We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious, restful base for touring the Peak District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Luxurious, restful base for touring the Peak District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

After a hectic, wonderful day touring Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall, I drove up the tree-lined drive to the lovely East Lodge in the small town of Rowsley. It is a charming country house converted into an upscale small hotel with ten acres of landscaping and lawn surrounded by sheep farms. Very peaceful and quiet. Paved parking to one side of the lodge.

Check in was pleasant and easy, the young staff very professional and gracious. I stayed in Room 304, a superior double, a lovely room on the second floor, overlooking the entry and across the parking area to the rolling pastures beyond. A comfortable four-poster bed with beautiful linens, a chandelier, expensive draperies and fabrics gave a comfortable elegance to the room. The carpet looked new. There is a small but adequate en suite with tub (see photos). No a/c in this room (some other rooms do have it), but I opened a window just a bit and was quite comfortable.

Before dinner I walked the property with its beautifully landscaped grounds, pool, two fountains, and gardens. There is an additional little "secret' garden area across the lawn at the back of the property where I sat for a few peaceful moments and watched a farmer herding his sheep into their pen on a distant hillside. Only in wonderful England, I thought!

My dinner of scallops and filet in the lodge's restaurant was excellent, the wine good, and the décor classic and tasteful. There were probably four other couples dining also. Breakfast was in the same room: buffet for fruit, delicious eggs benedict ordered from the menu.

The lodge is impeccably clean, quiet, with an upscale clientele. I was traveling alone, and felt very pampered and safe. My bill was 215 GBP for one night, dinner, breakfast, and wine.

The next morning, I got out my handy GPS and drove to Kenilworth and Warwick Castles with no problems as I traveled south making my way to London eventually. I stayed at several lovely hotels on this two week trip, but East Lodge was one of my two favorites (the other was Doxford Hall in Northumberland). I hope to return to Derbyshire and East Lodge one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    76
    23
    13
    17
See reviews for
87
214
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We made a very last minute half-term decision to visit the peak district with 3yr old and 18mth old in tow. The hotel is located minutes from Chatsworth House and a great launchpad to the many wonderful activities in the peak district.

The hotel suggested the dinner, bed, breakfast which we highly recommend. Furthermore, they arranged a private dining room so that the kids could run around in peace (and also avoid bothering the other guests). We enjoyed our first night so much that we extended our stay.

The staff were beyond helpful; offered great suggestions for places to visit, helped entertain the kids, incredibly flexible with our needs and generally excellent ambassadors for Peak District hospitality.

We would definitely return

Room Tip: Executive rooms have a second double bed in the form of a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkeyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I got married at a East Lodge on Sunday 6th October 2013. The venue, setting, surroundings, staff, food,need I go on, we're truly wonderful. I could not have asked for more from anyone. My wedding day was perfect and the biggest contributing factor in making it perfect was East Lodge. I would highly recommend as a wedding venue, if a civil ceremony is what you are looking for. Excellent value for money, I had the silver package, with nothing skimped on, even the breakfast was amazing, right down to how the tables were laid in the morning. I simply cannot find a single fault with a East Lodge and nor do I want to.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

After a few delicious afternoon teas at this beautiful hotel, I'm always very happy with the service from the staff they are always very warm and welcoming and can't do enough for you. Wherever sat in the comfy conservatory or outside in the beautiful gardens both are the perfect setting to enjoy the fabulous food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragdolls35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Could find no faults with this place, the food was excellent, service with a smile, clean accommodation and our wedding party thoroughly enjoyed it all. Wonderful gardens for the wedding photos and the whole place to ourselves meant that everything was controllable, even the weather behaved.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank the.kes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Other than being woken at 4 30 am by someone stocking up the bar (next door to our room) it was a really lovely stay and somewhere we would recommend. Our room was lovely other than the rude awakening, the hotel and it's grounds were second to none and the chef is to be commended, the food was delicious, the breakfast menu was extensive and all guests we spoke to had nothing but praise. We did have a problem with the tv sorted immediately by the staff and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly, professional and just excellent. A big thank you to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 15 a lovely ground floor room disabled friendly, comfy beds, large sitting area, tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay at East Lodge. Whist I've had Sunday lunch there before, it's the first time I've stayed and it won't be the last! Room 14 was very comfortable with great views across the rolling fields. Bathroom was enormous!! Dinner on Saturday night was great, plenty of choice, very tasty and with great service. Indeed, the service from the staff was top notch from the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out.

Breakfast on Sunday morning again was superb.

Great location, nice gardens, great staff and we will be back.

Thank You!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: East Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing