We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Farm stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Crackenback B&B and Inns
Taranto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Farm stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This place is very personal. The staff Paul and Jodie were great . The rooms are small with a queen bed and a loft for the three boys.
The food is the standout at the farmhouse. Very cosy in front of the fire with a wine while the kids watch some TV in the room.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GBHTaranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    22
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

On a recent trip to the Snowies, we were very impressed with the hospitality and attention to detail that we experienced at Crackenback Farm. I found the actual building designed by the famous Glen Murcutt particularly interesting, with it's clever use of timber, stone and glass.There is a cosy lounge area with a large open fireplace and with comfortable sofas, ideal for a nightcap. (can't wait to return in winter). Unfortunately we didn't get to try out the restaurant (only because we were invited for dinner elsewhere), but it certainly looked very inviting. (next time!) The wine cellar was also impressive, (you will find out why if you happen to go there)!
With regard to the local area, there is plenty to keep you entertained... Jodie informed us about i a great farmers market right next door at crackenback Cottage. There is also an amazing Snapps Distillery a 10 minute walk away. We picked a rainy weekend so unfortunately didn't get to take advantage of the great walks in the area.
Breakfasts included freshly brewed coffee, a smorgasboard of breakfast goodies plus a fabulous cooked breakfast whcih kept us going for the rest of the day.
( I let an item of clothing behind which was posted back to me which was most appreciated.)

Room Tip: Our room (number 5)had a double or queen sized bed (very comfortable) and a mezanine with some sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much!

The owners were wonderful and very welcoming. They could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. The made sure we had everything we needed to climb the mountain and lent us a backpack. We had a great night of cards in the bar!

The food was outstanding and as new owners they are doing a fantastic job. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this place as somewhere to stay both in high or low season. Laid back and super friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynz778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was very much looking forward to my 3 night recuperative stay, however, felt a little let down by the experience.. There seems to be disparity between the website and the actual...rooms, very small, tired with very basic furniture, no fridge; no bath robes, no afternoon tea, and the pool, spa, way to cold to enjoy. My room was adjacent to the bar area and I was disturbed by noise from the TV. My greeting from one of the owners was less than enthusiastic, unprofessional, no offer to help with bags, failing to induct me to the nuances of the place...resulting in me being locked out one afternoon, with no-one in attendance. I am resourceful, so found a way in! The gardens were in a state of disrepair... it was such a shame as he place place has enormous potential. I have just returned from travelling in Europe where I experienced exemplary service and facilities for a much more affordable rate.
The breakfast was lovely however...and of course, I enjoyed the Snowy Mountain surrounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband surprised me with this for our anniversary and I was very happy as I have always wanted to stay at a B&B. The service was excellent and the room was nice and cosy. The whole place is beautiful and has a good rustic feel. It makes you feel comfortable as soon as you walk in. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was delicious! We would definitely stay here again. We would love to take the kids here as our room was a little loft with beds which were accessible via a ladder.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here at the start of the 2013 season, just after new management took over. They did a great job. Stevie and the team were lovely. They are focusing on the food and it was incredible. The set up is great for kids. You can put them to bed and then stay up and enjoy a great meal and some lovely wine without having to worry about them. Its like going out to dinner and taking the kids bedroom with you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beenym73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the guesthouse last Saturday night, we had a great look around the mountains and arrived in the early afternoon we were greeted, given a tour of the guesthouse and then shown to our room, yes the rooms are small but why would you spend time sitting in your room when the guesthouse has several very pleasant areas to sit and read or just relax. Dinner was lovely and the service was impeccable. After a good nights sleep, even with the friendly possum jumping on the roof, it was up for a nice breakfast and then back to the bustle of the real world . We will be back and bring friends with us.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A_A_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
12.2 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.6 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse

Property: Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse
Address: 914 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named Best Restaurant in a Guesthouse/Motel - Regional NSW, by the 2015 Restaurant & Catering Awards For Excellence, the charming Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse is located in the beautiful Crackenback Valley five minutes from Jindabyne. The position is perfect for skiing and summer sports at either Thredbo or Perisher, being less than ten minutes drive to the Ski Tube, and only ten minutes further to Thredbo Village. Under new management since 2013, the Glenn Murcutt-designed lodge has six rooms offering every comfort, and a private lounge for in-house guest use only. A delicious Crackenback country breakfast is included. The French country-farmhouse restaurant draws accolades for some of the best food in the Snowy Mountains, with a cathedral-ceilinged main dining room and a well-selected wine list. There is a bar for relaxing before and after dinner. In season the restaurant trades for both lunch and dinner. Crackenback Farm looks forward to welcoming you and your family ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing