We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banning House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$615
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
76
30
6
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
30
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasbisonvan serviceday hikelaid back vibeprivate bathcomplimentary shuttle servicecommon roomcontinental breakfastcatalina islandother guestsbeautiful propertyhappy hourqueen bedfresh fruitgreat roomcatalina express
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This beautiful property is the prefect place to relax and unwind. We loved the beautiful room and views, the delicious breakfasts, and the warm welcoming staff. We will definitely be returning!
This end of Catalina Island is quieter and has a laid-back vibe. Perfect for hikes, beach combing, volleyball, Frisbee golf, bicycling and water sports. The Banning House Lodge is the perfect place for a little "Island Time!"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you want to get away and really relax, the Banning House Lodge is the place. This was our third visit and it was the best ever. The Banning House staff, Sal and Tyler, are very friendly and helpful. They pick you up at the dock when the Catalina Express comes in and drop you off when you are ready to leave at the dock. There is a continental breakfast provided in the mornings and there is sometimes a happy hour in the evenings. This is not a five star hotel rather a hotel with character and terrific views from some rooms-- all within walking distance or a shuttle ride into town. It has become a tradition for us for "alone time" because there are not TVs in the rooms and it is so peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshbabe1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed here for the first time five years ago. There was a wedding party, and only one huge room left in one of the side houses. It was cold and windy, and not very clean, but we decided we'd go back one day because we really liked the place in general. This time we stayed in the main house, in a smaller and cozier room. The location of the lodge is spectacular, and Two Harbors is the perfect place for a romantic getaway - no nightlife, no TV, just the sound of seals, maybe the sight of a dolphin or two (not to forget the bison!), beautiful countryside,a handful of interesting people in search of peace and quite, and you and whoever you're spending quality time with. The sunsets and sunrises are absolutely gorgeous and you can even watch from inside the lodge when it's nippy. The lodge seemed cleaner this time around and the furniture, well it's still very used and should be replaced at some stage, but replacing it would take away a lot of the place's charm. I'll certainly keep going back.

Room Tip: The main house is a good good choice if there's only two of you - the side houses have bigger rooms that fit more people. There are very few rooms that don't have a view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I've been coming to the Banning House Lodge each February with a group of quilters since 1999 and have seen the ups and downs of the lodge. The current management, Sal and Tyler are absolutly wonderful and have the lodge running the best I've seen! They cheerfully dote on our group during our stay, which I know isn't an easy job (there are anywhere from 20-30 quilters on the retreat). The rooms are clean and comfortable, with updated furniture and bedding. There are 2 refrigerators and a microwave available to guests. Coffee (really good coffee!) is available all day. A continental breakfast is served every morning, with low carb options. The view from the lodge is the best feature. You are on a hill and look both to the west, toward Cat Harbor, and to the east, looking at the poor, unfortunate soles on the mainland.
The Banning Lodge is one of my favorite escapes.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I went to Two Harbors for the first time last weekend thanks to Catalina Express's birthday deal. Two Harbors is a lovely place, very quiet at this time of year, just locals and a couple of other tourists.

We stayed in room 1. It was quaint, comfortable, and clean - perfect for our stay! There's ample sitting space around the property to relax, read, and take in the beautiful views. The staff are so friendly - when we arrived, Salvador was waiting at the dock with a van to drive us up to the lodge, and then showed us around the property so we could get our bearings.

The daily breakfast, as well as the access to the fridge and microwave, are wonderful to have. One day we missed the lunch hours at the town's sole restaurant, but were able to purchase food from the general store and heat it in the lodge's microwave, thankfully!

The restaurant menu and watersports equipment rental prices are posted at the lodge, so you don't need to walk all the way down the hill to check the price for a kayak or dinner. But if you do like exercise, you'll get a great workout walking up and down the hill between the town and your room!

Overall I was impressed by the solitude, beauty, and tranquility of the lodge and Two Harbors environment - it was so quiet that we could actually hear birds' wings flapping as they flew overhead - I never realized until this weekend that I'd never heard that sound before in my life. It's nature at its finest, without having to sacrifice all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Room 1 (and 2) are right near the van stop and kitchen area, so though we weren't bothered by any noise, at times of higher occupancy it may be loud outside those rooms in the mornings.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MegMcRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews