We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed for 2 nights for my Husbands 50th birthday and it was great! Dominic was so helpful, he ran out to us with an umbrella when we arrived back in the rain! All of the staff made us really welcome.. The food was the best either of us have ever had, every mouthful was fantastic!! If we lived nearer we would definately be regular customers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenxMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    78
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
90
216
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I booked to stay on a Saturday night at East Lodge for my partner's 30th birthday. I did book the day before my partner's birthday at short notice and the hotel offered a discounted superior room for £160.00 including breakfast. During the booking I was asked on the phone if there was anything the hotel could assist with and I requested a large bouquet of flowers to be in placed in the room.

On arrival we were greeted outside the hotel and assisted by a member of staff who kindly took our bags and instantly made us both feel very welcome. All staff were very pleasant, efficient and well mannered.

We were shown to our room and again provided full assistance with our bags. The immaculately clean bedroom was well equipped with a large flat screen TV including Sky, a desk, a two seat sofa and coffee table, a dressing table with chair and a large double bed with a comfortable firm mattress. The fully tiled ensuite bathroom provided a seperate shower cubicle and a bath - and to my partners delight a waterproof tv screen. Also adding to my partners surprise was to be greeted in the room by the ordered bouquet of flowers thoughtfully placed in a large vase.

As we had booked a table for dinner the hotel kindly provided a copy of the menu in our room. A three course meal costs £37 per person including a prestarter (although this is not mentioned in the menu). The menu choice was excellent with a range of dishes such as beef slow cooked for 24 hours, duck, chicken, fish and vegetarian options on offer. Please note the cuisine is a fine dining experience based on quality not quantity. Be advised if you are expecting plates full of food then you will be disappointed - perhaps those who have a larger appetite or belly should look elsewhere!

Before sitting down for our meal, we were cordially greeted by the manager who asked if we wished to order any drink in the bar. A bottle of Peroni lager and a small diet coke was brought to us in addition to a small selection of crisps, olives and peanuts. The drinks came in at just over £8.00 - okay for a special occasion however this cost is bordering City of London drink prices ...

Having selected our courses we were shown to the restaurant. A bottle of wine was ordered and our meals were brought to us when we were ready. Go for the beef or the duck and try the chocolate gateux with apricot ... sublime!

For those of you who enojy breakfast there is a great selection to choose from: the standard fare of full english breakfast to scottish haggis with toast topped with a ducks egg, a meal I have never come across before!

If you are contemplating a hotel for a celebration then East Lodge is perfect. Would I go back again? Definitely. Would I recommend to friends and family? Absolutely!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maps_Base
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

6 of us have been going to East Lodge for the last few years for a pre-Christmas lunch. OK until this year...

On the day in question it was snowing heavily and after eating lunch we needed to wait in the bar/lounge for our taxi which was stuck in snow. We had a couple of rounds of coffee and liqueurs then the waiter came up to us and said that because of a wedding in the hotel they wouldn’t be able to serve us any more...

Not sure what they expected us to do at that point... Go and stand outside in the snow? Yes, there was a wedding but we weren’t interfering with it in any way, we were sat quietly in the bar area wanting to pass the time away with coffee and brandy until the taxi finally made it...

We were disgusted that they weren’t interested in us anymore but even so we politely asked for the bill, which never arrived. When our taxi finally made it through the snow we looked for staff to pay but nobody was around. So knowing that they had our phone number, we deliberately left without paying. It was never our intention to avoid paying the bill, we just thought the arrogant management of East Lodge needed to be taught a lesson in customer care and what we did was the only way we could think of to register our protest

The result was a phone call and an exchange of emails where East Lodge insisted we had been told about the wedding (6 of us will dispute that) and we eventually paid the bill without even the slightest indication of an apology from East Lodge. Throughout the email exchange we repeatedly told them why we had done what we did and that we always intended to pay the bill

Whether we should have left without paying the bill is of course debatable but I ask – what would other customers have done when they effectively asked to leave by staff?

Having been there for the last few Christmases, plus any number of Sunday lunches in between, our advice to you all is to eat somewhere else. Hassop Hall is pretty good and polite to their customers, as is Riber Hall and The Peacock, all within a few miles of East Lodge. Failing that try Wetherspoons in Matlock or one of the chip shops in Matlock Bath, at least all of them know how to treat customers

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheSpireites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
172 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights in Jan 2010 for a bit of luxury and some walking.

Personally I was disappointed. The entrance is through a plastic door into a conservatory and a cramped reception area. We ordered a champagne tea, but there was confusion over our order by the apparently inexperienced staff. The tea was had in a tight spot near the reception desk, which was a bit of a thoroughfare. The champagne was insufficiently chilled and rather flat.

The room was large, with a nice sofa, and the bed was very comfortable.

The food in this place is really exceptionally good, I had beef slow cooked for 25 hours - it was wonderful. So was the crab starter. There was a problem with the wine, I had to send 2 bottles back, but the wine waiter agreed that there was a problem with it and there was no awkwardness in having to do this. The aircon in the restaurant was rather noisey and the temperature not well controlled. I would not mention such things normally, but this place charges a huge amount for its rooms (around 300 quid/night, although being January ours was around 180/night) so one might expect something close to perfection.

This hotel focusses strongly on weddings. It has a lovely facade, although you will not see it unless you go into the smallish garden.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2010

It is a pleasure to spend time at East Lodge, either dining or staying in the lovely hotel.

The family feel is apparent at all times and every member of staff makes sure your experience is special. From small details like the locally sourced produce used in the restaurant menu to the beautiful grounds it all helps to make this one of Derbyshire's hidden treasures. We had dined at Fishers in the weeks prior to our second visit to East Lodge and although Fishers is widely regarded as the best restaurant in the area with a Mitchelin star, our party felt that the atmosphere, service and more importantly the food was far better at East Lodge.

10 out of 10 in our opinion and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrighty005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel on Sunday 27th December what a lovely hotel bedroom decor was the best i have ever stayed in the surroundings beautiful and the food was very nice very well prepared to us.

However the manager that served us a heavy made man was walking around with his hands in his pockets playing with himself his cleanliness looked none too clean for a hotel at this level.

However after our meal we went to bed and returned 3 hours later for a smoke where there was plates and everything in the conservatory despite there being nowone dining, there the same man was laughing and having a good time behind the bar with a young girl obviously presentation is not the uppermost thing on this managers mind if anybody walked into the hotel.

Despite this we would return as the hotel and food is treat

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitsonSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We booked here several weeks in advance purposely picking a date to avoid the seasonal rush. I asked at that time what the menu contained and was told it had not been decided yet what the December menu would be. Fair enough. In December I looked at the website and found a great choice of two menus ( favourites and dinner ) which could be mixed and matched. However, when we arrived in the restaurant a single sheet of paper showing a choice of about 7 starters and 7 main courses plus desserts were the only choices. I querried this with a member of staff who said it was the only menu available. Well, too late to change venues now! We ordered beef ( no matured pepper steak as on the website ) and lamb from this selection. The lamb was quite good but a very small portion. The beef was high quality and a good size portion . However, both meals were served lukewarm. The fresh vegetables were small amounts of potatoes and broccolli plus others forming part of the meat offering.
We were begining to wonder if the chef had been given the night off as the hotel was almost empty. Dessert was pretty good and the whole meal plus a bottle rather expensive wine and a GT and beer came to about £140. We don`t object to paying this sort of price if the meal warrants it but serving up meals lukewarm and not offering menus shown on current website is not what we expect. A shame as the hotel room ( executive ) was excellent with some very nice features. Consequently we would probably go elsewhere in the future as there are several alternatives in the area although the rooms at East Lodge are IMHO the best, the restaurant on this showing is in last place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: East Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing