We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rowsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peacock at Rowsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely period hotel. A lovely warm welcome was given, luggage whisked away and refreshments offered. The room was spacious, tea and coffee is provided but you need to ring down for milk, which is brought up straight away. There are the usual slippers, gowns, etc expected of a hotel of this nature, and the toiletries provided are Aveda.
The bar is full of character, low ceilings, roaring fire, great service, although there was no bottled lager to increase the choices available.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was good quality, indespersed with delightful amuse-bouche. Although we were a loud party of six, there was no frowning by the staff at our slightly too loud banter, and no trying to rush us out of the restaurant when it was getting really late.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and with blackout curtains it would have been easy to lie in longer.
Breakfast was also really good, and they were happy to make changes to the menu provided. Again, we stayed longer than we should have, but were not rushed out. We then stayed on for coffees in the public areas, none of which were charged for.
If you are going to visit Chatsworth, get your tickets from reception as they are 20% discounted. It also has extensive fly fishing facilities, and tons of walks in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    110
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
62
315
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We cannot recommend this hotel enough! We have just returned from a 2 night stay and could not have been more impressed! The location, the staff, the rooms and of course, the food!! Everything has been thought of and is run beautifully!
We were even allowed to bring our Labrador with us - thank you so much for putting up with him..... spoilt at the best of times!
We ate Dinner in the dining room both evenings and the food is a major attraction. (I have just finished my letter to The Good Food Guide - why ever is it not already listed??!!) Beautifully balanced and the flavours of each course wonderful! We were looked after by Jenni - the most gracious of hosts - and Laura who was also most charming. In fact every single member of staff went out of their way to ensure we were looked after. The walk that was recommended to us was from the hotel to Bakewell - it nearly finished me off but the Lab thought it was the best!! Great gardens in the Hotel too - most useful!!
We can't wait for an excuse to experience their hospitality again - the sooner the better. I urge you to go and try it for yourself - you won't be disappointed! Oh, and they even organised tickets to Chatsworth for us at a 20% reduction!! Go, go go!!
Thanks to all and see you soon.......xxx

Room Tip: Room 1 suited us to perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorkshireJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Taunton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

first off this is in a beautiful part of the country and could be a real treat... but somehow i was glad to leave. We paid for a superior double (one up from the basic double) which wasn't cheap - at £200 though it did include dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent, an interestingly eclectic wine list and a chattily knowledgeable barman. Service was flawlessly efficient - if slightly prissy in terms of the white gloves that staff wore . The waitresses were friendly and attentive without being pushy. Homemade petits four with coffee were delicious.

However - the slightly hushed dining room was spoiled by the inevitable rather full of himself gent with a loud voice, we weren't the only people to be irritated by him. Not sure what the solution would be to this - a little discreet music perhaps, tables spaced out a bit more ?

The bedroom overlooking the garden was cold on arrival (it was november) and i was baffled by the floor length curtains which trapped the heat from the meagre radiator behind swathes of material so that the warmth just heated the window panes.

The bed was extraordinarily soft ( and wasn't a double but two joined together in the manner of cheap continental hotels) and the pillows incredibly thick and lumpy so that major neck ache was inevitable. A choice of pillow thicknesses would have been welcome not 4 great big synthetic wodges.

The latest they would serve breakfast ( in the room was 10.30) and we had to be out by 11.00.

The strange thing is that we had stayed at an inn at Flash ( The Knight's Table) the previous evening for less than half the price and the bed and linen there were fantastic, the room roasting and the bathroom beautifully done up (not rather tired stained marble effect as at The Peacock) - nor were we hurried out on the Sunday morning. The food however at Flash was tired, unimaginative stodge, overcooked and school dinner style. If only the two places could take a leaf out of each other's books - or even just stay over and see what the other halves are doing well.

Room Tip: at the back overlooking the garden was pretty quiet - but do specify what you prefer in terms of mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaythatinAleppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Don't pick room 6
It's next to the cleaners room, and above the bar, which guarantees constant noise! We were also surprised that in a £230 a night room, that the Tv had a terrible picture that couldn't be tuned in!

Mr and mrs smith
We booked through mr and mrs smith, which didn't go well at all. We thought we had booked a room, dinner, bed and breakfast package for £300 for the night, but when we checked out we had to pay extra for the Mr and Mrs Smith commission, and were told that the breakfast included was only continental. As we had a cooked breakfast it cost us another £30! Even though the menus at breakfast also said that breakfast was included in the room rate!

After dinner we were asked if we wanted coffee in the lounge, which seemed a nice gesture.......we we're also charged extra for this the next morning!!!!

Room Tip: Don't pick room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keckwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Fantastic Hotel, brilliant staff and absolutely awesome 'fine dining' food. This was a birthday treat from my wife and it was truly a superb choice. Very much a 'Country Hotel' in one of the most splendid areas of England. The staff at this hotel are as good, if not better, than any that you will find anywhere in England. It is ideal for people who love exploring the very best of rural Britain and then returning to a warm relaxing, friendly, quality hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Thank you so much for a truly special family weekend. Really good attention to dietary requirements from a very comprehensive menu, friendly staff and discreet service. Would definitely recommend to coeliacs who might be cautious about the food, no need to worry, all safe even down to the petit fours!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethzentner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

An ideal hotel for a special occasion. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was calm and relaxing. We knew we were in for a treat as soon as we arrived at reception. The management has given great attention to detail,offering fine food and having well trained friendly staff. It was the little things that upgraded this hotel from a 'very good' rating to 'excellent' eg the bed linen being turned back and slippers put by the bedside while we enjoyed a memorable evening meal.
The breakfast offer was wide ranging and of outstanding quality, even in these days when many hotel breakfasts are so good. For a hotel of this standard, we felt the price represented good value for our money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knolly5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
674 reviews
13.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock at Rowsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock at Rowsley

Property: The Peacock at Rowsley
Address: Bakewell Road | Peak District, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock at Rowsley 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1652 and a hotel since 1820, The Peacock has 14 bedrooms plus one suite and three dining rooms. The hotel has been awarded 3 Red Stars and 3 rosettes from the AA. Informal dining available in our cosy and atmospheric bar Monday through Saturday lunch and fine dining in our restaurant Monday through Saturday evenings. Private dining available with no extra charge. Excellent dry fly fishing on Derbyshire Wye. Located on A6 in Derbyshire Dales. Excellent walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Peacock At Rowsley Hotel Rowsley
The Peacock At Rowsley Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing