We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The next best thing to being on the slopes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The next best thing to being on the slopes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at lake crackenback on a ski weekend and had a great time.

This resort deserves 3 and a half stars but as that's not an option and I don't want to be mean it will get a 4!

Overall I think this resort is a good option for anyone budget conscious. You will love your accommodation, here's a quick run down if you're thinking about booking:

LOCATION:
My boyfriend usually stays on the slopes and we'll be doing this later on but you pay the price of less plush accommodation and higher rates. This resort really is the next best thing. The shuttle bus is awesome! The drivers are really chilled and drop you home to your place. You would be an idiot to drive to the tube, the bus goes an express way and gets there in around 3 mins. Super easy.

ACCOMMODATION:
The rooms are really really nice! Underfloor heating, gas fire, king bed, modern bathroom and kitchen. Absolutely flawless! You won't get this on the slopes for under a grand a night, if it even exists. We got a platinum studio chalet and loved the room.

FOOD
Breakfast is bad... Sorry! The hot stuff was all a bit yucky, the Bain Maries were kept open the whole morning. It was pretty gross. I expected better considering how nice the accommodation is. Alpine larder was good, basic pizza/pasta.

WINTER CHECKOUT POLICY.
Don't count on a late checkout! The resort has a policy during winter that they don't do late checkouts! Completely understandable as it's a busy time, but this should be on the website and reservations staff should be aware of it. I've got emails from 2 weeks ago saying to ask reception for late checkout the day before, but then I was told about the no late checkout policy. Needs to be a consistent approach from all your staff on that one because I wouldn't have minded if I was told from the get-go!

If you want to save some pennies but still stay somewhere nice, I would recommend it! But bring your own food and use your lovely kitchen.

Room Tip: The chalets are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Emily B

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback on your recent holiday here at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa - we really appreciate it.

We are so pleased you loved your accommodation and found the resort shuttle to be so handy and convenient. We are disappointed that you did not like the breakfast at Cuisine anmm appreciate your feedback which has been passed onto our head chef and the food and beverage team to look into immediately. The bain maries should not be kept open as they all have lids that are meant to be closed - so unsure what happened in this case - but appreciate the opportunity to rectify it. Regarding the late checkouts we are unable to give these when the Resort is full as we aim to please all of our guests and ensure they are able to check in on time - so need the time to clean and get the room ready for our next guests being such a popular Resort this is often the case. We do leave the option until the last minute as if we are not full we like to look after you and will, where possible, offer a late checkout if no one is checking in the next day.

Thanks again for your comments, and for recommending our Resort,


Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    224
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
286
253
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Can not fault this place. Would definitely come and stay again. The grounds are beautiful. Breakfast was great. Both restaurant's were delicious especially cusine which we both have said is now our favorite restaurant. Shuttle bus makes heading to the snow so fast and easy. Would recommend this place to everyone and anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Emma B

Thanks so much for your recent review on your holiday at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa.

We are so happy to read that you loved your holiday so much - and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

In the meantime please fell free to join us on Facebook and/or Twitter where we post upcoming events and special deals.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lake Crackenback is a great location for a trip to the snow. Close to the ski tube and Thredbo resort.
The Alpine Larder is a very good place to eat/order pizza with friendly staff …especially Ashleigh. The Cuisines serve breakfast and is what you would expect for a buffet style breakfast. There are plenty of things to keep the kids busy … if it is not raining. 21 Stockwhip was just right and the heating work really well.
The things that I did not like were:
the fact that you had to pay for internet and it was expensive and the 3G is slow …. Maybe it was a good thing as it kept the internet at bay! The linen seemed to be stained and “dirty” clean which is a bit off putting….
The cleaning crew move around in an old landie and I noted that the clean towels where laid on the dirty floor/spare tyre in the back.
There was only ever one person on reception and every time we went there, there was a queue which was annoying.
The ski shop folks where lovely but there only appeared to be one expert and the other 2 whilst friendly and helpful did not really seem to know what they were doing. When I returned the ski equipment I was ignored for about 10mins in the return area with staff passing by an not even acknowledging me.
Whilst the resort credits covered most of the food bill, I found the resort a bit over priced for the 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terencepalmerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear terencepalmerau

Thank you for letting us know about your recent family holiday to our Resort, we love hearing from our guests.

We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and loved the accommodation and activities for the kids, and thank you for your great comments on Larder and personally naming our staff as it allows us to pass on the feedback which means a lot to them.

We understand your frustration at the internet - unfortunately due to our remote location combined with the weather in winter it can be unreliable at times.

Your comments re the linen are of great concern as we are very particular in this regard (of course) and have not had these comments previously. This has gone straight to our housekeeping manager and we assure you we do not use stained cleaned linen - and are unsure how this occurred in your case and are apologetic. The linen in the back of the 4WD that you refer to is not clean linen for rooms but linen being taken off site or back to be laundered.

Once again, thank you for your comments - we appreciate all feedback from our guests.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during Winter. We stayed in a gorgeous 2 bedroom chalet and ate at both restaurants while we were there. We drove to the ski tube each day, but there is also a courtesy bus that will take you. The ski hire is on site and the staff are very friendly. The chalets are modern, tasteful, spacious and generously heated with lovely views of the surrounding bushland and mountains. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The day spa was lovely. You have the option of cooking in your own room, having bbq packs delivered to the room, ordering take away from the Alpine Larder or eating at either restaurant. Breakfast was included each morning...that was quite average taste wise but plenty of food and the staff were helpful in providing poached eggs on demand and gluten free bread. There are tons of other activities to keep the kids happy if you have a day off skiing. We found it a wonderful place to stay. We always prefer on snow when skiing,but this is the next best thing.

Room Tip: Everywhere is fine, but if you prefer not to walk very far, you might want to request an apartment o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maccas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Maccas4

We loved hearing from you, thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent 7 night stay with us, it means a lot to us.

Your lovely comments regarding the friendliness of the staff have been passed on, we have a great team here who genuinely care that our guests have a fantastic experience with us and it is so nice to have their efforts recognized, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort, and in the meantime please feel free to join us on facebook and/or twitter where we post the latest events, celebrity chef dinners, photography weekends, fly fishing weekends, trail running and more and also our latest deals when available.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We really enjoyed being two minutes drive from the Perisher ski-tube and watching the sunset across Lake Crackenback. A family-friendly place and nice to come back down the mountain after a day's skiing. Great mix of self contained and dine out options was nice to have within walking distance in the resort.
Highlight was snow on an ice-lake on our final morning - that and the ducks walking on water!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear David Travers

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a post on Trip Advisor to let you know of your recent holiday here at Lake Crackenback. We love hearing from our guests and it gives us great pleasure to know that your holiday with your family was so enjoyable.

It is such a picturesque location - and the ducks walking on the lake has always been a sight to savour!

We look forward to seeing you and your family here again in the future David,

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for three nights in a free standing chalet over the school holidays, after attempting to stay in the lake side apartments, with limited success. Book early if staying during peak / school holiday periods. The chalet was charming and very spacious. The heating was extremely efficient, and the bath a welcome sight after a days skiing. The kitchen is extremely well appointed with good quality cutlery and cooking utensils. Perhaps a coffee machine of some description could be included in the future. Having the shuttle bus stop right outside our chalet was fantastic with a three minute ride to the ski tube. Very hassle free way to get on and off the slopes. Having a garage to park the car was great, as everything was within walking distance at the resort. The resort facilities were extensive although our time was devoted to skiing. The resort was full and the breakfast room filled quickly. If wanting a view of the lake at breakfast, which is quite stunning, arrive early or late, as we were placed in the overflow dining room for two days, with no view. The staff were pleasant and helpful, although we were a little disappointed in the restaurant. Will definitely return next ski season.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montgomery_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Montgomery_12

We loved reading your review on your recent holiday at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased you loved your chalet and found the convenience of our location to ski tube so handy...it is a huge selling point for us to be equidistant to both Ski Fields.

We are so glad you loved all of the activities and facilities available at the Resort - we are finding more and more that guests are returning in Summer to take advantage of all of the other activities outside of the ski season. Your comments on the friendliness of the staff have been passed on - thank you. Please let us know how we can improve the restaurant itself as we strive to ensure every element of our guests holiday exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in future, please join us on facebook and/or twitter in the meantime to be updated with the latest happenings.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
9.9 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
9.0 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.0 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Address: 1650 Alpine Way | Snowy Mountains, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia (Formerly Novotel Lake Crackenback Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the border of the Kosciuszko National Park, Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa is a natural playground nestled in the Thredbo Valley surrounded by the spectacular Snowy Mountains. Just 15 minutes from Thredbo and Perisher Resorts. Its unique setting and many complimentary activities appeal to both couples and families to relax and absorb the scenery or experience the many mountain activities on resort and in the local area. Lake Crackenback is a perfect base to explore the region from sightseeing, local attractions, snowsports in winter and the many summer activities including walking trails, mountain bikes, Segway Eco Tours, canoeing or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lake Crackenback Hotel Crackenback
Novotel Thredbo Village
Jindabyne Novotel
Accor Lake Crackenback Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing