We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Peacock at Rowsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Have visited this lovely hotel on many occasions over the years, the staff take great care of you but not too intrusive. We had a very good lunch, not an enormous choice or portions. Enjoyed coffee in the garden on a beautiful day however as it was my birthday I would have liked to have been made to feel more special.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden,away from the road are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mama29772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have just enjoyed a three night stay at The Peacock in the beautiful Peak District.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and greeted with smiles from all members of staff.
Our room overlooking the garden was very comfortable, with everything one could need.
We were given excellent advice regarding local attractions, such as Haddon Hall and Chatsworth House which were minutes away from the hotel.
We enjoyed fantastic bar meals, can highly recommend the Rib-Eye steak, seated in a snug bar area, being served by extremely nice people.
Nice touches, such as locally hand made chocolates on our pillow at night, made out stay such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donh1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We visited the Peacock for lunch with friends visiting from the USA, for them it was like ourselves love at first glance, they were swept away by the whole experience , we used the lovely bar for our luncheon, the staff were just so friendly and very professional without being intrusive, our pre-lunch coctails were mixed by Peter, who was so helpful and knowledgeable and served up the best best ever cocktails and believe me we have had cocktails all over the world, thanks Peter. Our selection of food was outstanding throughout .
The whole experience will stay with us for a long time, thank you all at the Peacock so much.
Wilf Hodgson

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank wilfStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Going to The Peacock always brings back happy memories, but I usually go there and back in a day, so it was a treat to stay. The welcome was very nice, with coffee brought to the Hall/Sitting area. This has been spoilt somewhat, not just with the modern furniture and it's grouping, but most of the guests were getting on a bit, so not getting up from their seats very easily! It is surprising how many people pass through. Great for people watching and reading the newspapers provided though. Some of the other modern designer touches around the place just seemed bizarre.
I've never liked the bar area which is very dark, but it is surprisingly popular.

The bedroom was very sweet with a little shower room cunningly incorporated and sensibly designed, with mirrors which made it feel larger. The lovely fireplaces have at least been left in the rooms, which gives them much charm. The bedrooms were rather hot, and having a window open let in the sound of traffic, which didn't aid sleep. A pity as I was otherwise so comfortable.

The food is really good, with a limited menu which unfortunately didn't change very much. Fine if only staying for one night, but tricky to choose from when staying longer and taking both lunch and dinner at the Hotel each day.

I love to have an English breakfast included in a room rate when away, so felt cheated when the continental breakfast buffet was included, and a cooked breakfast was extra. It quite spoilt, despite my criticisms, an otherwise perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked for my wife's 40th, a small luxury hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful, service was great but not pretentious. The room was large, comfortable and had a huge bed. We had the dinner B&B package, the food in the restaurant was superb, I've eaten in Michelin star restaurants and this was on a par. Had a buffet breakfast, my only criticism all be it minor would be that for the price a full cooked breakfast should be included in the price. Would we stay again, YES!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob8647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Perfectly located for the bakewell area of the Peak District. Room was lovely. Food was great, especially enjoyed the rhubarb dessert. Had my 7 year old with us and he was well taken care of! Really helpful on local ideas of things to see and do. All the staff were very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Recently returned from a one night stay at The Peacock and I have to say it was excellent. Got an excellent DB&B deal for Monday night. The food was superb and beautifully cooked. Our room was very good, a decent size too. The staff were friendly but without being 'too friendly'.

If I had to pick a fault (s), then I would say for a hotel of this quality and price then a full cooked breakfast SHOULD be included in the price and not as a extra expense.

I would also ask why milk can't be provided in the rooms? Surely they could provide those small cartons you always see and then anyone that wants fresh can request that. Instead you have to ask for fresh milk from reception.

Would I return again though ? You bet !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
0.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
13.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock at Rowsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock at Rowsley

Address: Bakewell Road | Peak District, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range: £202 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock at Rowsley 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1652 and a hotel since 1820, The Peacock has 14 bedrooms plus one suite and three dining rooms. The hotel has been awarded 3 Red Stars and 3 rosettes from the AA. Informal dining available in our cosy and atmospheric bar Monday through Saturday lunch and fine dining in our restaurant Monday through Saturday evenings. Private dining available with no extra charge. Excellent dry fly fishing on Derbyshire Wye. Located on A6 in Derbyshire Dales. Excellent walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Peacock at Rowsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock At Rowsley Hotel Rowsley
The Peacock At Rowsley Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing