We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grouse and Claret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grouse and Claret
Ranked #3 of 5 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here 29/06/14 first time 1 night stay 5 of us 3 rooms the rooms were very comfortable tea coffee biscuits water etc. The shower was great no problems food in the evening was good as was breakfast the next morning. I must say how hard the staff work even when under pressure they have a smile on their faces looked after us that's why we will stay again. Well Done

Mick & Family Leicester.

Room Tip: We had rooms 3/5/8 they were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    121
    83
    62
    27
See reviews for
93
189
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Marston inn is set in the lovely village of Rowsley in Derbyshire and Chatsworth House about 5 minutes away and a quaint flour mill and craft unit within walking distance ideal for ramblers. I can appreciate other reviewers complaining about the hot water but frankly we were a party of 12 occupying most of the rooms and we all chose to bath or shower at the same time and we didn't have any problems. Offering the usual pub menu we were satisfied with what we chose and the staff were very helpful, at breakfast we were served promptly and nothing was to much trouble. Complimentary drinks included tea, coffee, cocoa and ovaltine and a good selection of biscuits and bottled water available in the room. The rooms were comfortable and clean with spacious bathroom and flat screen tv and hairdryer. We paid £70 for a family or double room and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrysandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As a former regular customer of the Grouse and Claret, I thought I would take me children for tea. Although lovely environment and area, I would absolutely not bother with food again. I felt the food was overpriced for what it was (all frozen, pre cooked food)and there wasn't much of it. I think it needs to decide if it's a chain pub or a more upmarket pub. The senior staff were snappy and quite unprofessional towards other staff. saying that, the service from the staff was not great by any stretch. Although I might go for a drink in the future, I won't eat there again, a lot of pubs do the same thing for a less money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammiann83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am always very reluctant to write bad reviews and as with a previous reviewer of this hotel, I should say that this only relates to the room 01 (hopefully!).

A previous reviewer experienced a similar issue a year earlier so clearly there is a problem.... this room at £110 per night is simply not worth the money - indeed at half that it would be poor value.

The room is located very close to the kitchen area and is subjected to a combination of very noisy extraction units, the smell of chips cooking and heat that makes sleep near impossible. During my stay I found myself moving the net curtains away from the windows in the hope that a faint breeze might cool the place down ... but the temperature just stayed high through the night.

At £110 per night I didn't really expect to see a sign advising me that the hot water would quite possibly run out at times of peak usage and that if I hung around for 30-40 minutes, there was a chance the tank would be up to temperature again.

The shower comprised a bath mixer with a pull up knob that diverted water to the shower head...except it still kept running water from the tap into bath even when in the shower position. This wasted hot water and presumably added to the already precarious supply problem identified by the sign.

Why did I (and others) pay £110 a night? well it's very difficult to get accommodation in the area for one night only and I presume that supply and demand scenario allows this establishment to take advantage of that fact. In retrospect I may have been better off paying for a guest house for two nights and only staying one.

The staff .... excellent and I have no complaints whatsoever about people who were attentive and courteous.

This is a nice property in a nice area that is let down by a poor room - surely it makes sense to fix the issues

Room Tip: Avoid room 01
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fidgetyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thankyou for raising the point about the water and room 1 we strive to provide our guests with the best facilites possible and i have contacted our head office to see if we can fix the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a great place to stay. As a car club we booked all 8 rooms for 3 nights for our car club event. Good location for visiting the area, rooms were great (although our shower dribbled) and the food was exceptional value for money. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming and gave us outstanding service. They also have their own campsite which we may well visit in the future. Thank you for making it a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi all It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will again soon. Kind regards Matt Deans - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff who allowed us parking near the back door. Stored our freezer packs for us. Wait service was very good and team very friendly. Family room was rather small with a bathroom that you could fit a bed in, however! Good value with breakfast included. Shower power excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to inviting you in on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Well we went here last week and yet again I wasn't overly impressed. It took ages to get our first drink and then there was a problem with the time waiting for the food after order. It took at least 30 minutes for the food to arrive, maybe longer.
The food was alright, staff okay but the wait was enough to make my mind not to go again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lambers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Sorry to hear you visit was not great we will work on the comments made to help us improve for the future. regards
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
234 reviews
5.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
185 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Property: Grouse and Claret
Address: Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grouse and Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing