We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Station House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A great little B & B right in the middle of the Peak District. Very handy to Chatsworth House & Haddon Hall. The room was very comfortable & was serviced daily. The room was well provisioned & contained a very comprehensive information pack. Breakfasts were lovely.......I especially enjoyed the home made bread!! Victoria & Maureen were very welcoming & were exceptional hosts. i would recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluetrev71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Thank you Victoria and Mum for making our visit so enjoyable. Your knowledge of places to visit, the history of the area etc. was invaluable. Our room at the back of the house was quiet and the our giant sized bed was extremely comfortable. The room facilities were excellent and well thought out (nice little extra touches). Loved the variety of paintings around the house. Delicious breakfasts, nicely cooked and presented. Afraid meal at Grouse & Claret pub was not good (we were not the only guests to encounter this - perhaps it was a "bad" night). Would highly recommend the Ashton Arms (Ashton-in-the Water) but you need to book and also the Derwentwater Arms in Calver (bit difficult to find but ask a local once you are actually in the village) - again, you may need to book. All in all very enjoyable stay. Hardwick Hall, Chatsworth fascinating places to visit - leave lots of time as you will need it. Doreen & Brian

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5DoreenR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here with my wife for a weekend recently. The owners were most welcoming on our arrival. We found our room to be immaculately clean with a peaceful view from our window of sheep in the field opposite our room and the attractive hills rising behind it.

The room had all the facilities you could require, TV, DVD, Wi-Fi, welcome tray including biscuits etc. The room had an en suite that included a very good shower ( something of a rarity in many B&B's )

The breakfast was excellent and included toast made from home made bread using flour supplied by the water mill in the village. An alternative to the delicious full english on offer was smoked salmon and scrambled egg. This is something I have not come across before.

Set below the Station house is what used to be the old station yard. This has been built upon to make the Peak Outlet Shopping Village. One of the old station buildings remains in the centre of the complex and is now home to the Peak Barn food shop selling delicious cakes and pies etc.The Peak Shopping Outlet is a must for anyone who likes a bargain.

The location of the B&B was perfect being half way between Matlock and the market town of Bakewell. Just down the road is the Peak Railway that has regular steam trains that go back and forth to Matlock. The village is a delight with good places to eat and the water mill and craft centre that is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stagespotlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Vicky and Maureen were both very friendly and their house immaculate. It was great to have a lounge in which to sit and relax. Rowsley is central to both Haddon Hall and Chatsworth house, both of which are well worth visiting. There is a pub about 5 minutes walk away, serving excellent meals and an outlet shopping area next door. One small problem is the size of the beds if you are over 6 feet tall.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank sagharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I didn't find this the cheapest place to stay but loved the location - Lots of local great pubs of different prices. Chatsworth was just up the road and there is the Peak Village shopping outlet walking distance from this B&B. You will find a good quality breakfast and a high standard of cleanliness.

Room Tip: I have stayed here a few times - three times with previous owners and once with current owner. I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMTLTBMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. Our twin room was compact but comfortable, with a small en-suite shower room. Breakfast was varied and of good quality. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

A lovely guest house in an ideal location. Just a 15minute drive to Chatsworth House and Grounds, and not far to Bakewell and Matlock. lovely cooked breakfast or you could have smoked salmon and strangled eggs, Yum!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
0.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
500 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Station House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Chatsworth Road | Rowsley, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range: £59 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful B&B in a charming village location with three ensuite guest rooms within 3 miles of Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Bakewell in the Peak District National Park. Two restaurants and the village pub are within a five minute walk. Off street parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Station House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Station House Bed And Breakfast Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing