We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A lovely hotel overlooking the beautiful peak district. We had a birthday Cream Tea here for my friend. Gorgeous house and grounds and very peaceful, when our children were not there!!! lol.
The tea, sandwiches, cake and scones were perfect in every way. The staff were friendly and looked after us well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited East Lodge as a family of 5 . We tend to prefer to go out for Sunday lunch and were not dissapointed. The greeting on arrival was lovely and attention to detail spot on as always. The menu provides a good range of dishes along with the roast options you would expect. There is a separate menu for children, my daughter had the cod which she said was the best ever. All beautifully cooked.The hotel has a large conservatory area for pre dinner drinks and coffee after if you prefer which is very pleasant. Thank you East Lodge we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank home_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a 1 night DBB stay for myself & husband to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary on May 20th. We had a gorgeous 4 poster room overlooking the very pretty gardens.
The A La Carte meal was very tasty, I had the liver pate starter followed with lamb cooked two ways and my husband had the crab starter followed by lemon sole. We had a cheese board to end our meal and decided to take coffee in the conservatory. The food was fabulous in a lovely dining room setting and when our coffees arrived, we were given a plate of petit fours and the plate had written on it in chocolate "Happy Anniversary" which was a lovely thought and added to our special stay. It was nice to know the receptionist at time of booking had made a note of this.
The breakfast was very tasty, eggs benedict for me and full english for hubby.
All in all a wonderful but too brief a stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My fiancée and myself got married here on April 20th , Easter Sunday and the whole experience was FANTASTIC !!!!
From first arriving to checking out and all the time in between it was amazing, the staff were attentive but not intrusive and the food was exquisite to say the least, the wine just kept flowing and the rooms without exception were quite honestly delightful !
Thankyou Sam for making our day truly memorable for my wife and myself and all our guests !!!!

Room Tip: Just enjoy whatever room you are fortunate to choose !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent the May bank holiday at this hotel, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and our dinner that night was excellent. We too had the large front bedroom overlooking the garden. The bed was huge, but the mattress was a bit knackered!. Linen was crisp and clean, and no smelly pillows as mentioned in other reviews. The showerhead in the shower cubicle was a bit knackered too, and couldn't be rotated or angled in any way, but it did work, and I didn't find it inconveniencing at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Set in beautiful Derbyshire grounds a short drive from Chatsworth and the High Peaks, East Lodge should have it all. Clearly designed as a venue for weddings which, from all the thank you cards on display, they do successfully. The food was first class well presented and served well.
My issues centre around the housekeeping side. We had a lovely room overlooking the front but when attempting to have a shower we found the head loose so water went everywhere. This had to be rectified by a plumber so we had to trek across the landing in bathrobes to use a small cubicle in a vacant room. Surely housekeeping would have noticed this when the shower was cleaned after the previous guests. The next day the bed was so badly made up that we had to re do it ourselves and to top it all my wife's pillow smelt stale. The place was not busy so in my experience both as a traveller and a manager of people there clearly is an issue here.
In a city centre 'travellers dive' some of this may have been expected. In an award winning hotel at fairly high prices is isn't. Did we make a fuss? No it was an anniversary and we had no desire to focus on the negatives. We just enjoyed the food and wine which is what stopped this review from being harsh.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DerrickJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My niece booked this venue for her wedding ... The family booked the entire lodge for the celebration.
From arriving for "afternoon tea" on Friday to leaving after " breakfast .... ( no rush) " on Sunday morning, nothing was too much trouble.
The staff were brill , the kiddies were well behaved with room to run energy off ....
Top venue ... Lovely food too.
Rooms are delightful ... We were in 'Maud's room' but she didn't visit us ....?

Room Tip: All the rooms are ace ... Even a TV in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.3 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
13.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range: £117 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing