We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banning House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banning House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Rustic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in the crows nest & loved the bedding & views from private balcony. Staff was knowledgeable of eagles & activities in area. We would definitely stay again. Felt very welcomed by Tyler as host. Just beware Buccaneer days very rowdy crowd shooting cannons.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outciders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    27
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

After hiking back from parsons landing and not having showered for a few days this was the perfect ending to the perfect weekend on a girls trip. The views were stunning the rooms were so comforting. The employees were sooo nice and drove us up and down to the little village. I would recommend this place to any couples or friends looking for a quiet stay

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here. We loved our escape from all the world's stress. The Banning House staff and facility helped make our honeymoon perfect and better than we could have ever dreamed of. From our amazing view of Cat Harbor to the amazingly refreshing water in the shower to the wonderful views at breakfast to laying at the foot of the bed and seeing the stars each night and all things in between make the Banning House an ideal Great Escape. We kayaked, hiked and snorkeled and loved them all and all areas were recommended by the staff at the Banning House.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOPEINAHOOPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Fifth stay at the Banning House Lodge- yes! Just returned this month for my fifth stay and it was delightful as ever. Started coming in summer of 2011 with my husband, then fall with a girlfriend, introduced the Banning House & Two Harbors summer of 2012 to my two grown daughters and two ten year old grandsons, returned this summer in Aug. with my girls and grandsons, and in Sept. came back with friends to celebrate a birthday. All of us enjoy the Banning House because it is clean, full of old world charm, great views of the two harbors, nice buffet breakfasts in the 103 year old dining room, delightful rooms, relaxing, and even a buffalo last year out back! The staff, Salvador, the manager and Tyler, the assistant manager, are very friendly, professional and helpful. The housekeepers are very nice and helpful too. Every time I come back, I get misty eyed because it feels like coming home, and every time I leave, I get extra misty eyed! We all can't wait for our next trip to the Banning House, and to enjoy all the water and beach fun at Two Harbors!

Room Tip: They're all nice. We've stayed in many different ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orcutt, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the best kept secret of Southern California. I would just as well like to keep it all to myself. Unfortunately I can't afford to be the soul supporter of this fabulous lodging spot. I always want to have it available for my next return. They have a wonderful staff who were very accommodating. It was like stepping back in time and being part of an old time Hollywood set. The views are captivating and the ambiance is charming. Its quite a hike up the hill for the feigned naturalist. It would be a shame to be unable to hike around the magnificent vistas and harbors. No TV or internet distractions. Just lots of fun and EXERCISE!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kituwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful two day stay at Banning House in Two Harbors. What an amazing place. The staff was excellent. Sal, Sara and Tyler were our hosts and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We will definitely come back to this special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wryred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

friendly staff, great service, very nice breakfast buffet. The rooms are clean and simple, huge bathrooms amazing views of the harbour. No TV no Wifi no Radio, but a great place to enjoy peace and quiet and disconnect. There is a library with games books etc.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are right next to the front desk and the shuttle stop. If you are going to bed early yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Internationalgotoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
11.8 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banning House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banning House Lodge

Property: Banning House Lodge
Address: 1 Banning House Road, Two Harbors, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banning House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the West End of the island, the Banning House Lodge was built in 1910 as the summer home for the pioneering Banning brothers, who owned Santa Catalina Island. Now a charming, Craftsman-style bed and breakfast, the Banning House Lodge offers sweeping views of the Isthmus of Catalina and Catalina Harbor from its romantic, hilltop perch above Two Harbors A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the charming dining room. Van shuttle service between the lodge and Two Harbors village is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Banning House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banning House Hotel Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing