (and the little town) from the lodge, but the staff does offer to drive you if you need a ride. Two Harbors is the quiet and rustic part of Catalina, and the staying at the Banning House Lodge was the perfect getaway from LA for the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yayfortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The good: Gorgeous view, secluded and rustic..simple and quiet...vintage hotel. Linens are good quality and beds comfortable...atmosphere is peaceful. We had young children with us and they were 100% safe running on the grounds and on the beach without a lot of supervision.

The bad: The staff is indifferent and appears frustrated and removed. The shuttle bus does not have regular hours, we were staying on a boat in the harbour, our freinds stayed in the Banning House. The staff refused to pick up our guest at the dock no later than 8pm. Our guests rushed to leave a lovely dinner on board our boat to meet the driver who was then 2o minutes late. The van is filthy dirty. The hotel common rooms are dusty and drab. The bathrooms were not recently cleaned. We had to ask for toillett paper two or three times.There is a simple kitchen which does not have an oven.(so hard to cook a hot meal) Guests can store food in the fridge. For 200$ a night a room, I expect more than what is offered at a hostel.

The ugly: The place is a diamond in the rough. The views alone are worth the dirty floors and poor service its just sad as it could be a wonderful little hotel with a fantastic organic cafe. Unfortunately, who ever is running it seems to have missed the point. If you have a few million dollars offer to buy it..If you fix it up I guarantee you will double your money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spirit391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just stayed at Banning hotel with two young kids. Lovely views and location. Easy to have young kids there because so little they can get into. Basic rooms but comfortable. Felt that the staff had a mediocre attitude-the fact that this wasn't a pristine hotel didn't bother me but it was symbolic of a place that has unfortunately been Let go a bit and no one cared enough to make it the amazing place it can and should be. Seems like no one was trying to do any more than they had to. If one is staying a $200.00 place one shouldn't have to track down toilet paper!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelingdogvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
11.8 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
11.8 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
11.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banning House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banning House Lodge

Address: 1 Banning House Road, Two Harbors, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range: £112 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banning House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the West End of the island, the Banning House Lodge was built in 1910 as the summer home for the pioneering Banning brothers, who owned Santa Catalina Island. Now a charming, Craftsman-style bed and breakfast, the Banning House Lodge offers sweeping views of the Isthmus of Catalina and Catalina Harbor from its romantic, hilltop perch above Two Harbors A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the charming dining room. Van shuttle service between the lodge and Two Harbors village is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Banning House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banning House Hotel Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing